We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Upper Reach Winery

Upper Reach Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.75*
and up
Upper Reach Winery: Swan Valley Winery and...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Upper Reach is a family owned and operated boutique winery, on the banks of Perth's Swan River. We'd love you to come for a wine tasting at our crisp, clean Cellar Door with huge views of the vineyard. You could be anywhere, but you're only 30 minutes drive from Perth! The only accommodation on a vineyard in the Swan Valley is the Upper Reach Spa Cottage, this historic two bedroom cottage has been fully restored for you to enjoy 'owing a vineyard' for the night- there is just one cottage so your privacy is assured! Our aim at Upper Reach is to produce wine of the highest quality from estate grown fruit, each wine reflecting both the vineyard and the particular vintage.Upper Reach is one of the top Swan Valley wine producers, with an extensive list of wine show awards. We believe that wine is one of life's essentials along with good food, family and friends. Come in for wine tasting in a relaxed, inviting setting every day of the week, 11am until 5pm.
Reviewed 21 July 2018

Had a lovely luch here for our anniversary, food and wine all good , with a nice log fire . Would love to see this place in the summer , staff where really nice , and the wine tasting , loved it .

Thank MelG991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura P, Owner at Upper Reach Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

That sounds like a lovely day! I will pass your compliments on to the restaurant owners and chef. You are right, summer is stunning with the restaurant deck overlooking the vineyard...best place to be on a nice sunny day. (with a glass of wine , good food and a few friends!)

We look forward to your return visit to the winery with a few friends in summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"spa cottage"
in 11 reviews
"cellar door"
in 16 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 19 reviews
"great wine"
in 11 reviews
"swan valley"
in 32 reviews
"mediterranean platter"
in 8 reviews
"the reserve"
in 5 reviews
"long lunch"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful location"
in 4 reviews
"catch up with friends"
in 2 reviews
"mid week"
in 3 reviews
"reserve shiraz"
in 3 reviews
"the kitchen"
in 3 reviews
"wine club"
in 2 reviews
"excellent range"
in 2 reviews
"the young lady"
in 2 reviews
"tasting session"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2018

Went for lunch on a Monday to catch up with friends. It is an excellent place to eat and also taste some wines. Food excellent, service great. Will be back

Thank leesak2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura P, Owner at Upper Reach Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell people of your time here at Upper Reach Winery. We will look forward to your return visit and more wine tasting at cellar door...maybe a spring visit is in order?!

See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

This is a beautiful location for a catch up. We started with the wine tasting, with the expertise of Steve. Some great wines available all made from grapes grown on the property. I loved the Reserve Shiraz.

It was packed on the Sunday we were there (you must book). We were a table of four, with two sharing the Tex Mex platter, other dishes were the pork belly and lamb shank. My lamb shank was packed full off flavour. Everyone enjoyed their selections. We chose the unwooded Chardonnay to accompany all the dishes.

Service was generally good, only downside was we waited a long time for water to be brought to our table. It appeared they forgot us as they served all the other tables water. Easily solved by heading to the bar and requesting a bottle (couldn't get their attention at the table). The service improved after that!

I recommend lunch here as it's a beautiful location, great cellar door, delicious food, easy parking and no tour buses!

Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura P, Owner at Upper Reach Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thank you for your review! It was my pleasure showing you our range of wines...I have to agree with you, the shiraz is a terrific drop. (we do shiraz really well here not only in the Swan valley but this winery)

Sorry we forgot to provide water at your table, we did not mean to neglect you...Im glad we were able to sort it out quickly for you...Weekends are very busy in the swan valley, I recommend a midweek visit and you almost get the venue to yourselves...perfect for a long lazy lunch with friends!

We look forward to your return visit, and hope you bring a few friends to introduce them to our little gem in the Svan Valley.

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

Received a voucher for lunch and a winery tour at Upper Reach Winery for Christmas, had a free Sunday so booked in for a tour and lunch. Started with lunch and as we had a long drive home, and wine tasting to follow, stuck to cloud juice with our meal. Husband and I shared an Indian platter, very tasty, great portion sizes and nice variety of dishes. Followed the platter with rhubarb crumble with ice cream that was so delicious, and such a large portion that I couldn't finish it.

Tasted the port and liquor muscat at the cellar door while waiting for the wine tour to start - both very nice! Lovely small group of six for the tour of the winery, which is family owned and run. Laura was an excellent host who gave us just enough information without getting overly technical. The wine tasting was very pleasant although as the designated driver I only inhaled.

Thoroughly enjoyable way to spend an afternoon, hope to get back soon to stay in the old cottage so that we both can fully appreciate tasting all the wines available.

1  Thank SueHinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura P, Owner at Upper Reach Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thank you for the amazing review! We could not be more proud of our vineyard and winery....it has certainly undergone a transformation in the 21 years of owning the property. It is always a treat so show guests around.

I still have dreams about the apple and rhubarb crumble.... so yummy! Im glad you got to enjoy it.

I would recommend a stay at our spa cottage after a long lazy lunch next time you visit, no need to worry about who is driving- so you can enjoy that extra glass of wine at lunch!

See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

We shared a Mediterranean platter and we're just so pleased with our choice! We also enjoyed our wine tasting with Steve. A beautiful environment and wonderful meal with fabulous staff. Totally recommend!!!

Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Upper Reach Winery also viewed

 
Millendon, Swan Valley
Whiteman, Swan Valley
 

Been to Upper Reach Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing