We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A true Sardinian welcome not to be missed!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A different island
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
A different island
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Santa Maria La Palma, Alghero, Province of Sassari, Sardinia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
brianspur...
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A true Sardinian welcome not to be missed!”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Unlike many visitors to the west side of Sardinia, we flew into Olbia and drove across country to acquaint ourselves with this beautiful island. On arrival at Sa branda, after a leisurely 90 minute drive, we were greeted by Dario (the proprietor) as if we were long lost friends!

This is my first pre-requisite at a holiday venue. To be received by someone who is not only passionate about their business, but also alert to the emotional needs of their guests on arrival and thereafter, is very important.

We talked over a glass of his family's home-made wine (his English is good and my Italian isn't), met his family (including 2 dogs and a cat who are very well behaved), and then had a guided tour of the apartment, which occupies most of the first floor of the family home.

In brief, it has its own entrance, and all rooms are extremely well proportioned. It can easily handle 5 occupants, and as there were only 2 of us, we had lots of extra space.

The benefit of a huge balcony, spanning the entire width of the building, gives you so many options. It has room for everyone to eat (at table), lounge on sofas, and view the garden and surrounding area.

Although the apartment is self-catering, Dario does offer breakfast at a small additional cost, and I'm sure you will choose to take advantage as we did.

As a base for your holiday, I think that Sa branda is difficult to surpass, especially as it is within easy driving distance of some of the best beaches and inspiring coastline I've ever experienced.

If I could give you any useful tips they would be - (1) hire a car (2) get Dario to tell you where to go, where to eat, where to hire a boat, in fact pretty much anything as he has friends all over the area to cater for most of your needs (3) get to the beaches early (4) don't expect a varied or sophisticated cuisine (unless you go to a hotel or a major town (5) try to speak Italian as it will be appreciated even if you struggle!

Finally, don't drive into Sassari because it's a nightmare negotiating the place and trying to find somewhere to park. Just forget shopping or go to Alghero if you must, but most of all you have to take full advantage of the slower pace of life, clear blue sea, and gems of nature that this region has to offer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnMulle...
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Haven on earth ”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Staying at Sa Branda was one of the most satisfying experiences I had when I decide to spend a week in Alghero ( I travel quite a lot around Europe)The apartment was charming with tastefully designed interiors and relaxing ambience.
The owners Dario was very accommodating with us and he make us feel as we were part of the family we even spend few splendid night together amazing!!!!!!
The apartment was spotless and as I said before very well designed and spacious .
Dario was always there to recommend us beautiful beaches and family run restaurant that show us the true identity of Sardinia!!
I usually don't write reviews but this place deserves it all especially Dario never meet anyone like him ,for everyone looking for a quiet , friendly and relax place.. this is like a small piece of heaven on earth!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip S
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very nice place and very kind hosts”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The place is located on the westcoast of Sardinia. It's a good to place to start some activities: beach, hiking (e.g. Punta Giglio) or as well Mountainbiking etc. To the beach it is only a few minutes by car. The Capo Cacchia as well as the City of Alghero are very close by. Yet this place is very quiet and beautiful located. Lovely decorated plants and flowers make the garden a nice and cosy place to be.

The host is very nice, friendly and helpful. He supplied us with everything we needed and if something was missing, he managed to organize it. He also gave some tipps concerning activities in the surrounding area.

The Appartement we booked was clean, nicely furnished and equipped with kitchen cutlery, pots and pans.

Thanks, Dario, you made it a very nice stay. We'll be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wengel
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
“Turisti lituani holiday in Sardinia”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our stay at Dario was great! Dario is very friendly and helpful. The apartment was very nice, new, comfortable, quiet and very clean with all you would need. Environment and yard very homey with few very sweet, but not obtrusive pets. Apartments is in a good location: a few kilometre to the sea, near the city of Alghero in one side and amazing Nettuno grotto in other side. If you want a relaxing and quiet time I highly recommend Dario's apartment.

a short film about our trip :)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jZ-blOFgKos&feature=youtu.be

Travelling group: Compagno/a
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$99
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing