We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An absolute find. Best place to stay in the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Fretheim Fjordhytter. Flåm.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fretheim Fjordhytter. Flåm.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
175 reviews
Fretheim Fjordhytter. Flåm.
Located on waters edge with beach
open plan living-dining room with beautiful views of the fjord and surrounding mountains
Great views from the cottage, rain, hail or shine.
Well equipped kitchen
Upstairs bedroom with king size 180cm bed
Ground floor bedroom with queen size 160cm double bed
Upstairs bedroom with two single 90cm beds
Bathroom, towels and clothes washing liquid supplied
Entrance hall
Kayaking on the fjord
Queen Mary 2 visiting Flåm
Boating on the fjord in summer
Ever-changing colours
Late autumn from the cottages
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Flam, Aurland Municipality, Sogn og Fjordane, Western Norway

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 175 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
jominnitt
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“An absolute find. Best place to stay in the Norwegian fjords.”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Finding this listing online, we felt so lucky that one of the huts were still available as it was a pretty last minute booking. When we arrived, it was more than we could have imagined. We arrived via the touristic railway from Myrdal, winding down the mountainsides, into Flam, a little town at the end. Looking across the bay, you could immediately see these beautiful Norwegian huts right on the fjord, a 5 minute walk with our luggage.

The huts are beautifully decorated and clean, with a living area and kitchen looking right out onto the fjord. The view is incredible. They can have up to 6 people staying, i believe, but we were only two. Anders, the owner, was really friendly and showed us how to use the little boat (zipping around the fjord is an experience I'll never forget), and gave us a great tip to see the Nærøyfjorden as it's around the corner and apparently the most beautiful fjord - it was astounding. The scenery there is like nothing else!
Being able to self-cater was great (especially with that view from the table!), with the supermarket 5-10 minutes walk away in the town. There's a little brewery and bar, and an old church, and a number of walks although we didn't really get the time to go far.

I'd not hesitate to recommend this accommodation and location to anyone who would like to see the fjords. It feels like a bit of a long train ride, but when you get there you totally forget - even the views from the trains are amazing. Go and enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The authentic Norwegian style
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeleine...
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Superb”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Fantastic self catering house.
Far enough outside village to be quite, but near enough to wander back from the pub!
Fantastic views straight up the fjord from the living room.

Very clean and warm.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroIB
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fabulous chalet on the fjord in Flam”
Reviewed 15 December 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This property is definitely a fjord-side destination. We (two adults plus a teenager) spent a glorious week here in June 2014. the situation is ideal - eady to locate and with its own reserved parking if you arrive by car. The chalet (one of 4) is beautifully maintained and very comfortable. Best of all are the spectacular views over the fjord - breath taking ! The properties all come with motor boats on the fjord and Anders is happy to provide instructions for the uninitiated. Anders and Sue are charming hosts and met us on arrival to show us around. Anders is a fount of knowledge on all kinds of walking in the area. We were very lucky to have enjoyed a week with no rain, so we were able to pursue loads of excellent walking trails. There is plenty of interest in Flam itself - with huge cruise liners drawing up in the harbour every day (great views of this from the chalets) to drop passengers off to ride up the Flam railway for the day. Great microbrewery in Flam (The Aegir brewery) which does a super range of real ales and Viking-themed meals too ! All in all our stay here was one of the very best holidays we have ever been on and I would recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Watching the magical sunsets over the fjord
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: extrarodinarilyclean and in good repair; and great beds
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brown48
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in these cottages in 2007 and have meant to return ever since as we had one of our best family holidays ever there. We finally came back this year and had another equally wonderful time. The cottages are lovely (lots of space, spotlessly clean and fully equipped)and the location is unbeatable. The view of the Fjord from the living room and bedroom is just breath taking. The little row/motor boat is such fun and the perfect way to end the day. Anders was so helpful and welcoming and quickly dealt with any little issues that cropped up. I cannot recommend this rental highly enough. If you want to visit Norway (and you really should) you couldn't choose a better place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning location
Liked least: Having to come home !
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing