We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing 5 star”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Saltwood Barn

The Saltwood Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Saltwood Barn
View of the rear and parking Handmade Walnut Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
The Saltwood Barn
View of the rear and parking
Handmade Walnut Kitchen
A Quiet Cul-de-sac
Rear garden
View from the gardens edge
View from the terrace
Sun Terrace
Kitchen & Utility entrance
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Stable Door
Living Area
Upstairs Gallery
Artisan Staircase
Matching En-Suites
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ducey, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stu H
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Amazing 5 star”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
4
people found this review helpful

Where to start???? From arriving to leaving everything was brilliant. It feels like a home from home and there is everything you need inside. This place is perfect for just leaving the world behind but everything is nearby if required. Super U is about 10 mins away and has everything you need for shopping and the baker 5 mins away makes lovely bread and cakes. We explored most of Normandy and nothing was really more than a couple hours away including Cherbourg for the ferry. I honestly cannot fault a thing. The family loved it and we will be back. Many Thanks

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisons...
Wellington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation to explore Normandy and Brittany”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in July 2015

The accommodation is to a very high standard and far exceeds many holiday lets in France. Set in a lovely quite area of France but not too far from the main roads which allow you to explore deeper into Brittany or Normandy. Our family have spent two summer holidays at Saltwood Barn, we've always looked forward to returning and would recommend the accommodation to anyone visiting this area of France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakej1
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can't Wait To Return”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The barn exceeded our expectations. A home from home there is everything you need. Well furnished and comfortable. We like the fact that there are shower/WC for each bedroom providing privacy from friends or family. We visit many many places and want to return. We liked the location so much we were looking at properties....

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisons...
Wellington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation in an ideal location for exploring”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were very impressed with the standard of the accommodation when we arrived. Beautiful converted old barn, all mod cons in a peaceful setting. From our base we were able to explore the surrounding area, st malo, dinan, fougeres all in Brittany and mont st Michael, bayeux in normandy. We also visited some of the ww2 sites in normandy. We enjoyed our stay so much, the accommodation was so flexible allowing us to come and go as we please which was really important for us with a 5 yr old. We would certainly stay again and recommend to friends. The shops and supermarkets were not far away in ducey and restaurants if wanted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property was great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RFR78
Deltaville, Virginia
1 review
“We found the Saltwood Barn to be very comfortable, well provisioned, and enjoyable.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The Saltwood Barn is in a quiet, pleasant, country setting. There is, however, reasonable access to most of what is needed for grocery shopping, and tourist information in Ducey. There is fairly direct routing to area historical sights. I recommend the Michelin map #303 to ease driving concerns if not using a GPS.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall experience
Liked least: A toaster would be nice.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing