We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
15
27
5
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
27
5
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2017

This place is a piece of heaven. It`s location is perfect with panoramic views over Lienz. The service and food are outstanding and l would recommend a visit whether for coffee and their delicious array of freshly made cake or lunch or evening meals. Perfect for a birthday or wedding venue.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

This was our first stay in Austria and the Gribelehof hotel was the perfect choice for experiencing Lienz. We booked our activity holiday through Adventure Austria. Christian from Adventure Austria did a great job of choosing this hotel for us, along with helping plan the activity itinerary for our holiday in and around Lienz.

We had a family apartment with both rooms having access to the balcony which afforded a fantastic view of Lienz and the beautiful surrounding mountain ranges. The location of the hotel for us was perfect as it overlooked the town of Lienz and allowed for great views of the valley and mountains. We had no car, so we had to walk down the road to get to Lienz, which took about 15 minutes. The walk back up the hill to the hotel took longer, but we were glad of the exercise!

We were very happy with the living conditions of the apartment. Everything was clean and functional and well looked after.

The staff were very friendly, although only a few were able to speak English. The meals were lovely. Breakfast consisted of a good variety of cereals, fruits, breads, meats, etc. Each morning after breakfast we selected our choices for the evening meal from a small menu. The choices were far from extensive, but the quality of food and service was great and we always looked forward to meal time in the evening.

One of the other services provided was free WiFi. They have a few different routers set up around the hotel area, which meant you were able to get Internet access from most anywhere within the hotel. The access speed was not fantastic, but more than enough to check emails, etc.

The hotel also has a small play area for young children, and we had access to a table tennis table which our kids played on a lot.

Well recommended :)

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016

the hotel is placed on a hill were you have a nice perspective of the valley, great location. The service and personnel was absolutely charming. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and really enjoy the moment, food, view and show they had.
The rooms are big, clean and comfortable.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 300lwmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Gribelehof 3 nights. It has a great location above Lienz offering nice views. The style is quirky with elements of church decor and household things and furniture from the 18th century. The hotel has an interesting history, too. Breakfast is good, fresh fruits, yoghurts, fresh bread, cheeses and cold cuts. Every morning there is an issue of "Morning post" with the weather forecast of the day, a thought provoking quote, and a description of one of the sights or activities nearby. Today for instance they likewise advertised for "moonlight shopping " which means stores in town are open until late, there is music etc etc. such a nice feature! It should be added though that everything is in German, and the staff speak limited English. The room was ok size, although more storage/wardrobe space would be nice since you have all the gear. The shower is newly renovated. Beds were comfortable, and we did not hear the neighbors. The biggest drawback for me was dinner, very limited selection and tastes like microwaved food - which is a shame. Overall though we were happy. I should add that there was a mixup with our room that we had booked via booking.com, but it was resolved with a smile by the staff.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tanja316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

When I was 4 or 5 years old, I stayed at this hotel twice during the winter.

As I noticed that we would be close to Lienz during our roadtrip, I decided to book two nights at the Gribelehof.

The owner who processed our check in remembered my last name and soon we were swapping memories of more than 20 years old.

Not much has changed since then, although the rooms have been renovated. We slept in a room with two bedrooms and a large bathroom. Everything was clean and there was nothing to complain about.

The breakfast offers a lot of choice. From bread with spreads, sweets, ham and cheese, to eggs cooked to your liking to yoghurt with various toppings. There is something for everyone.

The Gribelehof is located on a hill just outside the city centre. The hill is quite steep and long, so I would advice a car to go to the centre or elsewhere.

Wireless internet is available on the terrace outside and in the rooms.

Dinner is also served. The menu offers hot, cold and children's dishes. The food is mostly Austrian, added with some home-made specials.

I am just as satisfied with this hotel as my parents were more than 20 years ago and will definitely stay here again when I would be in this area in the future!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 830matsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews