We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Such an amazing owner, who goes above and beyond.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ty-Nance

Living Room 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room 1
Kitchen 2 Nearby 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
47 reviews
Living Room 1
Kitchen 2
Nearby 1
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Cwmcarn, Blaenau Gwent, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
681lynda
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Such an amazing owner, who goes above and beyond.”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We were welcomed by the owner late at night after an awful journey. Amanda is such a warm hearted person who made you feel like part of her family. Lovely home made Welsh cakes with tea or coffee waiting for you too.
We only stayed a couple of nights, so my husband and sons could go to a football match, both of my boys have asked if we can go back (aged 11 & 13) as it's such a lovely area to explore. My mum who is 80 also enjoyed the stay.
I'm sure we will be returning soon.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for the lovely comments so glad you all enjoyed stay and the welsh cakes..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
love-4-d1...
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Fantastic Stay for New Years”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Amanda was absolutely fabulous. We unpacked and she came to great us at the house and gave us ideas on places to visit. There was also tea and welsh cakes ready for us on arrival. We had a good amount of room, and would definitely recommend to anybody who likes downhill riding, as the boys found there was plenty of places to go. We took the dog on plenty of walks and had an excellent time (even with all the rain). All in all a fabulous place to stay. Amanda also met us before we left to wish us well and see us off. We only had one problem with the kitchen light and Amanda dealt with this immediately. Would recommend this property highly and look forward to staying again, hopefully when the weather is better. Thanks for a great trip Amanda.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was fabulous as was the owner.
Liked least: Bathroom tended to be quite cold.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for the lovely comments . glad you enjoyed stay even though it poured with rain most of the time and the bulb fixed in the kitchen .. Cheers again take care Happy New Year to all !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaitlinNZ...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute town and Lovely Host”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a lovely stay in Cwmcarn, Amanda was amazingly organised for us, she even booked us a taxi from Newport. The house was very clean and spacious for 5 of us. It was warm and Amanda even left tea and cake for us. It is a little way from Newport and Cardiff but there is a train and taxis.
Thank you very much

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for the comment and taking the time to write a review . so glad you enjoyed stay and the rugby !! cheers !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geradus36...
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Couldn't be bettered”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Group of 4 staying for 2 nights to watch rugby in Cardiff.
Very friendly welcome. As expected everything was catered for - fresh linen and beds, the property clean throughout and a plate of Welsh cakes to greet us !
Plus a very thoughtful pint of milk in the fridge for the first cup of tea !
Fortunately the weather was with us, so we ate in the back garden, with the sound of running water from the stream at the bottom of the garden.
Very quiet location, super location for a getaway - And all the locals we met were very friendly.
The owner was again on site to see us leave.
We agreed we don't know how it could have been bettered.
Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: General ease, no hassle whatsoever
Liked least: Can't think of anything we disliked.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for the lovely comments and for taking the time to write a review even though we won the rugby (sorry ) !! Glad the weather was good and enjoyed the welsh cakes ..Thanks again ..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewa K
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Cottage”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a lovely "long weekend" in the cottage.
Communication with owner was excellent.
Cottage clean and lovely with everything you need.
A lot of places to visit around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for the lovely comments so glad you enjoyed stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing