We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (619)
Filter reviews
619 results
Traveller rating
131
292
148
31
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
292
148
31
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one bedroom apartment large balcony needs updating kitchen utensils self catering sea view rooms are huge bit dated reception staff were very helpful pool area time share iron and ironing board location was perfect nice pool an update living area short break
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 619 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2018

My fiancee and I were on a pre trip to Vilamoura before our wedding in April. We picked Dom Pedro Portebelo as our base given the location etc. We will now be using this as our base again in April and will recommend to guests. Yes its dated, but this hotel over delivers on everything else. Spacious rooms, lovely breakfast, nice pool area and we had a beautiful lunch on one occasion. Each evening the 5 minute stroll to and from the marina made it very convenient.
We also sat with Claudio the Hotel manager to discuss our plan for April and he could not have been more helpful. He clearly sets the tone for the hotel which has very friendly staff also. The breakfast attendant was very helpful each morning.
We cannot wait to return in April 2019.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your detailed and kind review. It’s great when guests enjoy their stay with us and also important to know that our guests are satisfied with our facilities and services.
We look forward to welcome you again at Dom Pedro Portobelo.

Kind regards

Cláudio Pereira
Resident manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

Spent a lovely few days in the aparthotel. Very relaxing and welcoming.
Hotel a little dated but spotlessly clean and comfortable. Swimming pool extremely cold but I guess in height of summer refreshing.
Fantastic breakfast and friendly staff. I would definitely return.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lesley215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and review. We are glad to know that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcome you again at Dom Pedro Portobelo in the future.

Kindest regards,

Cláudio Pereira
Resident manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

Family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children aged 4&6).

Pros
Late check in (9pm) quick and efficient.
Rooms do require an update but with 2 young children I wasn’t worried about anything getting broken or damaged.
Even from the 1st floor we had a view of the sea which was really nice.
The one bedroom apartment was very spacious and had a well equipped kitchen (please note there isn’t an oven).
The on-site restaurants was very good and we ate there most nights. They accommodated my sons allergies with no problems.
Breakfast was very good.
Friendly staff in the restaurant, reception, bar and cleaning.
They allowed us a late check out (until 2pm) at no extra cost.
The location to the beach, playground and the marina made it idea for young children.
Large balcony which was ideal for sitting out in the evening.
Great price for the location.

Cons
Rooms are tired and in need of renovation.
The living room sofas are day beds which are 2 single beds, we would rather have had a sofa bed.
The pool was very cold and kids under 16 weren’t allowed in the heated pool.
The room was clean but could have done with an all over dusting

Great location and had everything we needed. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JamJarLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read your comments here at TripAdvisor, regarding your recent stay at Dom Pedro Portobelo.
We are delighted to read that we were able to meet your expectations and that you enjoyed your visit to Vilamoura.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you again very soon at Dom Pedro Portobelo.

Kind regards,

Cláudio Pereira
Resident manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

As other reviews hotel is dated and needs A major overhaul as we were expecting this it was not a problem. The central location and friendliness of staff more than makes up for this. Breakfast was brilliant especially the sausages not the usual selection. We will be definitely back.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank topgunner1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear Client,

It is a pleasure to read your comments here at TripAdvisor, regarding your recent stay at Dom Pedro Portobelo.
We are delighted to read that we were able to meet your expectations and that you enjoyed your visit to Vilamoura.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you again very soon at Dom Pedro Portobelo.

Kind regards,

Cláudio Pereira
Resident manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

It’s been well written on TripAdvisor reviews, that Dom Pedro Portobelo is tired looking and needs updating.
We travel to Portugal 2 to 3 times a year and have been travelling to Portugal for the last 30 years. We now spend a lot of our time in Vilamoura. Each time we try to book the Dom Pedro Portobelo. Not always successful, so we have to look for alternative’s. However when successful, I feel like I’m going home.
Quite simply, Dom Pedro Portobelo is the best hotel in Vilamoura. “Nothing against, the other good hotels in Vilamoura”. From the front reception staff to the brilliant cleaners and not forgetting the restaurant staff they all aim to provide an excellent service.
Slowly but surely, change is happening at the Dom Pedro Portobelo. We see that change, each time we book in at the Portobelo. We so look forward to our visit in May 2019, “that’s if we get in of course”.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TonyS904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your return to Dom Pedro Portobelo and for taking the time to post your thoughts here. We are happy to know you enjoyed your visit, and we hope we can welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Cláudio Pereira
Resident manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews