We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice interior with a good taste. To be able to...”
other travellers have booked this property
entrance to apartment is on the right hand side
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
entrance to apartment is on the right hand side
large terrace from sitting area large terrace from main bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
entrance to apartment is on the right hand side
large terrace from sitting area
large terrace from main bedroom
spare bedroom
spare bedroom
sitting area 3 sitter sofa +2 sitter sofa
sitting area
sea views
main bedroom en-suit
main bathroom
spare bedroom
main bedroom
main bedroom window leading to the terrace
kitchen
balcony from kitchen
en-suit with shower
main bedroom
dinning for 6
dinning area
main bathroom with bath
view from terrace to sitting area, dinning and kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marsascala, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Rona S
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We got a taxi from the airport (you have to queue up at the taxi stand inside and pay, then you will be allocated a taxi driver who takes you to the car; 25 euros) this works well.
He found the street but we couldn't find the apartment, he tried calling the owners but there phone was switched off, after about 15 mins we found the very small shabby door leading to an equally shabby entrance hall. The lift is very small, so enough room for one person and the luggage. The flat itself is very shiny on the surface and seemed to have everything you need, but a few niggling things; not a massive amount of cooking utensils and no knives sharp enough to cut bread, some of the crockery was chipped and mis-matched glasses!
The sofa's are good but we needed to sit on a towel on the sofa, as you either slipped around or stuck to the surface and the dining chairs are splitting and in need of attention.
Unfortunately we were unable to use the balconies due to the heat and the bedroom balcony only had one chair. Apartment is in a predominately residential area so not a great view; lots of roofs with air con units, but you can see the sea and watch the tankers from the port in the far distance. Also mosquito's around so had to keep the doors shut.
The TV was not working, after much messing about we turned everything off and got it working, although very limited channels; no news! We arrived during a very hot spell and needed the air con on whenever we were in the flat which works well, however, mindful of the electric limit we also used the fan instead.
We were reminded several times, by the owners, to keep an eye on the electric use, but with no real indication of what the allowance would give us. It was soo hot the only way to sleep was with the air con on, but it was very noisy and the lights so bright that it was a toss up between too hot or too noisy and using electric. We ended up using practically all the allocated units and we only used one bedroom and were out during the day and only used the oven twice, so be wary of this if you are a family and or staying during the hot summer months..
Plenty of towels, all quite small, but no dish or drying cloths for kitchen. Black bags for rubbish but no information as to what is recyclable or when bin day is. in fact no info on the apartment at all.
Wifi is free and quite good (we used it to try and get an early flight home!).
Also note the sockets in the apartment are 3 pin same as UK, however on needing to use the mosquito machine we needed a 2 to 3 pin converter!
The area:
The area the apartment is in is very run down, lots of rubbish wherever there is an empty piece of land, it's a good 15 minute walk into Marsascala, where there are plenty of bars and restaurants.
The local shops are very good and people very helpful and the Mad Hatter bar in town is fantastic.
Also about a 15 min walk to very small sandy beach, used a lot by locals. Very noisy and although we visited after UK kids had returned to school the local ones don't go back until end of Sept!! Disgusted to see people stood in the water smoking and then dropping the remains into the sea!! Beds and shades available for hire : 14 euros for 2 beds/2 shade until 6pm. Cafe on site very good, but lots of flies. Sea lovely but watch out for the biting (nibbling) fish!!
The buses, mostly new looked good, however on our day home, despite being at the stop in plenty of time no bus arrived, we were starting to panic as there are no taxi's about, when then the next bus turned up about 15 mins early!
This review is coloured by disappointment in the area, lack of sleep and having to electric unit watch, so appreciate it comes over as negative, but it is an honest reflection of what we found. Nothing majorly wrong with the apartment, but not perfect either, as some reviews have indicated.
Would not return to Malta, but the niggles about the apartment would not have bothered us if the area had been better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2016
OMG! Just saw this review. Total shock.

First of all, why would a person leave a negative review after almost 4 months have passed since his/her holiday?! If i didn't like something during my holiday rental I would write the review immediately!

Now, I'm answering to all the comments point by point:

1/ I offer every client of mine to send my own driver to the airport! My driver knows exact location of apartment and for the same price of a taxi you would have fast and safe trip. If people refuse, then why grumble about taxi queue at the airport?

2/ As for my phone to be switched off - it's not true. I NEVER turn off my mobile phone not only because i have clients arriving to the apartment but also because i have 4 kids who might need to reach me at any moment! I could very well have been in the shower during those 15 mins - it's natural, and then i returned my call to the driver.

3/ The entrance of the building is a regular size. The entrance that you used is small because it is PRIVATE entrance with the PRIVATE access to the lift that only penthouse tenants have a key for!

4/ The lift capacity is 360 kg.

5/ As for utensils and mismatched glasses - apparently you've never rented other properties in Malta. Because if you have, you'd find ALUMINIUM utensils (and not stainless steel like in my apartment) and plastic glasses (and not made of glass like mine). As for the knives, just sharpen it a bit if it seems to be blunt (sharpener can be found in the last kitchen drawer).

5/ The sofas are pure leather. i do not cover it as it would look untidy and ruin the overall appearance of a modern design of a penthouse. However, if your bottom is getting stuck (as you said) just take a clean sheet out of any bedroom's wardrobe and cover the sofa during your stay.

6/ the dining chairs are eco-leather. the splits were mended and now each chair has its own cushion.

7/The apartment is enjoying 2 big front terraces (those are not balconies as you called it). And one 15m long balcony is at the back of the penthouse. The terrace adjacent to the main bedroom has a LOUNGER (not a chair as you called it) and a coffee table.
The second terrace is furnished with a set of rattan furniture consisting of 3 seater sofa with cushions, 2 chairs and rectangular coffee table with glass top making it ideal for a family gathering spot with a glass of wine in the evenings or chill out with friends.

8/ If you wanted unobstructed sea view - you are very welcome to rent a penthouse in Malta at a price starting 300 euro per night (as to compare to my lovely penthouse situated in "predominantly residential area" as you called it, which is only 80 euro per night. Mind you, there is a beautiful sea view from both terraces of my penthouse, unobstructed (as it is a PENTHOUSE). It is obvious to see rooftops of other houses as you are in the PENTHOUSE 200m away from the sea.

9/ Every window and door of the apartment is equipped with a mosquito net! So i can't understand why you could not open doors of terraces.

10/ The TV is connected via satellite. Therefore, it takes some time to turn on (like PC). I've got 255 channels paid for. 11 of them are news channels in English, Maltese, Italian, German, French and Arabic! There is a special section on the menu called On Demand with already prepaid films of various tastes: Kids, Action, Comedy, etc.

11/ Electricity allowance is written in the "Notes" section of my property description on this site. Its 20 units paid per day. The meter reader is placed inside apartment which gives you an opportunity to follow your true consumption. I just advised you not to leave A/C working for no reason (when leaving apartment, for instance) so that you do not exceed your daily limit. Otherwise, any excess is to be paid at the end of your stay at 0.26c per unit. Which part of this explanation is hard to understand?

12/ The light of A/C unit is easily can be turned off by a button on the remote. Common, guys! Haven't you ever used air-conditions?! And what d'you mean by noise? My A/Cs are japanese make MITSUI. They are 3 years old. Practically knew! What noise? I feel the complaints are just sucked out of a finger!

13/ Dish/kitchen towels are placed in the third drawer (just below utensils). If you did not find them, most probably they were left by a laundry lady in a bag together with fresh towels.

14/ the info sheets (3 in total are in the TV unit drawer).

15/ There are 2 converters for 2to3 pins - in the last kitchen drawer.

16/ The area around the building is very quiet, in fact it's the only apartment building on the street - the rest are all villas. The black garbage bags are placed at the corner of the houses - that's the local rule and its not invented by me. However, it is always collected before 10am.

17/ St.Thomas Bay -is traditionally used by locals. Tourist normally swim on the rocks (200m down the road) where the water is crystal clear, alternatively, you may go to Pretty Bay (15 min drive) which is fully equipped sandy beach in the south.

18/ I have no control of flies in open air cafes.

19/ Buses are completely new in Malta. The old ones have been totally replaced by the new fleet 3 years ago. In order not to be late to the airport, always order taxi (I always offer service of my driver at the same price of taxi). It's no use economising on a cab (25 euro) risking to lose the flight!

Therefore, I hope i managed to refute the above negative points of the writer, by explaining every one of the comments produced by a client, who took 4 months to think of a negative review of the most beautiful rental property in Marsascala in its price range!

I welcome every one of you who had patience to read this till the end :) to stay at my lovely penthouse and make you own conclusions about my apartment & my service!
And please, guys, be positive! Common, you are on holiday afterall! Why see the glass half empty, when it is more fun when it's half full? For me it's better to be full with superb local wine:))))

See you soon!

Marina Cassar.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
50Trish
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“totally wonderful apartment”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed with friends in March and we all thought the apartment was beautiful. The views the area so quiet but easy access to the supermarket and bus transport is excellent. Cant wait to return in October 2014.

Excellent service, linen and towels plentiful, kitchen fully stocked with everything one would need. Owners response extremely helpful and prompt, when we somehow managed to change settings on TV!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
koolmodin...
ballymena
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“fantastic plac e”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this Penthouse in March 2014
A breath taking Apartment and for me, having mobility problems, it was such a plus to have a lift straight into the Penthouse. Main bedroom, with en-suite ,was ideal too as it had easy access. There was nothing to fault with the kitchen. It was fabulous. The many balconies meant that you could follow the sun all day if you wished. The views of the Mediterranean were brilliant. Bus stops were at front and back giving cheap access to the rest of this fantastic island, rubbish lifted every morning and supermarkets just around the corner, so close that even I could walk there and back despite my crutches. We have booked again for October 2014 and can’t wait to get back and hopefully meet Marina, the owner this time. We met her charming husband Etienne and his very helpful father in March. Could not recommend this Penthouse and location higher.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was exactly as described in the publicity.
Liked least: couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2014
Wow!thank you guys! I can't wait for your October visit. Next time i will make sure to meet you personally as my husband said you were great people!!!

Thanks!

Marina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$62
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing