We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveller rating
180
140
46
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
140
46
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dunblane cathedral cathedral bells teacakes groupon deal lovely little place small hotel haggis bon bons wet room main course on arrival tea and coffee facilities lovely hotel full scottish lovely setting local pub double bed breakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 396 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Set in the old town of Dunblane this hotel is directly opposite the magnificent Dunblane Cathedral.

Parking is by "pot luck" - you can park on the street in front of the hotel, if the town is not too busy, or in the public car park just around the corner in the Haining. Both locations are free of charge.

The hotel is a group of interconnected old houses. This results in corridors, stairs up and stairs down throughout the hotel. Being well signed internally helps no end to find your way around. If you have mobility problems make sure the Hotel knows in advance as you will need a room on the ground floor.

We had a double bedroom (Room 4 - second floor) with en-suite shower room. An enchanting window gave us views to the cathedral and grounds. Despite being October the room was warm. Everything functioned but the decor was a little tired and in need of freshening up. We opened the window to cool the room down overnight. Although adjacent to a quiet, narrow road we were not disturbed by overnight traffic noise. However, the cathedral bells, albeit quite muffled, chime regularly throughout the night. If you prefer to sleep with the window open then ear plugs might be a useful addition to your luggage.

We only had breakfast at the hotel. There was a good selection from which to chose. I had the full Scottish breakfast and was not disappointed. Others in our party tried variations on scrambled eggs and they enjoyed their choice.

Throughout our stay front of house staff were very cheery, helpful and knowledgeable. We pre-arranged an early entrance to our rooms to prepare for a wedding in the cathedral. Consequently we encountered the cleaning staff too and they were cheerful, helpful and well presented.

Our experience was most enjoyable and should the occasion arise in future we will have no hesitation in booking this hotel again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We stayed for one night recently and were delighted with our room. It was really cosy, clean and full of character. We were on the ground floor. The beds were so comfortable and we slept like logs. We had a wonderful meal in the Juniper restaurant. The menu was superb. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the staff couldn't have been more attentive and friendly. We'd definitely return and would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

We were a bit disappointed at being shown a room in another building down the road slightly. Room was OK but a noisy with people coming up the stairs in the night. Breakfast was excellent and staff were great. Dunblane is a nice village to visit with nice walks along the river and through the town

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Philip35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Stayed one night. There's nothing really wrong with this hotel but there isn't anything that stands out about it either. My room was comfortable, had plenty of pillows and a fun slope toward the window.. Good water pressure and hot water. Had dinner and breakfast on site. The venison and mash were good. The breakfast not so much. If the choice is between Best Western and Old Churches, pick Old Churches.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DAuntDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Decided to head to Dunblane for a day out, but decided to stay the night and enjoy a drink or two, so pre-booked this hotel (which, with but 11 rooms, is probably essential) and most certainly was not disappointed. In fact, I am surprised just how reasonable the tariff is; Dunblane (particularly the town centre) is a really pretty little place, and you really could, and should, expect to pay a bit more. The room was more than adequate; not luxury, but clean and comfortable, and in the perfect location at the top of the High Street ... there isn't too much to walk to from this quaint and picturesque little hotel, but it's right on the doorstep whatever that might be. Throw in a very decent quality breakfast in the morning and the choice is pretty clear - if you're staying in Dunblane and looking for excellent value for money, look no further!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank LargeSauvignonBlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews