We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rita C
Melbourne, Australia

Idyllic Surrounds

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 May 2024
Idyllic resort offering beautiful rooms, service and surroundings.
Close to beach - lovely walks through boardwalks at every turn. The rainforest feel was very peaceful and relaxing.
Access to daily yoga and bike hire at your convenience. Pool and surrounds were lovely.
Room was spotless and had everything we could possibly need (for those who choose to stay in for dinner).
Staff and service were at an excellent level.
Over 4 x day stay, my husband and I tried almost every breakfast item on the menu (breakfast included in our package) and each meal was beautiful and tasty.
We received a very discounted deal through a third party booking site MyHoliday and this made for a very attractive deal.
All in all, very impressed and thankyou to all the staff @ Crystalbrook Byron Bay.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Midweek visit is perfect if you want to avoid crowds.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carol Chang, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Byron, responded to this review
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you and your husband had such a wonderful stay at Crystalbrook Byron.

It warms our hearts to know that you enjoyed our beautiful rooms, service, and surroundings. The rainforest ambiance indeed provides a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere, perfect for rejuvenation. We're delighted that you made the most of the beach proximity and enjoyed the serene boardwalks.

It's fantastic to hear that you took advantage of our daily yoga sessions, bike rentals, and our inviting pool area. We strive to create a comprehensive experience that caters to all our guests' needs and preferences.

Your compliments about our spotless rooms and the delicious meals served throughout your stay are greatly appreciated. We take pride in offering a delightful breakfast menu, and we're glad you enjoyed trying a variety of items.

We also appreciate your feedback regarding your booking experience with MyHoliday. We're pleased that our partnership with them contributed to making your stay with us even more attractive.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and for choosing Crystalbrook Byron for your getaway. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon for another memorable stay.

Warm regards,

Kind Regards,

Carol Chang
Front Office Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
0.8 km from Crystalbrook Byron
Free parking
Pool
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Crystalbrook Byron
Go to your Happy Price
    0.7 km from Crystalbrook Byron
    The Park pool
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    1.1 km from Crystalbrook Byron
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    0.6 km from Crystalbrook Byron
    $473
    No prepayment needed
    • Official Site
      $426
    • Priceline
      $410
    • Vio.com
      $473
    0.0 km from Crystalbrook Byron
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Premium Family Villa 3BRM
    $155
    Fully refundable
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Trip.com
      $146
    • Expedia.com
      $154
    • Hotels.com
      $155
    0.6 km from Crystalbrook Byron
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $200
    • Priceline
      $200
    • Trip.com
      $196
    • Expedia.com
      $200
    2.1 km from Crystalbrook Byron
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    The Pool & Spa at the Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
    $289
    • StayForLong
    • Expedia.com
    • Booking.com
    2.7 km from Crystalbrook Byron
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $336
    No prepayment needed
    • Agoda.com
      $336
    • eDreams
      $336
    • ZenHotels.com
    2.2 km from Crystalbrook Byron
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Suffolk Park
    Reviews (1,412)
    Filter reviews
    1,412 results
    Traveller rating
    989
    285
    85
    27
    26
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    989
    285
    85
    27
    26
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews beautiful rainforest washer dryer pool area tallows beach short drive boardwalk resort spa byron town accommodation luxury balconies poolside relaxation kitchenette court
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    2 - 7 of 1,412 reviews
    Reviewed 28 April 2024

    Upon arrival, we were very impressed by the reception area and the whole venue.
    But when you stay there and look more into the details, I have to damit, the place is quite rund down and definitely not worth the money.
    By staying in more than 25 Hotels, Motels and Apartments wach year, I have rarely discovered a place where the price value is such a miss like here.

    The room looks quite nice but needs more proper cleaning and attention to details. The pool has some cracked tiles which are very dangerous but the sauna is really a safety problem by having loose wood bars and splinters.
    Staff at reception was just ignoring these concerns which is even more alerting.
    Furthermore, staff in the restaurant was kind, but at the bar very unattentive and took ages to take an order.

    You could so so many with this lovely venue, but with this, I will not return and just can recommend to look for elsewhere accomodation in the area. We had so much looked forward to especially the Crystalbrook at Byron Bay but were so heavily disappointed.

    Date of stay: April 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank phpworldwide
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 30 March 2024 via mobile

    The service when owned by Byron at Byron was much better. Under Crystalbrook, the service has declined significantly and despite the amazing location and environment we will not be returning.
    The pool area has furniture that’s dirty, old and clearly needs updating - the photos are deceiving.
    The service was below average and unsatisfactory for a place that considers itself to be 5 star. Only few staff members working in the restaurant and spa were lovely and we really appreciated them.
    The pool area needs a lot of work - food and drinks took so long to arrive I’ve had to cancel orders. The dishes are not cleared regularly so birds were attacking the tables and chairs trying to eat leftovers.
    I’m really disappointed and hope that management will make improvements accordingly.

    Room tip: Rent a car to drive around
    Date of stay: December 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank EAYavuz
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Tanuj Prajapati, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Byron, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2024

    Hi EAYavuz,

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

    Kind Regards,


    Tanuj Prajapati
    Rooms Division Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 March 2024

    Crystalbrook is a lovely resort; however, during our stay, the weather was freezing cold and raining. That's hardly the resort's fault, but it did highlight the deficiency of alternate activities. For example, we walked the rainforest trail and were excited to see and hear several animals, but the walkways are quite slippery and in need of repair/attention, a fact that was emphasized in the rain. The "gym" was maybe the size of a bedroom, with equipment jammed together, leaving no space to work out or maneuver. It was filled with children playing on the machines when it rained; not exactly ideal. The next morning, when the rain paused momentarily, people were taking mats and dumbbells outside due to the inability to share the space with more than one other person. For a place that styles itself as a wellness spa, the fitness center's deficiencies were shocking and seem somewhat inexcusable. The walk to the beach was easy and pleasant (or would have been but for the rain and wind). The room itself was ok, but there was a fine layer of sand all over everything--including the (hopefully) clean sheets, which caused us to wake up multiple times during the night to try to brush the crystals off. Given the distance from the beach, we were a bit disturbed by this situation. We travel to beach areas routinely and have never had this issue. Perhaps it's the "eco-friendly" laundry facilities: we were excited to have a washer/dryer in the room, but not excited that, after more than 6.5 hours on one load,, of which 4 was spent in the dryer, our clothes were still not dry. Housekeeping did dry them the rest of the way for us, but our departure was unnecessarily stressful.

    Date of stay: March 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank HBK2014
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Tanuj Prajapati, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Byron, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2024

    Hi HBK2014,

    Thank you for taking time to write us a review of your stay with us. I am glad you found our resort lovely, however, I am disappointed that the cleanliness of your room was not up to the standard that we have at the Crystalbrook Byron. I have shared your feedback with the housekeeping team for investigation. I am sorry to hear about our gym space not living up to the expectations, however, I would like to assure you that we are in the process of renovating our gym soon.

    While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

    Kind Regards,

    Tanuj Prajapati
    Rooms Division Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 March 2024 via mobile

    My second visit to Crystalbrook and it was as good as I remembered. The rooms are a good size and modern with a kitchen area and washing machine/dryer which was a real help as travelling. The pool was lovely and getting a sun lounger wasn’t an issue. The restaurant had a limited menu but the steak was very good and we went a couple of nights. The hotel offers a free shuttle service into Byron and back several times a day which was a help as parking wasn’t cheap.
    I can highly recommend the hotel and look forward to returning.

    Date of stay: March 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank 1jax
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Tanuj Prajapati, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Byron, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2024

    Hi 1jax,

    Thank you for a wonderful review of our resort.

    Looking forward to welcoming you back,

    Kind Regards,

    Tanuj Prajapati
    Rooms Division Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 March 2024 via mobile

    Had a midweek stay as partner had an event to attend in Byron and I tagged along. So still had to concentrate on work duties remotely.
    Stayed at Elements a few weeks earlier with girlfriends. Crystalbrook is more compact, less kids and I enjoyed my time here more.

    Had lunch and breakfast at resort. Both were nice and very reasonably priced. Service around pool for drinks was quick.

    Had some lovely walks and just had a lovely stay. Would definately return. Stayed here when was newer and it is getting a little old but well kept.
    And for half the price as Elements it a a much better option.

    Note the cheaper rooms not the luxe rooms had mobile phone service which I needed for work. We had to move rooms for this issue.

    But looking forward to returning a great getaway.

    Room tip: The cheaper rooms have mobile Phone service. The rooms closer to the beach don’t
    Date of stay: February 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Jayneross
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Tanuj Prajapati, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Byron, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2024

    Hi Jayneross,

    Thank you for a lovely review of the resort and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

    Looking forward to welcoming you again,

    Kind Regards,

    Tanuj Prajapati
    Rooms Division Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews