We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Thai meal”
Review of Blue Elephant

Blue Elephant
Ranked #23 of 366 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$58 - US$231
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Blue Elephant is a tranquil oasis of waterfalls, luscious greenery and tropical flowers. Smiling, friendly staff and the best Royal Thai Cuisine in Malta guarantees a memorable visit. Fresh fruits and herbs and also tons of orchids are flown in weekly direct from Thailand. Blue Elephant Malta offers you the possibility to reserve your own special space in this magnificent restaurant. Here you can surprise your guests in a unique atmosphere in our private huts. Blue Elephant can cater for a variety of occasions such as: Intimate Dining, Private Parties, Wedding Parties, Conference Dinners and many others….From the moment you step in the restaurant, you will be transported to the lands of the East. The waterfall, the landscaping and the seating will certainly carry you far, far away. Savour mouth-watering delicacies prepared from authentic Thai ingredients and forgotten centuries old recipes from the Royal Palace.
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

We walked down the steps and at first it looked empty but it then opens out and you might as well be in Thailand without the humidity.
Crispy sea bass and the blue elephant platter. Lovely flavours and aromas.

Thank Allan6733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Dear Allan6733,
Thank you so much for your positive review. I will certainly share this with the team who take great pride in receiving feedback such as this

Kind Regards
E Phillips
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 113 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Our reservation was at 8:45 we didn't get our starters until 9:40 and mains at 10pm. Apparently there was an issue with the kitchen. All the tables (4 of them) around us were also waiting exceptionally long.

The food when it came was not what we expected. We ordered a vegetarian red curry off the vegi menu. When it came It was blocks of (over cooked) tofu in a red sauce (which was bland; could only taste the coconut milk no lemongrass, lime leaves, basil). It was served on a plate. Not sure why curry was on a plate. When I questioned it the waiter said it's not supposed to be a curry and that the vegetarian menu needs updating.

The waiter was very polite and super apologetic. Offered us a complimentary drink (which was little consolation).

The food was extremely overpriced for the quality and service.

Decor was fabulous.

If you like thai food I would avoid this place.

Thank Satveer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Satveer K,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback about your experience. Whilst it’s never pleasant to read comments from dissatisfied guests it is essential information for us to act upon.
Your comments have been shared with our executive chef and restaurant manager who will conduct their own investigation into what may have gone wrong on the night.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your comments in person and would greatly appreciate it if you could contact me directly
euan.phillips@hilton.com

Many thanks and I look forward to hearing from you
E Phillips
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Really impressed with this restaurant, quality from start to finish. Took an outside table overlooking the Hitons marina, and as it's one floor up you are not bothered by passing people.
The restaurant is also amazing inside with a running waterfall and koi ponds. Staff are very helpful explaining the different dishes and have no problems amending then to suit your taste. The classic green curry is one of the best I've had, plus I got lucky with the mango and sticky rice as the mangoes were fresh in. Considering where the restaurant is situated it's also very reasonably priced.

Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Joe K,
Thank you so much for visiting The Blue Elephant. All team members and myself are delighted to read that you had a great time while dining at our restaurant . We truly hope to welcome you back very soon! Thank you again for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor such nice comments.
E Phillips
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

In the perfect location by the marina, in the Hilton hotel, My husband and i were very impressed with the ambience created by the waterfall structure and forest feel, as well as having real fish swimming around us! The decor was so authentic!!

The food: absolutely delicious. Asked for our Thai curry to be slightly more spicy and it was perfectly tasty! The starters were bigger satay pieces than we’re used to in the UK so that was a welcome surprise. We had the mince lamb golden bags so yummy!!

The staff were waiting on you all night and were very attentive!!

Everything on the menu was halal - if you wanted it!

Thank crystal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear crystal m,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent visit to our Blue Elephant Restaurant. It is always good to hear positive comments from our customers about their experiences within our restaurants and your feedback will be shared with the restaurant team. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the restaurant in the not too distant future.
Many thanks once again.

E Phillips
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

OMG what can i say, food amazing, service amazing, ambience amazing. It was so good the first time we returned for a second time. Staff were all smart, friendly and welcoming. Wine and water topped up as soon as required, you just couldnt get any better - Well Done All xxx

Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Sally D,
Thank you for leaving this review. Our team in the Blue Elephant work extremely hard to provide a total ‘Thai experience’ and recognition like this from our guests makes all their hard work worthwhile.
I do hope we see you soon for your 3rd visit.
Kind Regards
E Phillips
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Elephant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Blue Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing