We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,494)
Filter reviews
4,494 results
Traveller rating
1,985
1,485
633
239
152
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,985
1,485
633
239
152
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the club lounge private beach paranga restaurant indoor pool al fresco beach bar diamond resorts building work bars and clubs pre dinner drinks busy area st julians night life hotel restaurants bay street large hotel five star hotel
Filter
Updating list...
672 - 677 of 4,494 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Not long back from a wonderful week in the Intercontinental Saint Julian's bay.

When you arrive you'll not only enjoy the resplendent foyer (you really can't call it a reception), but be greeted by some of the most friendly and pleasant hotel staff you could ever meet. This warm welcome and friendliness doesn't stop there, everyone in the hotel greets you with a smile and pleasant hello. This must be like working in paradise.

The hotel from top to bottom exudes luxury. Our room was spacious, the bed enormous and decor / fittings to high quality and standard.

What impressed me most about the hotel though, was the pool and surrounding areas. Not only was it huge, but is was on the 10th floor. The picture I have shared doesn't do it justice and misses half of the sun bathing space.

But if a pool isn your thing, then wait, there is a private beach area not 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

My top tip. Don't pack a towel as you get a clean one provided daily by the hotel at both the pool and the beach.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at InterContinental Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta and providing feedback concerning your stay.

We are deeply grateful for you very kind words and thorough review of the hotel and that you were able to use so many of the hotel facilities to your satisfaction and that the service you received from our staff was of such a high quality throughout.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

David Bache
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We chose the Intercontinental Hotel, Malta as I have stayed in many IHG hotels around the world and expected this to be of a similar standard. Firstly, I need to inform anyone visiting the hotel that it is situated in, what can only be described as, the 'red light' district of St George's Bay- there are 5 Gentlemens clubs and 1 burlesque bar within 500 metres. On arrival at the hotel I was witness to a guest complaining about the building noise at the hotel to which the receptionist responded 'everyone visiting the hotel is made aware of this before arrival'. We were not aware of this and had we been would not have chosen to stay here. our room on the fourth floor overlooked the garden and during the daytime was very quiet. However, during the hours between 12-4am the corridor outside was very noisy with other guests shouting and screaming when returning from a night out. The rooftop pool was nice but too small for the size of the hotel and it was crowded by mid afternoon so no chance of a swim. Special requests for gluten free food and hypoallergenic pillows which were sent a month before arrival were ignored and it was only on our last night at the hotel they found an anti allergy pillow that wasn't full of lumps. We spoke to the chef on the first evening to ascertain which dishes contained gluten but he was not very helpful. On our second and third evening there, all foods were labelled with possible allergens highlighted. Also the chef prepared a special gluten free dessert which was delicious. A special mention to all the staff at the rooftop bar who were efficient and friendly given the extreme temperatures they were working in.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mgibbs39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at InterContinental Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta and providing feedback concerning your stay.

We must apologise for the numerous issues you encountered particularly considering your discomfort with the area surrounding the hotel, and the disturbances you encountered. Regarding the issues which you encountered during your stay and do hope you have the opportunity to contact us directly at your convenience.

Yours Sincerely,

David Bache
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Overall we had a good time her and would stay here again. Hotel was nice and clean with very friendly staff. The rooms, gym and pool were nice and big too. Breakfast was also good but after 3 days of the same it gets a little boring.
For the beach you do have to walk out of the hotel and it is next to a more crowded public beach, luckily most of the people seems to stay up until the early hours of the morning so it tends to be more crowded later in the afternoon. We had no problems.
The area is very noisy at night, clubs playing loud music and lots of strip clubs, no so nice to walk with your family if you've got small children.
We didn't have a great balcony since we were in a corner room, so the table and chairs where in between 2 windows, which turned out to be good because I get it blocked the noise. Our room faced the busy street and we could hear nothing at night.
AC not working on the first night but it was quickly fixed the day we called about it.
Now, They should really fix the extremely hot water coming out in the middle of the shower. It can really burn you and it is dangerous for small children

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Kamf_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at InterContinental Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta and providing feedback concerning your stay.

We thank you for your positive rating and insights into the hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

David Bache
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

The hotel location is good, it is just a few minutes walk to a shopping mall of Bay Street which has many restaurants, the hotel is not very new, but the facilities are fine, the hotel itself has its own private beach, the breakfast has many choices to choose for, the outdoor swimming pool located on 10th floor is fine. If you want to drive the car yourself, you need to pay the parking fee for the hotel, or if lucky you can park on the street without any charges.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank takakochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at InterContinental Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, we are delighted that you had a good time. We are very pleased that you found the location of the hotel convenient and that the facilities we offer were to your satisfaction. We do apologise for the issues regarding the car park, however please note that it is neither owned nor operated by the hotel.

We do hope for the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

David Bache
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Stayed here prior to a cruise. Excellent rooms. A huge bonus was being able to use the Executive lounge on the top floor. Not only were beverages freely available here but it had a terrace with great views. Beach was close by. Buffet breakfast was good. Check in and porterage could have been improved.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DianeSHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at InterContinental Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments we are very glad you enjoyed your stay so fully. We are most pleased that you made full use of our Club InterContinental Lounge and that it was to your satisfaction. We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

David Bache
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews