We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place to stay but needs TLC and owners...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Belvedere

outdoor pool area with surrounding dining and entertaining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
outdoor pool area with surrounding dining and entertaining area
Facade view facing seaview, Villa Belvedere Villa Belvedere's signature of Luxury and style
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
outdoor pool area with surrounding dining and entertaining area
Facade view facing seaview, Villa Belvedere
Villa Belvedere's signature of Luxury and style
fully equipped kitchen/dining
Spacious open plan kitchen area
Exceptionally in deluxe style
Triple bedroom with front balcony and sea view
Triple bedroom with front balcony and sea view
oudoor dining area overlooking pool and spectaular sea views
Relaxation in superior deluxe
Private pool area with jacuzzi
communal indoor pool area with jacuzzi
double bedroom with balcony and sea view
communal indoor pool area with jacuzzi
games room
communal indoor pool area with jacuzzi
Hallway and entrance
Baystreet - shopping centre and entertainment in St.George's Bay , Paceville
Casino - 10 minutes drive
Popular Tourist beach - St.George's Bay. 5 minutes drive away
Roof top terrace with stunning views
communal indoor pool area with jacuzzi
outdoor pool area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
cheekyukg...
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A great place to stay but needs TLC and owners must act on these reviews to give true 5 star service”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I have just returned from a week at the Villa Belvedere with my fiancee and her family ( 6 adults and 2 children )
I am always impartial with my reviews and this is the opinion the group had about the property.

Before we left we noticed the varying reviews from 'fantastic' to some with issues of payable extras where the management seemed to 'take offence' ...but we still looked forward to a great stay.

So the positives..

The villa is huge and more than enough room for the large groups it caters for.

The sea view from the upper floors is fantastic and there is a huge amount of room on the balconies.

The outside area is a lovely place to relax with a nice sized pool to cool off in and a nice dining area for those outside BBQs.

The villa is located in a quiet location and a short drive away from the marina/harbour fronts of St Julians etc.

Onto the negatives...I am afraid there are a few. These are not to put people off as we had a great time but these areas must be addressed for future guests.

We were not met on arrival ( not an issue ) but it was only due to the other reviews that we knew about the extras of payable Air con/ Wi-Fi and games room. The booking websites DO state that all of these are included. There is no 'asterix' stating these are extras payable locally. You are misleading guests and I have checked today and it still states the same. Prior to our holiday Wi-Fi was included as part of the booking deal but we ended up spending over 200 euros on the air con. This was with careful usage cooling the rooms down at night as the temperature was hitting 35-40c most days. But guests should not have to 'worry' about these extra costs...especially in a villa boasting air con!

The villa was dirty. This place is large so I'm not sure how quick the cleaners get round ( it looks like a quick mop of the floors was done ) but the owners may need to check exactly what the cleaners are doing. The floors was dusty,the work surfaces unclean and the place basically felt grubby. We had to then clean it ourselves. Thats not what guests should be doing on arrival.

The villa is getting tired and now isn't exactly like the pics portray ( of course the pictures are done with an arty effect but probably a few years old now). A lot of the furniture is marked, some toilet seats don't fit correctly ( as if some have broke and been replaced with incorrect size...this is the case in the top main bedroom ) the bed sheets,pillows etc are in need of replacing.

There is not enough plates/cups/glasses/cutlery for very large groups. We were fine but it was obvious items have broke over the years and are not replaced.

The pool area is in need of a slight revamp and some of the sunbed mattresses are stained and in need of changing.

We spoke to our 'neighbours' ( sister property) during our stay and they had the same views as us in all the areas mentioned.

So in defence of the owners....This villa is catering for large families/groups and will of course get marked walls/suncream stains etc by certain people who do not treat properties with respect. So it is not expected that new furniture and decorating is expected every few months.........BUT decent guests are paying a lot of money to stay in a 5 star villa so the owners may need to look at what their cleaners/contractors are doing and they need to immediately change the website advert so future guests are not mislead like we and others have been.

We DID have a great time and enjoyed our time here which you will too...but at the moment this is not a 5 star villa and needs a revamp ...hence why it does not get full marks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa is a great size
Liked least: It was dirty and misleading advertising regarding air con being included
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
Glad that these guests have spent a great week at villa Belvedere, as they have confirmed with me and one of our staff, Lenard on their departure. But honestly some issues very untrue and others which can be taken for improvement.

Villa Belvedere is advertised on all leading UK sites including TripAdvisor which states that the extra costs and services are listed in detail which the Air-con is on a pre paid card, the Wifi is €5 per day, and the games room some of which are with coins. No hidden charges here. There is no way we could mislead any guests. This is definitely not our intention. Guests should find this information on all adverts expect tripadvisor and flipkey which you need to hit the button additional fees on top right hand side of advert. The Wifi was already paid prior arrival of this guest, so it was not charged twice.

Cleaning is done thoroughly. Before guests are welcomed in the villa is checked. it seems like a recurring issue here when it comes of cleaning and floors dusty. We found out that after some days People coming in and out of the house and leaving all the large apertures open there is obvious sight that the floors get dusty. When it comes to families with toddlers or babies, people are felt uneasy then. I get certain calls after a day or 2 stating that the house is dirty. I do not want to be heard as a perfectionist as there is always room for a improvement which we always look for and try to do out best to make the guest stay as pleasurable as possible but to a certain extent that issues should be addressed clearly.

Some areas in the house of course get marked including walls with stains etc by certain people who do not treat properties with respect are indeed washed and repainted by our full time handyman with fresh paint by the maintenance done every time guests are checked out.

The kitchen is fully stocked but if guests find missing cutleries, they could have contacted us straight away. in less than 5 minutes would have been served. No particular issues were reported during the stay. All of the unneccities would have been resolved in no time.

Reviewers and those already booked Villa Belvedere for the next year coming may rest assured that they will enjoy their stay.

thanks
David and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walage
nj
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mosquito nest”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Villa Belvedere, Malta
Managed by Holiday Letting – David Caruana Managing Director

Review and Comments about our family two week stay in June 2015

Disappointed!

The Villa was Dirty:
The interior of this house needs a painting. The walls on the main floor, basement and stairways were dirty and stained. It appears this place was not painted for years.
The windows, screens and TV screen were dirty.
The glass table top was dirty.
One screen in bedroom was broken when we checked in.
The couch and the pillows were filthy and badly stained and discolored. The couch needs to be replaced.
The outside of the kitchen cabinets and refrigerator were dirty. And the freezer had no ice maker.
The dishwasher leaked water on the floor.
The light fixture in living room was full of bugs (both alive and dead); in fact one night when we returned home the entire main floor was full of bugs (flying ants). It took us an hour to kill and clean them. We had to spray the entire first floor with bug spray. We also had ants in some of the upstairs bedrooms.
Some drapes were torn.
Some outdoor cushions for pool loungers were filthy and moldy. They need to be replaced.

Other comments:
The bedroom in the basement was filled with bugs and mosquitoes. Our two grandsons were bitten by these bugs on the first night they slept there and then decided never to sleep in that room again. Unfortunately, the two boys had to sleep on the dirty couch instead.
The games in the game room were not free. They require guest coins to operate. How petty!
Minimal toilet paper and paper towels were provided by owner. No laundry detergent provided.
Owner charges extra for air conditioning, WIFI, cleaning fees, water and electricity. All these extra charges are expensive and can add up to hundreds of euros.
Owner told us to call when we need something, but owner (Jane) doesn’t always answer or return calls. Shame on you!
The pool was great and a nice feature, but next door neighbor is annoying and will ring her outdoor cowbell when she thinks it’s time for you to get out of the pool. She did it to us three times and we were not even making any loud noise while in the pool.

Advice to potential renters:
We paid a high price for this so-called luxurious rental and expected a well maintained and clean place but we were disappointed. This villa is not what it looks like in the pictures. It is not well maintained and the owner doesn’t seem to care about their guest comfort or their concerns. To David and Jane (the owners), it’s all about the money they can get from you. They charge extra for almost everything.

If you are looking for an upscale first class well maintained villa, we suggest you look elsewhere for your family holiday villa or apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Dirty
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
It is sad to read such untruthful comments. I will not reply to them as I am sure that previous and future guests have and will do on our behalf. However I found this review is not telling the truth and I felt I had to comment this experience at villa belvedere by answering all points step by step.

1) I, personally welcome guests at the villas and greet them on arrival. The guests were all nice at my welcome. We toured around the house and as we go along I explain and answer any questions concerned. At the end with a usual same routine I advice about optional extra services that are available. The Air-con which works on a card meter at €50 per card (usage for the full house) and the internet (wifi) which is optional extra at €5 per day. All very excited about the house and happy. Although one particular guest who questioned me on wifi and Air con expenses his attitude changed a few time after answering. These are clear charges ( no other extra costs involved) that guests are aware of prior to their arrival. No extra cost for water and electricity as this is included in the accommodation. If one goes on our webpage and on Uk adverts listed, one can find a detailed description on these services. As opposed what this reviewer said, ‘its all about the money they can get from you’ is totally unfair to say as everything is described clearly on our homepage and on all UK adverts. Mentioning the screen net, when a guest went to open it, the screen net flipped over. No worries, I said, we’ll be fixed at once.
2) Back from an evening night, after a couple of days the same guest called me to say that the whole house was dirty, dust everywhere and lots of dead bugs and flying ants around. Oh come on! It took them an hour to kill all the bugs!! Well, while on the phone I had explained to him that if lights or pool lights are on during the night, mosquitos are attracted to lights. The villa is fully screened of nets for mosquitos. Clearly for sure they had left the net screens fully opened. Besides all this, the house is stocked with mosquito sockets, tablets and sprays for guest use. Well, not to take it more further after I get a request from him to demand a refund, I offered him a cleaning of the bugs the next day which was done. Even though the staff has found nothing of the big fuss caused. On arrival guests are made aware of to switch off lights by night. This guest/s may recall the parties they have done at the villa.
3) Regarding the untidiness, may I remind that the house was accommodating 16 people for 2 weeks. Not mentioning some relatives from same neighbourhood coming in and out of the house. After a weeks stay, guests have a free cleaning. Can the house be still in tip top tidy as it was on arrival? In addition to this, we provide basic utilities comfortably for the guest use during the stay which includes basic stuff for the cleaning, for the kitchen use and for the bathrooms with enough toiletries in each 5 bathrooms.
4)In all, since I experienced personally this case I can say that the guests attitude was shameful, publishing negative comments when we were all week available around. Also a full detailed booklet inside the villa is available with our service times and a map for the guests disposal. As you can read in most of our reviews, we always try to help you in all matters. Although we understand that one can be unhappy with its choice, we find that the guest/s had to comment the posted review in order to give to the TripAdvisor Users the possibility to read also our version of how the things went. But anyway, I’m sure everybody here is clever enough to judge by itself Villa Belvedere.

The Management: David and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 May 2015
We are happy that you had a great stay at villa belvedere. Appreciated your review. Thanks David and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Belfast, Canada
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing