We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
81
90
56
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
90
56
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish power points x country skiing traditional style sitting area the ground floor free wifi cross country ski room ski holiday room was spacious ski bus train station underfloor heating single room buffet oslo
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

Such a lovely cosy hotel- lovely staff lovely food good choice especially at breakfast time I came here on a skiing holiday there was a ski buss available which picked you up directly outside the hotel or it was a walkable distance- the room was lobely and clean and also the pool was nice.
I really enjoyed my stay here and I will hopefully be returning next year.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank samanthamanley0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

We stayed for one night (11th July 18) and were very disappointed. The receptionist was friendly and helpful but the waiters at supper were appalling. We were not shown to a table nor offered any wine because the waiters/waitresses were concentrating on serving a coach party. We had to ask repeatedly for water which was grudgingly brought to our table. The food was pretty unappetizing and looked as though it had been under the lights for far too long. We were not expecting haute cuisine but when tinned fruit is served for puddings it is reminiscent of the bad old days in British catering!
Our room was adequate but the ensuite smelt of mould and faeces and the shower was so dingy and mouldy that we avoided using it.
It seemed to us that the hotel was catering mainly for coach parties and there was only one other couple travelling independently; perhaps this has something to do with the low standards of both the service and the building. However all the other hotels we stayed in while we were in Norway had numerous coach parties and they made individual travellers very welcome despite the large numbers.
We did express our disappointment to the receptionist as we left and she was concerned and said that she would report it to the management and talk to the waiters.
I have contacted our tour operator with our concerns so hopefully they will not use this hotel in future for their clients.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank catherinehodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

We stayed at the hotel for our annual cross-country skiing trip. It is a couple of kilometres from Geilo centre, but close to cross-country tracks and served by the ski bus which takes you to other starts for cross country skiing. The hotel arranged transfers to and from the train station, though we did have to ring up on arrival at Geilo as the transport had not arrived. The hotel has a ski room for storage and ski-preparation, accessed using ones room key.

The hotel is large and in parts perhaps a little impersonal though Sofia's Bar, which is opposite the main restaurant, is extremely friendly and serves a reasonable selection of delicious meals and snacks. Indeed, we tended to eat here more than the main restaurant. Although the hotel is perhaps a little impersonal, the reception staff were friendly and helpful.

Depending on how busy, meals in the main restaurant can be a la carte or from a buffet. As usually seems to be the case in Scandanavia, the menu is varied, mainly based around fish and meat though with plentiful choice of salad. Breakfast was included, also with plenty of choice.

Our room was on the ground floor with a small terrace area, though given it was March we did not use the Terrace. It was termed a "suite" but was in fact a larger room than standard with a combined bedroom and sitting area. The sitting area at one end of the "suite" and next to the large window opening onto the terrace, had two comfy arm chairs and a settee (which doubled as an extra bed) and a table with a small desk and TV. It looked out onto one of the bottoms of the ski runs and cross country tracks.

The bed was comfortable, with a small chest of drawers next to it with a long mirror. There was ample storage room. The bathroom had a toilet, washbasin and bath with an over-bath shower. There was a hair dryer, but like many hotels not co-ordinated with the mirrors and power points!

The hotel has a reasonable sized swimming pool which was clean, warm and uncrowded with good changing facilities. It has a less good fitness room next to the pool with limited equipment and the treadmill did not seem to like going at a fast pace, but this is perhaps a quibble as most visitors should be getting their exercise outside!

We would consider returning to this hotel, were we to visit Geilo again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

We loved our stay in this Hotel.It was clean,friendly and the food was superb.The staff are absolutely outstanding.Nothing is too much trouble.We had a gorgeous room with a beautiful balcony and gorgeous views.Staff were more than happy to arrange trips and taxi service and went above and beyond.Swimmimg pool was immaculate and warmest cleanest water you can imagine.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank heatherBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

The hotel is nice. Breakfast is adequate. Staff are friendly. Location is good. We love the surrounding of the hotel. Room is fine. At breakfast, we were put in the same room with noisy chinese tour group. We asked to sit in another area but the staff insisted that the rest of the tables are booked.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank EmmyVe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews