We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
81
90
56
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
90
56
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish power points x country skiing traditional style sitting area the ground floor free wifi cross country ski room ski holiday room was spacious ski bus train station underfloor heating single room buffet oslo
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Our motorcoach Grand Scandinavian tour stopped here for lunch for about an hour. We loved the buffet style food, but even more, enjoyed seeing the lovely antiques inside the lobby of this attractive hotel. I can't vouch for the accommodations, but it is a lovely little hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Leejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolf R, Salgssjef at Bardola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Thank you for nice words and welcome back :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

This hotel is close to the Mountain area for skiing in Geilo. If you are driving from Oslo this hotel is before you enter town. This hotel can also reached by train.

This hotel has free car parking area by the hotel. It is builded in traditional Norwegian style and is very big. The check in was very effective ad they have 24 hours reception service.

We stayed in a triple room and it was big with enough place for three beds There were minidrawers and a cupboard for your clothes. The room also had a big sitting area with TV and sofa and a working desk. The room was nice and big. The bathroim had heated floor and heated rails for towels. We checked in very late and they did not have warmwater to take a shower but In the moring it was ok. The bed was really comfortable and good to sleep. Beware the rooms are not sound proff as you could hear sounds of foodsteps, other guests voices etc. It can be a problem but if you are a light sleeper so bring with you your earplugs.

This room also had a small terrace over looking the mountains. This room costs around 190 euros for three persons including breakfast.

The breakfast is average. They have traditional Norwegian herring in different sauces, cold cutrolls, eggs, cerals, fruits, bread, pancakes etc. Unfortunately they do not have the traditional Norwegian Brown cheese! The breakfast is ok. On Sunday s the breakfast was informed to open until 11.00 but they started to close at 10.30. That is very bad service!

The hotel is average because the rooms are not noise isolated, average breakfast and normal service.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank salsaaudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolf R, Salgssjef at Bardola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2016

Thank you for your writing about our hotel. This is good help for us to getting better. That work never stopp. Welcome back to Bardøla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

Let me preface this by saying that the hotel overall has great potential!!! It has all the makings to be an exceptional hotel, if they would just upgrade it! The rooms are in serious need of an upgrade. Serious need. For 1400 kr a night, I've stayed in nicer places in Norway for way less! However, our room was HUGE and had a nice balcony! That was a great surprise! (Not all rooms have a balcony- or a view. My in-laws room was super small and faced a wall) the bathroom in the room looked like a science experiment with the old tile. Looked like micro-organisms under a microscope.. Was really weird. The beds were ok, comfortable enough. Had a nice big sitting area that they had converted the couch into a bed for my son. The only upgrade that room has seen was a flat screen tv.

The hotel staff was great, seriously awesome! They were very friendly, super informative, and very helpful. The restaurant, Sofia's Cafe, was amazing!! Some of the best food I have had since I moved to Norway! So, great job! Breakfast was just okay. Nothing was really labeled... So a bit challenging to figure out what kind of yogurt was what. What the meats were...etc. so labeling could be very helpful so it doesn't become a guessing game!

Has a kids play room, which is awesome! My son and daughter LOVED that!

Now, the reason I gave this hotel 3 stars was because of the experience we had while swimming. Ok, my 3 year old son wanted to go swimming in the "kid pool" which was hardly a kid pool. My 1 year old daughter could barely stand on the tiny narrow steps and the kid pool went almost to my sons shoulders. It was pretty deep. Then he was with me on the "grown up" side of the pool and was climbing the wall and (the tiles in that pool are so sharp! I felt it even while stepping on the floor of the pool how sharp they were!!) a tile sliced his foot open!! I mean whoa- totally not acceptable by any means!! He was holding onto a pole that was attached to the side climbing back and forth from side to side and one of the edges was so sharp it cut his little foot open. I told the front desk staff and a gentleman so graciously offered to get him a glass of chocolate milk to stop his crying while the woman fetched a bandage for his foot. They handled it very well... But sadly this totally killed the experience for us. So be very aware of the tiles in the pool if you're going to go swimming!

Would go back, but just wish they would make it look a bit nicer and fix the tiles in the pool!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolf R, Salgssjef at Bardola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2016
Google Translation

Hei og takk for at du skriver om oss her på Trip Advisor. Godt å høre at dere har kost dere med oppholdet og at betjeningen var bra. Når det gjelder rommene var det ikke like lystig lesing. Det neste året vil vi pusse opp mange av rommene våre og håper vi får vist dere dette ved neste opphold. Når det gjelder bassenget, tar vi affære straks.

Ønsker dere en god påske og hjertelig velkommen tilbake til oss.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

I stayed just one night at the Bardøla hotel and my opinion is really positive!
Good service and good food both for dinner and breakfast. The swimming pool was nice as well as the gym. I slept in a hytte, it was so relaxing!
Hope to spend one more night at the hotel on my way to Bergen next summer!
Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JeanTombeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolf R, Salgssjef at Bardola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Thank you and welcome back :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

We had an excellent stay at Bardøla this weekend. The staff was very kind and helpful, the food was great, dinners at weekdays is from 19-21 and at "serve yourself basis" and eat as much from what you want. This weekend there was lamb, salmon, cod, halibut, lobster, shrimps, and a great range of accessories. Breakfast also had a great variety and makes a great start for the day. Saturday dinners is 3 dish menu with optional wine package. Rooms is either from old part or newer part of building and is large with sofa, chair and TV in addition to 3 beds. Free wifi. Swimming pool and a gym section which is good. Short distance to skiing slopes for cross country skiing around the lake. Ski bus leaves every hour to the hills for skiing either downhill or the great classic cross country slopes on top of the hills into the mountains. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank teslafanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolf R, Salgssjef at Bardola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2016

Thank you for staying at Bardøla and thank you for kind Words her at Tripadvisor :-).
Welcome back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews