We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cute little cottage in a quaint Welsh town”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bwythyn Bach

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llantrisant, Rhondda Cynon Taff, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
andyker20...
Stavanger, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst place I have ever had the misfortune to stay at!”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in June 2014

This really was a terrible place to stay!
The photos looked lovely and to an extent it was well decorated.
The problem came with the finish of the place.
For example, the windows at the front were double glazed but not sealed round the edges properly. This let in a lot of noise from the street which was very lively at night with at least 3 pubs in spitting distance from the front door.
The noise problem was / is compounded by the fact the the general hospital is very near and the ambulances and police cars went past the door very quickly, generally with the sirens sounding at all hours. Some sound proofing would have been very welcome ie. properly fitted windows, although I am not sure if this would have been enough anyway.

The kitchen, again, not very well finished with dust from the 'rough cement wall' constantly falling into the work area.

The extra bedroom is tinyyyyy, so be carefull if you have teenagers.

Altogether a rather bad experience, expecially as the owner can be somewhat aggressive if crossed... (deficiencies explained for example!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: pretty much everything.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2016
In response to these extremely negative, hurtful and unjust comments,

Just to let our future guests know that these people lost their £100 security/damage deposit due to the disgusting condition they left our beloved (newly renovated) cottage. I feel that this is a bitter and personal attack with the aim to damage our business and it certainly isn’t a true reflection on Bwthyn Bach. The cottage has now been operating as a holiday rental for three years and has developed a sterling reputation by consistently achieving excellent customer satisfaction as you’ll see from our other reviews; I believe that our past and present guests would be appalled at these disingenuous comments.

I and my family have lived in this vicinity for over sixty years and Llantrisant is a very quiet; ancient Welsh town and our cottage has been standing for over two hundred years. The cottage still has its original old stone walls hence the slight dust from the old stone work, apologies for this.

We have had no complaints with regards to the windows not being fitted properly, quite the opposite actually. The sash windows were fitted by a reputable Fensa local window company in 2013 and constantly gather compliments from guests and members of the public that pass the cottage.

The comments made with regards to the ambulance and police vehicles going passed at all hours are ludicrous. The cottage is situated on the edge of Llantrisant Common; the common land is owned by the freemen of Llantrisant and has been for hundreds of years. On the common land there are cattle and horses which have right of way over vehicles, they roam freely across this land often blocking off the road and emergency vehicles would not use this road in any measure unless there was an emergency in the old Llantrisant town itself. The main route to the hospital is passed Talbot Green town on a dual carriage way that goes directly to the hospital.
The friendly, family orientated pub The Bear is situated somewhat 100 meters away from the cottage and is hardly ‘spitting distance’ as it has been so eloquently put it. The New Inn is 160 metres away and so is the The Cross Keys pub, Llantrisant is not a lively town by any means and all pubs are family friendly so the again these comments are false.
The description of the second bedroom is clearly stated on our advert; it is fitted with a set of single bunk beds that are more suited to children. It is a small bedroom but seeing as the cottage is 200 years old we can’t really do anything to change this.

I find it extremely odd how 21 months after your stay you then decide to leave this ridiculous, unwarranted bad review. You left the cottage in such a disgusting state that I had to hire extra help to clean in time for the turn around to accommodate our other guests. If there are any future guests that would like to see photographs of the cottage after the departure of these guests then please do not hesitate to contact me.

One thing I do apologise for is venting my frustration; it was quite a difficult experience having to deal with yourselves after you left the cottage in such a filthy way after I spent a great amount of time and money bringing the cottage up to an extremely high standard for my guests to enjoy. You treated the cottage with such disrespect during your stay that when you left I found the condition and your behavior quite upsetting. Still, I believe your comments to be more of a personal attack rather than a true reflection of our holiday home and I hope that my future guests will see past your distasteful and false statement.

Regards

Steve Rowlands
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kira W
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cute little cottage in a quaint Welsh town”
Reviewed 29 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

A lovely little cottage in a quaint town. The living room was lovely with a small kitchen off it and a very nice master bedroom. All well decorated and very clean. There isn't really a garden but it's near to the common and there are plenty of local areas to go walking.
The kitchen could do with more equipment as there were no sharp knives or a baking tray. There also isn't internet or Wifi. otherwise it's a fantastic little cottage and great for a stay in 'real' Wales.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alf2808
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy cottage, in a lovely village”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week and had everything we needed in this lovely little cottage. Llantrisant is a lovely friendly village, Ideally placed for exploring the area, close to Cardiff and the coast.
Our dog Alf really enjoyed the common for his morning walk too!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel1916
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely location and character cottage”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was a great place to stay with great local amenities and craft studios on your doorstep. The cottage was very recently decorated and in very good condition while some might say it was small I would say cosy and if you are only in for sleeping and breakfast just the right size.

The location was perfect with great views from the front and while I was unable to park outside on the street there is a free car park about 50 yards away that always had spaces and felt safer then parking on the narrow road.

The local pub (the Bear Inn) had very good food and ale selection and the staff provided a warm and friendly welcome. Don't be fooled by the menu selection shown outside this is only the specials and a fuller menu is available in the pub.

While a full range of large stores (Tesco, Asda amongst others) are very close along with smaller local stores if you want to have a rest from eating out and cook yourself.

The park and ride for Cardiff are is only 20 to 30 minutes away (depending at what time you travel, and at £3.50 per car great value) so you can visit the capital and not worry about driving and parking in a city you don't know. You are also close to Cardiff Bay with its many attractions and this is worth a visit.

There are of course many other tourist attractions (Steam Railways, Castles, Museums, Walks etc..) within easy driving range. All in all a great place to stay as a base for your holiday in South Wales, I would thoroughly recomend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review of our cottage and it's surrounding area. It means the world to us that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Steve & Menna Rowlands
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imelda G
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cosy comfort and friendly locals”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Nice small cottage would benefit from wifi and a dining table but very clean and comfortable with a great pub up the road.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing