We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a perfect getaway small and cosy”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallow Barn

A rural retreat with walks from the door.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A rural retreat with walks from the door.
Open plan layout making it light and airy.  Comfy living room with  dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
A rural retreat with walks from the door.
Open plan layout making it light and airy.
Comfy living room with  dining area.
Double bedroom with ensuite shower room
Fully equipped kitchen.
Enjoy summer evenings on the patio
Rated 4-star by Visit England
Chelmorton village in the Peak District National Park
Close to Bakewell, home of the famous 'Bakewell Pudding'
Convenient for Buxton Festival - opera and literature in the hills.
Moors and heather - away from it all....
Walk or cycle across a spectacular viaduct and through tunnels on the Monsal Trail.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chelmorton, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jackie k
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“a perfect getaway small and cosy”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

my husband and i stayed for a couple of days just into the new year and we found it a cosy little place perfect for 2 people and a dog, lovely walks on the doorstep and lots of interesting places to visit around and about, we particularly liked buxton country park although it was very windy when we visited, would definitely stay there again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cosiness of the place and the pub just up the road was excellent
Liked least: the weather although obviously not the oweners fault
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
annagudan...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect cosy location to get away from it all!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We try to 'get away' for our birthdays and explore somewhere new, this time, the White Peaks was the chosen location. Swallow Barn was idea for a few days away, it's a lovely little place as a holiday let! Clean, cozy and well equipped. Good location in between Buxton and Bakewell if you have a car (although there are some buses if you don't).
Recommend taking a walk up Chelmorton Low (the hill behind the pub and church at the top of the village) for a great view. Gill also very kindly assisted in arranging a birthday cake and candles for me as a surprise - thank you Gill!
Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deafdoggy
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable allergy-free high standard self-catering holiday”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our fourth stay at Swallow Barn. I have an extreme allergy to wool and cannot stay anywhere where there is wool or wool-mix carpeting in a property. I found Swallow Barn back in Easter 2009 and we stayed there early July 2009. We returned in 2011 for a short break on the way to travelling to Edinburgh and again on 11 July this year for two nights on the way to Skye. Our last stay was on 27-29 July on the way back from Skye. Swallow Barn is in a great location, and the family who own the barn are kind and caring people and they really do care about their guests. Gillian Chapman has taken great care to make sure the barn is dust-free and allergy-free (no wool or feathers). Cooking facilities are great - full cooker, microwave, kettle, excellent crockery and pots, everything sparkling clean (unlike other places where we have stayed). The location is about 6 miles from Buxton and ideal for touring and seeing attractions in both Derbyshire Dales and the High Peak District. Chatsworth and Bakewell are nearby and we never go home without stocking up on a supply of Bakewell Tarts! We are returning next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: As an allergy sufferer, this is an allergy-free place and I have have a holiday without fear of reactions
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulrich S
Griesheim, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in September 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2018
Thank you Ulrich for your 5-star review (even though I can’t read it..,!). It was lovely having you to stay. I hope you can return another year. Kind regards, Gill & David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing