We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect peace and quiet-nature at it's best”
other travellers have booked this property
Byre cottage situated on a working farm nestled in the hills of the Cambrian mountains of Mid Wales
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Byre cottage situated on a working farm nestled in the hills of the Cambrian mountains of Mid Wales
Byre cottage on a traditional working farm in Mid Wales - great for walks and perfect relaxation Byre cottage, quality furnishings, full of original character
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Byre cottage situated on a working farm nestled in the hills of the Cambrian mountains of Mid Wales
Byre cottage on a traditional working farm in Mid Wales - great for walks and perfect relaxation
Byre cottage, quality furnishings, full of original character
Pretty living room with leather settee and chair, oak flooring and high ceiling.
Well equipped kitchen with original slate flooring
Fully tiled bathroom with over bath shower, WC and wash hand basin - towels provided
King size bed with glorious welsh tapestry blanket
Twin beds in light and airy 2nd bedroom
Shared games room, pool, darts, tabletop  games. Art workshops held by popular Artist Anita Woods
Celebrate special occasions - birthdays, anniversaries etc. - our separate function room is ideal
Freshly laid eggs included in your welcome pack
Spring is coming and there'll be plenty of opportunities to see the lambs on our farm in Mid Wales
Daffodils in Springtime at Pengwernydd Cottages - look at that blue sky
Art workshops and painting holidays in the Cambrian mountains of Mid Wales. Inspiring surroundings.
Wide open spaces in the Cambrian Mountains of mid Wales - relax in the peace and solitude, magical.
Enjoy lovely walks around the farm - spectacular views from the fields and hillsides
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pont-Rhyd-y-Groes, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
francismc...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect peace and quiet-nature at it's best”
Reviewed 30 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Lovely cottage-very clean and excellent facilities. We particularly enjoyed the views, seeing the animals on the farm-a car is essential but never too far away to enjoy the area. We visited Bwlch Nant Yr Arain visitors centre-seeing the red kites being fed is amazing. Newquay for a beautiful seaside day out-look out for the dolphins in the bay. Down to Lampeter-a lovely market town. Devils bridge falls-wonderful.
Woodlands tea rooms at Devils Bridge recommended. We had lovely meal at Red Lion in Pontridfendigaid-5 miles from cottage-best chips in the world! All in all Byre Cottage was a great base to explore the area-cant wait to come back-hello to Margaret the owner-a lovely friendly lady.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Animesh P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nature at its best. . Superb location. . ”
Reviewed 28 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Place is awesome, surrounded by mountains and luckily day was shining bright. Heaven on earth. . Stay was pleasant. Was offered ride up the mountain. Very supportive owners. Very hopeful to see you again. . . Many varieties of walks within few minutes drive. . Some pics below . .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2018
Dear Animesh, thank you so much for your wonderful comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your short stay here and hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly2964
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“This is the place to feel cosy, warm, relaxed and welcome”
Reviewed 23 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We stayed for three nights and really enjoyed the comfort and warmth of the cottage set in such idyllic surroundings. It was very well equipped and furnished. We visited the coast and enjoyed the walks at Devils bridge rewarding ourselves with coffee in the hotel afterwards. Byre cottage is central to many lovely walks in the countryside and on the coast and definitely gave us value for money and a great long weekend Thankyou

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2018
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and also appreciated all the area has to offer. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Wonderful accommodation”
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Really impressed with our holiday accommodation. The cottage was a super conversion from it's original farm use, and equipped with everything we could have wanted. The kitchen/lounge/dining area was great to spend time in. The bedrooms were very comfortable and the bathroom was bigger than our own at home! Even the enclosed outside space was great - even the dog had a great time. This was a great place to stay and explore the nearby attractions.

We were able to borrow books and maps about the surrounding area, and would thoroughly recommend Devils Bridge Falls to anyone, as long as they've got some good walking boots with them! And the hotel opposite the waterfalls, did an excellent lunch.

We'll be recommending this to friends and family, and will be returning ourselves.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for your kind comments, they are much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to explore the area further as there's plenty to see and do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue N
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well equipped cosy cottage on working farm”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Our second visit to these holiday cottages, this time staying in a larger one on the site. Beautifully presented, very clean, tidy and well equipped. Peaceful location, would definitely need a car as pretty isolated but that is why we picked it and road connections are very good. Lovely countryside and only 12 miles approx to the bustling seaside university town of Aberystwyth. Perfect place for us to stay while visiting our daughter who is studying there. Friendly owners. Large bright airy and warm games room shared between all four cottages, which has WifFi, snooker table, piano, darts board, books/games, tea & coffee facilities, tables and chairs - perfect for our teenage son. Will definitely stay when we are next in the area as short breaks are possible and excellent value for money compared to the prices of similar accommodation in Aberystwyth. It does have a pub/restaurant a couple of miles away but we didn't get a chance to visit it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well presented, comfortable clean and tidy.
Liked least: Nothing it was perfect for our needs.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing