We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (522)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveller rating
503
14
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
503
14
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kauri trees new zealand the kitchen wonderful hosts tane mahuta forest walk the main house wonderful stay fine dining native bush spa pool tack room kai iwi lakes grace suite waipoua accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 522 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2020

My husband and I chose Waipoua Lodge to celebrate 50 years together, from the moment we got there our hosts Ann and Fiona made us feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble and there was nothing they hadnt thought of. Their attention to detail showed in the lodge, the accommodation and the fine dining. A relaxing peaceful environment, situated on the edge of the forest. Tane Mahuta is very near and a must to visit. Easy safe parking and easily accessible. The history of the Lodge was fascinating and it gives you a real feel of days gone by in the Kauri Forests. Would we stay there again? Of course and we will. Slightly remote location on the Kauri coast but everywhere is accessible from the Lodge. Highly recommended.

Room tip: There are two rooms with lovely verandahs, all rooms quiet
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1811027Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waipoua Lodge, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2020

It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and having Waipoua Lodge become part of your 50 years together celebration memories. What a great achievement! Until the next time we meet stay safe and happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2020

Beautiful accommodation .Amazing grounds including a bush walk within their property that is not to be missed. Food was spot on for both dinner and breakfast.Our hosts, Ann and Fiona were so welcoming and super company. We will undoubtedly return .

Room tip: All rooms are to the same high standard
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIMONNZ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waipoua Lodge, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2020

Thank you for the great review and for staying with us. Everyday there seems to be more spring flowers blooming in the gardens and lots more bumble bees! We hope the cats gave you a warm welcome when you got home. we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2020 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights for his birthday and we had an absolutely fantastic time. We were the only guests staying and Ann & Fiona made us feel very welcome right from the beginning.

On our first night as we decided that we were going to find dinner elsewhere they recommend the local pub about 10 minutes south, which we very much enjoyed. Our full day at the lodge was very comfortable and relaxing with a fantastic home cooked breakfast, followed by a lovely bush walk and then relaxing time in the sun (suddenly there were seats in the garden, or on the porch ready for us). We explored the area, then returned to the lodge for a spectacular dinner prepared by our hosts. The food was fantastic and very very tasty, both breakfast and dinner and Ann and Fiona went out of their way to include anything extra that we asked for.

Our room was very comfortable and spacious with lots of little homely treats to make us feel welcome. The main attraction for us was the spa pool, which we constantly used and throughly enjoyed.

We definitely recommend this place to everyone, it was well worth the cost and we will be back. Thank you Ann and Fiona for making us feel so welcome and for helping us celebrate my husbands special day.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 1dani021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waipoua Lodge, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2020

We are thrilled that you had such a great time here. It was our pleasure to host you and to help make the birthday a special one. Looking forward to seeing you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2020 via mobile

We had such an awesome time at the Lodge. The hosts, food and accommodation were top notch. I can absolutely recommend staying here 100%. Apart from the accommodation there was a so much to do nearby. I would definitely love to come back and stay!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ErinW2371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waipoua Lodge, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2020

We are thrilled that you loved your time here, it was our pleasure to host you all and share in your surprise weekend away. Hearing the laughter of longtime friends adds to the wonderful history and stories of our Lodge. Looking forward to seeing you again. Ann and Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2020

This was an unforgettable experience. Beautiful historic accommodation,two great hosts and lots of fabulous food and wine in front of a roaring fire, after a soak in the spa pool. Ideally situated for day trips exploring the Kauri Coast .We will definitely be back for a summer break.

Room tip: there are only 3 rooms. this is a lodge not a hotel.
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ladygoestropo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waipoua Lodge, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2020

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are so pleased you had a great time with us and we really appreciate you sharing your Waipoua Lodge experience with other travellers. Stay safe during these challenging times and we look forward to welcoming you back. Fiona and Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews