We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (522)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveller rating
503
14
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
503
14
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kauri trees new zealand the kitchen wonderful hosts tane mahuta forest walk the main house wonderful stay fine dining native bush spa pool tack room kai iwi lakes grace suite waipoua accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 522 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2020 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights for his birthday and we had an absolutely fantastic time. We were the only guests staying and Ann & Fiona made us feel very welcome right from the beginning.

On our first night as we decided that we were going to find dinner elsewhere they recommend the local pub about 10 minutes south, which we very much enjoyed. Our full day at the lodge was very comfortable and relaxing with a fantastic home cooked breakfast, followed by a lovely bush walk and then relaxing time in the sun (suddenly there were seats in the garden, or on the porch ready for us). We explored the area, then returned to the lodge for a spectacular dinner prepared by our hosts. The food was fantastic and very very tasty, both breakfast and dinner and Ann and Fiona went out of their way to include anything extra that we asked for.

Our room was very comfortable and spacious with lots of little homely treats to make us feel welcome. The main attraction for us was the spa pool, which we constantly used and throughly enjoyed.

We definitely recommend this place to everyone, it was well worth the cost and we will be back. Thank you Ann and Fiona for making us feel so welcome and for helping us celebrate my husbands special day.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 1dani021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waipoua Lodge, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2020

We are thrilled that you had such a great time here. It was our pleasure to host you and to help make the birthday a special one. Looking forward to seeing you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2020 via mobile

We had such an awesome time at the Lodge. The hosts, food and accommodation were top notch. I can absolutely recommend staying here 100%. Apart from the accommodation there was a so much to do nearby. I would definitely love to come back and stay!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ErinW2371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waipoua Lodge, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2020

We are thrilled that you loved your time here, it was our pleasure to host you all and share in your surprise weekend away. Hearing the laughter of longtime friends adds to the wonderful history and stories of our Lodge. Looking forward to seeing you again. Ann and Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2020

This was an unforgettable experience. Beautiful historic accommodation,two great hosts and lots of fabulous food and wine in front of a roaring fire, after a soak in the spa pool. Ideally situated for day trips exploring the Kauri Coast .We will definitely be back for a summer break.

Room tip: there are only 3 rooms. this is a lodge not a hotel.
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ladygoestropo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waipoua Lodge, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2020

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are so pleased you had a great time with us and we really appreciate you sharing your Waipoua Lodge experience with other travellers. Stay safe during these challenging times and we look forward to welcoming you back. Fiona and Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2020

I could be writing a horror story.....it was a dark and stormy night, the phone was out, flood waters lapping at the side of the road, the only sound came from the kitchen, and the room glowed orange due to the roaring fire..... and its all true, except it was far from a terrifying experience!

We happened to be booked in to Waipoua Lodge in the week Northland had a 1 in 500 year flood event. We chose to continue with our plans, and we are so glad we did. We pretty much had the lodge to ourselves, the only company being our hosts Annie and Fi. And what great hosts! Friendly, hospitable, out of sight unless we wanted them, obliging without being pushy, and excellent company when we asked them to share the evening with us.

Moreover, they were the cooks, and pretty damned good! We enjoyed tasty locally styled cuisine, perfectly cooked and beautifully presented, ample portions - just right!! Our evening in the main lounge was perfect relaxation - fire, wine, chat.

Our accommodation was homely. Large spacious bedroom, an amply proportioned lounge, self contained dining amenities, and quality and comfort all around. Any of the 4 guest suites would have pleased us.

The large gardens, native bush outlook and easy walking tracks gave us plenty of scope to stretch when it was raining, and with the Waipoua Forest, Tane Mahuta, Kai Iwi Lakes and other outdoorsy stuff within easy reach it was surprisingly easy to fill our our 2 days.

Your cellphone wont work due to the location, but there is ample internet. So a perfect spot to tune out, feet up, read a book, take in nature, and rediscover that old skill of conversation.

What did i like most? Hopefully they run with the new spicy apple cake dessert they were experimenting. And Fi makes an awesome morning coffee.

What did i like least? Departing.

Would I stay there again? Damned right I would. Actually, we already made plans to.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 8thContinent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2020 via mobile

Amazing lodge in a great location, close to the Kauri forest and the beach. We stayed in the tack room, really comfortable and warm with a nice outlook on to the well kept grounds. If you like walks it’s close to Trounson Kauri Park and Maunganui Bluff beach or if you simply want to relax, Waipoua lodge is perfect to just unwind in the hot spa or relax by the fire with a book. Thanks to Fiona and Ann, you were great hosts and we will definitely be back

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Changi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews