We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (522)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveller rating
503
14
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
503
14
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kauri trees new zealand the kitchen wonderful hosts tane mahuta forest walk the main house wonderful stay fine dining native bush spa pool tack room kai iwi lakes grace suite waipoua accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 522 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

A fantastic overnight stay at a beautiful historic homestead. Excellent hosts who contributed to a very good experience. Evening meal was delicious as was the breakfast in the morning. Our room was very comfortable and our only regret was not being able to wallow in the hot tub.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LizP2136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraceWaipoua, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Thank Liz for your review! We're very happy you enjoyed the food while you stay with us. A shame about the hot tub, maybe you can come back in the future to stay and use it!

Thank you again :)

Phil, Lily & Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Large spacious suite in historic property but what is special is the customized service that owners phil, Liliy and family provide. Meals are home cooked and excellent. Phil gave us a morning tour of the area and they offered to do our laundry at no charge. I would highly recommend Waipoua Lodge. Good value for money. the best hotel experience in a seven week trip.

Room tip: The old shearing shed has been converted to a spacious suite with living room space 9complete with new kauri tree coffee table), loft, kitchen area, bedroom and large comfortable balcony. The plumbing is a bit creaky which is a testament to the age of the place, but it works.
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AdrianfromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraceWaipoua, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

We are obviously very excited to see that your stay with us was the best out of your seven week trip! We really enjoyed having you stay with us and it was great to get to know yourself and Janice.

Thank you again for your review!

Regards,

Phil, Lily & Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Had a lovely stay, only wish we had stayed longer than the one night. Phil and Grace were great hosts, food was excellent, lodge was superb in beautiful peaceful surroundings overlooking the forest. Room was very large with separate sitting room and kitchen area. Characterful bedroom full of old-world charm.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kershaw2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraceWaipoua, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Thank you Micheal and Lynn for your review! We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us back in October. We're glad we made your stay memorable :)

Regards,

Phil, Lily & Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

We were very pleased to spend some time here. This is a great place. Exceptional attention to detail by very attentive hosts. Phil and the team are truly wonderful and nothing is too much trouble. Dinner and breakfast were excellent. Accomodation very clean and all small details considered and taken care of.

Room tip: there are only a small number of suites available. each has bedroom with ensuite, lounge, kitchen.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lukeb680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraceWaipoua, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Thank you very much Luke for your review, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
We're very happy to that you felt accommodated for, we try to make everything easy for our guests when they stay with us!

Once again thank you!

Regards,
Phil, Lily & Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

A very good place to stay near Waipoua Forest. Lovely room, good food and charming hosts. But definitely at the expensive end of the range. Interesting range of international guests provided a chance to swap sight seeing tips.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaipouaLodge, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you Lisa for your review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your night here at the lodge. We're glad you were able to have a good chat to the other guests we had staying!

Kind regards,

Phil, Lily & Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews