We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
The Colour Palate of Autumn...a blaze of glory

It was my 5th visit to the national Arboretum and it did not disappoint. Improvements in access... read more

Reviewed 11 May 2021
Rosemary S
Wonderful!

Peaceful place. Loved walking amongst the vast array of tall trees with their colourful Autumn... read more

Reviewed 29 April 2021
LouiseChristine
,
Auckland, New Zealand
Read all 104 reviews
  
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
57
43
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
57
43
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews few hours gift shop exotic trees southern hemisphere guided tour relaxing walk bird song couple of hours picnic area packed lunch picnic lunch well worth the visit toilet facilities different areas enjoyed our visit flora and fauna national treasure
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2021

It was my 5th visit to the national Arboretum and it did not disappoint. Improvements in access noted and delicious cheese scones and coffee on arrival. It was good to hear of the 100 year plan for the Arboretum. A special place to visit.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 April 2021

Peaceful place. Loved walking amongst the vast array of tall trees with their colourful Autumn leaves. Accommodation is clean & all inside, so it's very easy to access shared kitchen, bathrooms etc. Lovely area for eating outside. Friendly helpful staff. I'm keen to come back again. Nice for all ages, kids included, with a room for kids to do drawings/ educational experiences about plants. Reasonable gift shop., although I think there is a market there for someone to sell current beautiful photos of the trees in full colour, eg poster size. Needs a cafe!! Would be ideal after a walk to come back to a cafe. The grounds are not what I'd call, highly manicured, and some water features aren't working anymore but perhaps funding isn't what it used to be. Certainly these things didn't detract from my experience of the Arboretum and I've already recommended it to friends.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank LouiseChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 April 2021

A wondrous experience: 1.5 hours of travelling in a golf buggy and a fascinating explanation of the history and the trees - for $22 each (because senior citizens) Thank you so much Martin!

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank Radne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 April 2021 via mobile

The whole place could have more money spent on it
Charming and delightful nevertheless.
We found the provided map confusing. Could do with more interpretation boards with the story
Enjoyed the formal gardens.

Date of experience: March 2021
1  Thank hinau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2021

Glorious walks amongst a wonderful selection of 3500 trees from around the world. Well signposted and a good choice of different walks, seats scattered around and lovely views. Super especially in the autumn with colours, sunshine and peace.

Date of experience: April 2021
2  Thank CharlieOscarPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews