We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely for a stroll

It was a nice drive from Gisborne and once there it is easy to follow the paths and stroll around... read more

Reviewed 7 June 2021
pennyk839
,
Wellington, New Zealand
The Colour Palate of Autumn...a blaze of glory

It was my 5th visit to the national Arboretum and it did not disappoint. Improvements in access... read more

Reviewed 11 May 2021
Rosemary S
Read all 104 reviews
  
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
57
43
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
57
43
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews few hours gift shop exotic trees southern hemisphere guided tour relaxing walk bird song couple of hours picnic area packed lunch picnic lunch well worth the visit toilet facilities different areas enjoyed our visit flora and fauna national treasure
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2021

A wondrous experience: 1.5 hours of travelling in a golf buggy and a fascinating explanation of the history and the trees - for $22 each (because senior citizens) Thank you so much Martin!

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank Radne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 April 2021 via mobile

The whole place could have more money spent on it
Charming and delightful nevertheless.
We found the provided map confusing. Could do with more interpretation boards with the story
Enjoyed the formal gardens.

Date of experience: March 2021
1  Thank hinau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2021

Glorious walks amongst a wonderful selection of 3500 trees from around the world. Well signposted and a good choice of different walks, seats scattered around and lovely views. Super especially in the autumn with colours, sunshine and peace.

Date of experience: April 2021
2  Thank CharlieOscarPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 March 2021 via mobile

This is an amazing place to stay. We were a group of cyclists and found Marion very welcoming and efficient. Food that we had pre - ordered including dinner, breakfast and a packed lunch was plentiful and delicious. Beds comfortable. Interesting to be able to view history boards etc at our leisure and to have the whole Arboretum to ourselves overnight. This place is a National Treasure

Date of experience: March 2021
1  Thank MargreetS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2021

I have always wanted to visit this place and finally managed to do so this month. Really enjoyed wondering around the mature trees for a couple of hours

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank SJSTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews