We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage in idyllic location”
other travellers have booked this property
Ford Wetley Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ford Wetley Cottage
The Lounge A nice warm fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Ford Wetley Cottage
The Lounge
A nice warm fire
Farmhouse kitchen
Master bedroom with bathroom.
Twin room with shower room.
Downstairs double room with shower room.
Private Cottage Garden with BBQ/Fire Pit
Relaxing in the front garden
The neighbours
The bridge over the stream to the cottage
Could you be lucky and have a white Christmas?
Another stunning start to the day
Bit chilly for Alfresco dining!
Fun in the field
Expedition time, well just into the field
Nearby scenery.
Sun setting at the back of the cottage
Charlie and Breeze, our Miniature Shetland ponies!
The Ford Wetley Dogs, Paddy and Murphy.
Waterfall in the garden
Peak District
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ford, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JojoC20
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage in idyllic location”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

From the initial booking stage right up until we finally dragged ourselves away from Ford Wetley Cottage Louise and Adrian couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating.
The cottage was beautiful and brilliantly equipped- the welcoming eggs, milk. wine and chocs were thoughtful and handy too.
Its an ideal spot for escaping too but in close distance of lots of local attractions, not that we were in a hurry to leave the great scenery that surrounds the cottage itself anyway.
Already checking our diaries to plan another stay and would highly recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful surroundings, lovely hosts and friendly animals
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again one day. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDWKs
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil retreat for all the family and pets”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We holidayed with the in-laws and our two dogs (11 year old boxers). All of us left feeling refreshed and chilled. So much so, that we've already booked for next year!
The cottage has plenty of space inside and out (you can believe the description for this listing without me repeating it all here). The dogs loved chilling in front of the full length window watching the ponies (who coped well with two inquisitive dogs).
The beauty is having the feel of being in the remote countryside whilst being roughly a mile from the main roads.
Local attractions vary from Alton Towers to quiet coffee shops and lovely walks. There are many excellent places to eat at a wide range of prices within a short distance.
What really makes the cottage as a top choice is the owners attitude. We felt more like friends and neighbours rather than guests. If you explain the type of day out that you're hoping for, they will suggest some perfect choices for you.
Oh! Expect to miss the free range eggs once you leave. They are delicious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire package.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We enjoyed having you all, including your dogs here and look forward to your visit next year. Louise and Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClairKnig...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning, charming, peaceful retreat.....”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is my second visit to the cottage and I loved it just as much as the first time. Its beautifully rustic & charming and has everything you could want. The kitchen is incredibly well stocked with every gadget and the welcome pack is a really lovely touch. It's spotlessly clean, has ample parking and is surrounded by stunning countryside. The owners are lovely and go to great lengths to ensure you have the best time, nothing is too much trouble.

I look forward to my next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to see you again one day. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linsey H
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Idyllic little cottage”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just spent a very unwinding week at the cottage. On arrival we found a very clean cottage with a complimentary bottle of red, fresh eggs and chocolates. The children loved exploring the area and made sure time was available to play on the tyre swing everyday.
The cottage is very isolated so be prepared to walk in order to get a phone signal. I managed to get one half way across the field behind the cottage. We lost the internet by Tuesday and none of our devices would connect. Not a problem for me but my 17 year old was not happy.
The cottage is a great base with all the mod cons you would need to explore the Peak District.
We did book this holiday based on previous reviews of the warm welcome and attention from the owners, unfortunately they booked a holiday at the same time so we were welcomed by another family who were staying in the main house. However they only visited us a couple of hours after we arrived & promptly left on the Tuesday without a word. Luckily we are quite an independent family and just got on with things for the rest of the holiday.
Having said that the cottage is well worth a visit and I would recommend it to others.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we're very glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage in good order. We are sorry that we didn't get to meet you, unfortunatley our holiday period is dictated by our children's school. We normally arrange for house sitters where we can, however they like to give people their privacy once checked in. We hope that you will visit Ford Wetley Cottage again in the future. Kind regards
Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
red_llama...
Manchester
1 review
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Wonderful place, stayed here with a group of friends (7 of us in total) and everything about it was great. Louise and Adrian were amazing, offering to help with anything and gave us some great tips about local events, but they also left us to get on with our holiday and enjoy the place. We have stayed at a number of similar cottages as a group of friends and this was by far the best. Would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location/ house & garden
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for your review, great to have you here and glad you enjoyed it. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing