We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely location and very well equiped cottage...”
other travellers have booked this property
Ford Wetley Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ford Wetley Cottage
The Lounge A nice warm fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Ford Wetley Cottage
The Lounge
A nice warm fire
Farmhouse kitchen
Master bedroom with bathroom.
Twin room with shower room.
Downstairs double room with shower room.
Private Cottage Garden with BBQ/Fire Pit
Relaxing in the front garden
The neighbours
The bridge over the stream to the cottage
Could you be lucky and have a white Christmas?
Another stunning start to the day
Bit chilly for Alfresco dining!
Fun in the field
Expedition time, well just into the field
Nearby scenery.
Sun setting at the back of the cottage
Charlie and Breeze, our Miniature Shetland ponies!
The Ford Wetley Dogs, Paddy and Murphy.
Waterfall in the garden
Peak District
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ford, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
71Robert
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and uncaring owners”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This property is too small for 6 people. In order to accommodate this number the available room for comfortable eating and storage has been compromised by using the space on the ground floor as a bedroom. We had to eat in cramped conditions in the kitchen accompanied by the mop &bucket, broom and waste bins.
The dining table was sticky and we were unable to get rid of this. The cooker had not been cleaned and the pans looked as though they hadn't been cleaned from new. Mentioned this to the owner but he made no effort to correct it.
A bottle of wine supposed to be included as per the web page but it was not supplied even though we mentioned this to the owner.
We asked the owner if she would light the wood burning stove before our arrival as it was the middle of winter but she refused due to taking the children out. This illustrated a lack of professionalism and care for customers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2014
Overpriced???
Firstly can we explain the circumstances of this booking. We exchange weeks in our cottage for credits, which we can then use in other holiday properties. This couple had come to us via the holiday exchange company, with the exception of a token £35 towards heating it was a free weeks holiday. £35 for up to six people for seven nights is not overpriced?

So to deal with their points. We really struggle to see how a couple can claim to be cramped in a six person cottage. The majority of our bookings are family's and groups of six, with many return customers. We have never had any issues about space before. I know it's unheard of to have a stainless steel pedal bin in a kitchen but is this man seriously suggesting that we convert a comfortable en-suite double bedroom, which is popular with our more senior and less agile guests into a broom cupboard!

We had major renovation work in the cottage the five days before their arrival. The oil boiler had been removed from the kitchen, ceiling patched up, floor tiles re-grouted, hot water system totally replaced upstairs, pipes boxed in, dishwasher installed and kitchen worktop above it extended. The cottage was in a complete mess, but we worked our socks off to get it back up to our high standard. It is very regrettable that the cooker got over looked, but under the circumstances an understandable human error. I could understand being unhappy if the cottage was generally dirty all over, but the cooker seemed to be a real problem. Unfortunately by the time he bought up the matter of the cooker he had wound us up so much that we didn't feel inclined to rush in and rectify it like we would normally do. As for the pans, their is nothing wrong with them. The table is pine and has a coating of Bee's wax on it.

Wine. They booked through the Holiday Exchange company. No mention of wine is made on its website. But he seems to think that as he was paying £0 he is entitled to everything full paying guest who book through our website get. He did get unlimited electricity, hot water, heating, logs for the fire (which they weren't shy in using) and milk, chocolates and eggs. When he asked about the wine we explained we didn't include it on these exchange weeks, thinking he would understand. He explained to us pompously that they treat all their guests the same. This is interesting as it turns out their guests get nothing and would also have to pay for most utilities as an extra except at certain times of the year when some are included. Except if you are an exchange guest, you pay for every single unit. Interesting interpretation of treating everyone the same?

The fire. Prior to their arrival, she telephoned us and asked lots of questions. She asked if the fire could be lit for their arrival. We explained it wasn't something we did for any of our guests. We went on to say that as we have six and eight year old children that we collect from school and go onto swimming club, it just isn't possible. Not content with this response he then sent an email asking for the fire to be lit, to which we repeated our response. Even if we did light the fire for guests, we don't understand how we could have, as we were out collecting our children at the point of their arrival? The heating was on at 24 degrees and the cottage was very warm, so we really can't understand why this is such an issue?

Just to give you an idea as to the sort of petty spitefully people we are talking about here, we were shocked, but not surprised to find a very unpleasant comment in our visitors book. The first in six years. But no! That's not all, not content with leaving their list of factually incorrect complaints and unpleasantness they then numbered every page by hand so as to make it obvious if we remove it.

We are not writing this response to these people, we don't want to waste our breath. The exchange company spoke with them, we were told he was pompous, rude and spoke all over her. But we do hope that you will understand that this is clearly not a correct review of our property. Our other reviews are proof of that.

Adrian & Louise Croome
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurgita7
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely location and very well equiped cottage with warm welcome”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed with young children and could not ask for anything more than it have been already provided by owners. Lovely welcome pack, warm and cosy cottage, nice views (even if it was raining half of our stay!) and plenty entertainment for children (indoor games, books, outdoors ponnies, dog and hens). We asked for BBQ and had it done in the middle of January!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2014
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Secluded, serene and idyllic escape into the English countryside”
Reviewed 14 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

When booking a holiday cottage for the first time it is always a leap in the dark that the property meets all one's criteria but I have to say this one did. Situated in the village of Ford, Staffs, its rural location is ideal for those who want to escape 'the fast lane'. The cottage is well-appointed with each bedroom having an en suite bathroom, 2 with showers and 1 with a bath. But it is the location that grabbed us. Secluded and serene except for birdsong and farmyard noises. Yet, with 5-10 mins you are well on the way to Ashbourne or Leek. We used it as a base to explore the Peak District but it is also just 7 miles from Alton Towers if that is one of your holiday tasks.
Add to this the personable yet respectful nature of the owners and their young family, a brilliant week of English weather, and we found this one of the best UK holidays we have been on for a long time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rural farmyard setting & friendliness of the owners
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2013
Thank you so glad you had great weather for your week too. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C
Hambleton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Peace on Earth”
Reviewed 13 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

If you're looking for peace and quiet, look no further!!!!! The cottage is very well equipped, very comfortable and set in beautiful surroundings. We couldn't have asked for any better. If you're like us and wanted to totally relax, there is even the bonus of no mobile phone signal. Heaven!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and the setting.
Liked least: No dislikes
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie S
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect place for beautiful scenery, seclusion and tranquility”
Reviewed 20 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My Husband and I were hoping to have a few days away in peaceful tranquility with our 2 Dogs, and that is what we had. The surrounding scenery was beautiful and we found some great walks with the dogs. You do need a car to travel to local facilities as it is quite secluded and you although there is Wi-Fi and Internet access, we couldn't get a signal on the Mobile, we didn't mind that though. The Hosts were very welcoming and friendly and had added nice touches on our arrival such as leaving Eggs from their own Hens, Chocolates, Wine and a very welcome pint of Milk. The Cottage is nicely decorated and again nice touches in the bedrooms with cushions on the beds and liquid soap and hand moisturiser. The Owners animals are delightful and include 2 miniature Horses, Dogs and Hens. We had a lovely time and would stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation and scenery surrounding the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing