We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent place, great for wildlife spotting!”
other travellers have booked this property
KI Ecopia Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
KI Ecopia Retreat
Master bedroom Ensuite bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
KI Ecopia Retreat
Master bedroom
Ensuite bathroom
Private deck accessed from the master bedroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Stunning views at breakfast time!
Twin Bedroom
Fully equipped kitchen
Entrance to KI Ecopia Retreat
Stunning views from the deck at KI Ecopia Retreat
Stunning views from the deck at KI Ecopia Retreat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Seddon, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AbuOb
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent place, great for wildlife spotting!”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a fantastic time at KI Ecopia. It was very spacious and comfortable. Superb living area and kitchen. We stayed in winter but the log fire was excellent in keeping us warm. Was one of the higlights of our trip around Australia!

The wildlife was excellent, the children and my wife in particular loved watching those Kangaroos! We also saw echidna's and wallabies around the house. So nice and peaceful. We would definitely love to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AussieClo...
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Quiet, Private, Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Ecopia retreat is very central to everything you want to see and do on Kangaroo Island. The modern house is set in beautiful, quiet, private surroundings and is immaculate and cosy with big picture windows with views all round. The house is solar powered so there is no microwave and it's on a dirt road but many roads are dirt. We didn't find this an issue. The kangaroos came close to the house at dusk and we also saw echidnas and Eagles on the property. There is a river and lagoon if you feel like going for a walk. Highly reccomend a stay at Ecopia Retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the serenity, the high standard of the house.
Liked least: No microwave, the steps a little were steep for an older person.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J T
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Pristine huge property in the KI heartlands. Amazing wildlife including kestrels, echidnas, kangaroos, wallabies, possums, ducks and other lagoon fauna. A real treasure. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilya42
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A favorite and most special place and location on our 1 month long trip to Australia bar none”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We typically prefer staying at modern hotels and not in self contained accommodation but Ki Ecopia Retreat is changing our minds.

The house is unbelievable, the dark hardwood floors, fireplace, 3 bedroom, a full kitchen with gas stove as well as a dishwasher is great but having in a location that is off the grid in the middle of Kangaroo island where power is supplied via Solar or generator, and all water is collected from the rain is amazing.

The view to the property is stunning, instruction to get were very detailed and easy to follow and we go our key very easily. It was an amazing feeling to say in the middle of wilderness but with all comforts of home. Kangaroo Island is truly a special part of Australia and we loved it. When we stayed in May it was a bit too cold but it did not interfere with us enjoying the island. We thought the amount of firewood provided was not sufficient for three days, if you need more just call, it could also be because we are not used to using fireplace. Also the salt was running out. Minor quibbles, really it is amazing to have such a place in the wilderness and was a highlight of our trip.

All in all an amazing place to stay, walking around the house, the property is huge and very beautiful. The road is not surfaced but in very good shape (even after heavy rain), so driving is not an issue (we had an SUV and if you drive a lot on not surfaced roads it is much better).

The price that we paid for this heaven in the wilderness is a great deal and is quite frankly a bargain.

Highly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landcruis...
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Spacious pristine property”
Reviewed 18 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

This amazing spacious home offers everything the decerning holiday maker could desire. Set in the centre of KI it reflects every thing that is great about the Aussie bush native flora and fauna A great spot with lots of SPACE.
We loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing