We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great authentic Sunday lunch in a beautiful old building”
Review of Garibaldi

Garibaldi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$136
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a classic Sunday lunch with 4 appetizers, pasta, meat and dessert. The kids enjoyed pasta dishes. The raviola was a bit bland, otherwise all other dishes were excellent including scallopine, and mint panna cotta. Service was friendly and attentive.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Having eaten here before a second trip with accommodation was even better. The set dinner follows seasonal trends and the wine list reflects the regions best.

The warm welcome from the owners and waking up in the apartment allowed the view to be enjoyed alone.

The fully stocked kitchen in the apartment is perfect for cooking food from the local markets before getting ready for dinner.

We look forward to returning.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Arushardw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We had been searching for a restaurant in the area around Asti for a truffle (tartufo) based meal. Garibaldi was mentioned numerous times and the reviews I saw on TripAdvisor and elsewhere were just about all positive with some 30 "Average" out of 288, 8 Poor and Terrible, 145 Very Good and 105 Excellent.

With that impressive set of Reviews a visit was something we had to organize.
(some reviewers were very caustic about their pricing which is not published and their menus are a bit enigmatic from that standpoint). This is not the first time we have come across a restaurant that does not push their pricing in your face. That said, we had asked for Tartufi (Truffles) and the owner came to our table with a jar of them and an electronic scale. The wonderful odor we smelled when he opened the jar was truly amazing. He claimed that these truffles were locally picked which may well be true. So he placed some truffles on the scale and then said 42 grams which meant about 8 grams per person (there were 8 of us). The additional Cost was Euros 15 per person. In view of the rip offs we have experienced for truffles in some other places that pricing was fine. The owner left those truffles on our table.

The owner then told us that we would be served 2 dishes on which the truffles would be grated: warm cheese covered eggs and hand made tagliolini. Both were excellent by Piedmont standards. In other parts of Italy the tagliolini would have been less dry.
Before that as appetizers we ate anchovies in tomato sauce and Robiola with ground hazelnuts. Home made grissini and excellent bread.

Then came the fritto misto. I have read some horror stories about this specific dish written by other patrons of Garibaldi. Either they annoyed the restaurant owner or they had another restaurant in mind. I won't say that the Fritto Misto was "to die for" because I don't use that kind of hyperbole. The quantity, variety and quality was outstanding.
Enough said.

Their wine (bottled under the Vaudano brand which is the last name of the hotel/restaurant owners) is called Dragone. It is made using an unusual grape called Croatina. This wine resembles non fizzy Bonarda from Piedmont which is not to be confused with the OltrePo variety.

Desert was home made ice cream covered with "mosto" (a creamy syrupy not too sweet by product of wine production). Their desert vine was Berbit (once upon a time called Brachetto) which was very good.

A fine lunch with no after effects. We went for a refreshing walk afterwards, bought some bottles of wine in a couple of wine cellars and then drove 240 km back to Milan. No headaches or other unpleasant after effects. A truly pleasant meal that we reckon merits a second visit.

We have no affiliation with the owners and are not "friends" as somebody mentioned was a requirement in a scathing review.

Our experience was very positive and deserves to be shared with other potential patrons..

Including the cost of the truffles we paid Euros 50 per person. We consider this price to be very reasonable and noteworthy.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cho10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

We have been there more than 3 times, 2 times with 2 overnight stay and dinner in the hotel and one only for dinner with a group of friends. We had a pleasent stay, the room with a small sitting plance infront was wonderful. The food was excellent, we have given this address to lots of friends and will be back soon. Lovely place to be.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Nuhch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

This restaurant was for us not a good experience. They do not list their prices, so we can decide how much we want to spend or how much we want to eat. I tried to communicate this to the boss, telling him I did not like surprises. He seemed to be quite accommodating, saying it would be OK. It wasn't. When it came time to pay the bill it was a surprise - 50 Euros plus 10 for the wine(not bad). We never had any idea how to make a selection. I objected, to no avail. It was like he had our money, which I think is the plan from the outset. If the food had been good, it would have been more acceptable. With the exception of one serving of Ravioli, about everything was a disappointment.Previous reviews had suggested this was some sort gastronomic paradise. Remarks like"best food in Piemonte" or "Vitello tonnato to die for" promised something special. It was ok, but nothing at all special. A serving of Tagliatele Ragu was reheated, overcooked pasta(forget 'al dente') served with a mediocre sauce on a cold bowl. It wasn't tagliatele either. The fritto misto was a couple of pre-cooked pieces of meat deep fried and not much of that either,. Some of the food at neighboring tables looked better.(Seemed to be served to friends of the boss).
We had many meals in Italy this week and they were all good and reasonably priced. This place was neither. It was like the Italy of 20 years ago when deception was commonplace. I definitely recommend this place be avoided unless you are friends or family of the boss. Do not be deceived by the friendly demeanor of the host. Otherwise, you are just fair game. Caveat emptor.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garibaldi also viewed

San Damiano d'Asti, Province of Asti
 
Govone, Province of Cuneo
San Damiano d'Asti, Province of Asti
 
Cisterna d'Asti, Province of Asti
Vascagliana, San Damiano d'Asti
 

Been to Garibaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing