We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Complete tranquility in fantastic location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Eaton Mascott, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
peter w
1 review
“Complete tranquility in fantastic location”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My girlfriend booked this cottage as a total retreat and escape from the city. It was utterly gorgeous. Lovely garden, spectacular views. I had a dinner outside in the garden and could see the country for miles. A home from home. The barn was very clean and tidy. You could sleep like a top with a babbling brook running quietly outside the window. It was like going back in time with horses and traps trotting by. Cath, the owner, was very helpful and could not help us enough, even inviting us to a village party. Pubs nearby were great. Walking terrific. A real find.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotlanta2...
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful!”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We recently had the misfortune to book this cottage. Very poorly maintained and dubious cleanliness.........thick with dog hairs on the living area carpet, dog hairs on the bedding, greasy cupboard doors in the kitchen, everything felt old and tired.
Heating on full on a warm summers evening and unable to turn it off (the owner suggested running the hot water taps!)
We checked out after an hour or so, having explained our disappointment, and are still awaiting the remainder of our refund.
Its a real shame as the location is fabulous and the cottage could be great with a little attention to the fixtures, fittings and cleaning.
This is the first time in nearly 20 years of renting that we have felt the need to post negative comments.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Hoga...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Fantastic cottage for dog owners!”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Willow Brook Barn is in a beautiful location just tucked under the Longmynd in Shopshire. We were initially a little worried about staying in a cottage that is in the gardens of the owner, but Cath was absolutely brilliant. She was relaxed, friendly and good humoured as our three dogs ran about the garden. She also knows all the best pubs for dinner!

The cottage is a great size and very comfortable (with wifi so I could work if needed) and is perfect for dog owners.

The only thing that would have been nice is some larger bath towels but this is a minor quibble.

Also be aware if your dog likes sheep Shropshire is full of them. We bought a great book called 'Shropshire a dog walkers guide ' by Judy Smith which was brilliant at pointing out the best and safest dog walks in the area.

A great place for a holiday!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marian B
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem with the most spectacular views!”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014

What an amazing country lovers dream. Being dog friendly and right at the base of the Long Mynd this really is fabulous walking territory or simply a quiet retreat wether you take the kids or not there is loads to do. With a log burner and all amenities you could need, it would be hard not to feel right at home. There is a great pub in the village which does traditional country pub grub from Shropshire grown produce, which is delicious. Catherine was a warm and helpful hostess and nothing was too much trouble. The only problem we had was that I didn't book it for longer.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marian w
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“SHROPSHIRES MOST BEAUTIFUL AREA”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Staying at willow brook Barn was just what was needed. a beautiful shropshire location with friendy people where ever we went.
the barn was perfect with two bedrooms. the master room was quiet and comfortable which was hard to get out of because it was so easy to sleep in.With only the noise of the stream running by the barn to listern to when we woke up. The living room and kitchen are open plan so we could talk and relax together in the morning.
The owner Cath was a perfect host, supplying a fresh cake and bottle of wine on our arrival. The log burner was something we found very romantic having a real fire on winters nights with loads of logs avalible to keep us warm.
The accomadation we could nt fault and if we needed any extras we had only to ask the owner Cath would could not do enough for us.
The country side was amazing and we lost count of the walks we took over the long myn and cardingmill valley area.
places to eat were everywhere local pubs were friendly and warm to us and in the end it was hard to leave and we are already planning our next visit.

Thank you and see you soon.
the most spectacular being an early morning walk to church stretton and watching the sun come up over the rolling hill sides as far as you could see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the area and locals so beautiful and friendly
Liked least: we had to leave :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing