We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
14
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely home walking the south downs stayed one night the pub breakfast was delicious comfortable bed abergavenny arms lorna
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Whilst walking the South Downs Way we stopped at this warm and welcoming B&B. Lorna was there to meet us at our prearranged time and quickly supplied us with tea and biscuits which were very welcome after a days walk on the South Downs Way. The village also contains Monks House ( the home of Virginia and Leonard Woolf) which is well worth a visit. The ensuite room was clean and comfortable, light and airy.
Breakfast was excellent. Lots of fresh fruit, yoghurt and freshly home baked walnut bread. A cooked breakfast was on offer but declined - you can have too much of a good thing!
The pub - 20 Feet from the B&B serves good pub grub and excellent Harvey’s Sussex best bitter.

A most enjoyable stay with an excellent host.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna M, Owner at 1 Rodmell House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thanks Paul. Glad you were comfortable.... and hope you enjoyed the Eastbourne lap !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

I stayed one night at no 1 Rodmell House whilst completing the South Downs Way - it was the perfect stop off for a tired walker.

Lorna is an excellent host, the rooms are lovely and cosy - such a comfortable bed and the breakfast was great. It really feels like a lovely home.

For those walking the South Downs Way it is very conveniently located, whilst the pub opposite (literally 30 seconds walk from the front door) is also a total delight after covering 20 miles!

I can’t recommend this place enough for its welcome, homely feel, comfort, breakfast, location, convenience and all round great value. I will certainly be back next time I am staying in the area.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank foreverbubbles7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna M, Owner at 1 Rodmell House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Have just seen this..... Thank you !

Trust your legs have recovered from the last lap.....
The SDW was certainly a " Significant" way to use your bonus time.
Hope you feel you benefited and are now settling in to the new job.

Best Wishes


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

Just one room in this lovely home. Comfy bed and all the comforts needed after a 20 mile walk in the snow. The owner could not be any more helpful with great communication, dietary needs, travel. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Situated right opp the Abergervenny pub, everything was really easy and comfortable. Thank you for a great stay and looking after us so well in such treacherous weather.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank stoner30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna M, Owner at 1 Rodmell House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Just seen this..... Thank you !

and... glad you got home safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

The perfect location to end of a long day's hike from Truleigh Hill on the penultimate day of my South Downs Way attempt whilst on a week's holiday away from the farm. A real home from home experience and I was especially touched by Lorna's kindness and hospitality (where else would you get the offer of a cup of tea and a hot bath upon arrival!!?). The room was very comfortable and clean and the breakfast kept me going all the way to Eastbourne. The Abergavenny Arms was within limping distance and provided a delicious steak, chips and soft drink deal for just £12.50 (Thursday's Steak night offer). I really can't recommend this place enough - thank you so much again for having me!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna M, Owner at 1 Rodmell House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Finally got around to checking my reviews..... Thank you for this lovely one.
I take satisfaction from offering people an "oasis" so am delighted you were so comfortable. Here's wishing you some great adventures this coming year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

Stayed here one night while walking the South Downs Way (Pyecombe to Southease leg 14 miles). Very tired on arrival and so was grateful for the hot shower and very comfortable bed. Although in someone's home, we were made to feel welcome. Lorna was very friendly and welcoming and does a great breakfast! Abergavenny Arms opposite serves food for an evening meal.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews