We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
14
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely home walking the south downs stayed one night the pub breakfast was delicious comfortable bed abergavenny arms lorna
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Absolutely excellent place to stay at the foot of the downs on the South Downs Way at Rodmell. The trail ends with a very welcome signpost saying simply 'To the pub' - the pub being the Abergavenny Arms. And 1, Rodmell House is directly opposite.

Lorna couldn't do enough for us - wonderful, comfortable rooms, peace, quiet and general loveliness. Brilliant breakfast freshly cooked to our own specs as well. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely and quiet. Shared bathroom for the smaller single room; en suite for the larger.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Lorna made us feel very welcome and was very accommodating. There was initially supposed to be only two guests but then all three sisters decided to hike the South Downs Way together. Lorna made it work but giving us an extra room! When we indicated we'd like to go into Lewes but were too tired to figure it out, she kindly suggested that she needed groceries and we could tag along. Speaking of groceries, her breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Stayed for 1 night with my son and wife whilst visiting family nearby. We slept in the en suite room which was more than adequate and served its purpose well. This is a B and B used by ramblers primarily and its location is ideal for that purpose. Lorna is a very pleasant hostess and served us a lovely fresh cooked breakfast. Parking somewhat of an issue but I would recommend this house for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank polonaiseWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

I booked a printmaking course for my mum and I at Monk's House and wanted somewhere to stay that was a short walk away. I read the excellent reviews and decided to contact Lorna. Although the double room was taken, she kindly made up a spare bed and we both slept very comfortably in her single room, which looks out on to a little garden- very beautiful. We were made to feel so welcome for our two night stay. The breakfast was a visual delight and really delicious and we left feeling relaxed and pampered. Thank you Lorna!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank am14723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Stayed one night whilst walking the SDW. Lorna was a most attentive host making sure we had everything we needed. The breakfast was out of this world, fresh fruit, home baked bread and sausages that you would mortgage your house for.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carpesnapum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews