We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A hidden treasure in the heart of Tuscany”
other travellers have booked this property
The Villa Rosa Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Villa Rosa Garden
The Cottage Bedroom with attached Bath The Rose Garden and Birdbath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The Villa Rosa Garden
The Cottage Bedroom with attached Bath
The Rose Garden and Birdbath
The Cottage Kitchen
The Serenity Path
The Cottage Dining area and Loft Stairs
The Cottage Sitting Area and Patio Entrance
A view of Sant'Andrea di CompitoVillage
Spring in the Garden
Part of the Villa Gardens
Cottage Cutting Garden
Summer Flower Display
Springtime on the dining patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sant'Andrea di Compito, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Liz G
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure in the heart of Tuscany”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time here, made all the more special by the wonderful owners who made us so welcome, helped to orientate us to the area and other "above and beyond" experiences. The village itself is a real sanctuary especially when returning from a hectic day trip to Florence! The pizzeria, just a 5 minute walk up the drive is not only handy but also serves wonderful food, the soup is a must try! The other breath taking experience is the wonderful garden so tenderly cared for, the colours so vivid and the jasmine so fragrant. No apology needed for rose petals falling in my breakfast one morning - I'm not joking !
All there is left to say is thank you for a holiday to remember!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2014
We had a wonderful week with this lovely couple...morning breakfast chat
and activity planning, and afternoon wine and cheese before a meal at the
pizzeria. They enjoyed the village sights...olive groves, vineyards, and
the neighborhood folks! We will welcome them back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usr1000
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tuscan to the core. Charming. Cosy. Comfortable”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spent our 29th marriage anniversary at The cottage - Il Refugio.
I booked it after looking at scores of rentals. Right from the time I booked, the hosts were super helpful, answering all our questions.

The cottage is attached to a gorgeous Tuscan villa with which it also shares an amazing garden. Although the cottage has its own private walled garden with outside seating.

Right from the little gravel lane leading up to the house to the riot of flowers in the garden, the prima Donna cat momi Lani and the dog and his friends, it is a place worth staying in.

The hosts are wonderful and we spent hours chatting on the patio, under the overhanging wisteria with its lacy blooms filling the air with heady fragrance. Bill is most helpful with local sights and things yo do. His driving instructions are dead on.
We would want yo hotmail back again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and the hosts
Liked least: Wi fi access is good not great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2014
A wonderful couple here for a short visit...very well traveled, we
were very impressed with their knowledge of the area...we would welcome
them back anytime...just fun to be with, and a joy to spend "wine time"
talking about their travels. They helped make our week a perfect one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turnerj09
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This lovely cottage is in a perfect spot for a break from a busy life. The views from around the village are spectacular so strolling nearby is a pleasure. The many hill towns are definitely worth a visit. Volterra and San Gimignano make a full day out and it is also well worth another day travelling north to Barga and Castelnuovo. And then, of course, there is Lucca and Florence. A tip - don't try to drive around Lucca when the comic fair is on!!
The cottage itself is charming. It feels very private whilst still located at the heart of the local community - a five minute walk to the hospitable local restaurant, Bill and John are welcoming and friendly hosts who really add value to the Tuscany experience.
We were invited to see the B and B section of this lovely villa and found this to be equally as charming.
A brilliant find.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: tranquility
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2013
These great guests took the few days of rainy weather right in stride...
and made the most of the sunny ones. Their explorations took them to many of the local sights, and to some distant places, also. We think they saw more of the village than we have...it was olive harvest time
and they enjoyed seeing the preparations both in the groves and at the
frantoio...the olive mill near the Cottage...we would welcome them back
any time...they were lovely guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion M
Princeville, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The quintessential Italian experience”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This was a return visit for us. We love this beautiful Italian home and garden created and hosted by the warm and caring owners. It is nestled in a tiny Tuscan village surrounded by nature. The home was once a monastery and is decorated with beautiful antiques. It is spotlessly clean. The only problem is the bed is so comfortable you may find yourself sleeping in instead of getting up and exploring all the wonderful sights nearby! Be sure to take some walks through the village and hike in the hills nearby. Lucca is a beautiful city nearby and the train will take you to Florence, Pisa, and to the Cinque Terra. You will feel completely spoiled by the owners and never want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view from our room and the sound of the village church bells
Liked least: having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2013
Our dear friends from across the sea have been coming to Il Rifugio for
several years now. We enjoy their company, and usually spend time with
them touring around the area, finding new places to visit. It's a great
break for us...they have to be careful, however, as before they know it,
Italy will work its magic spell and they won't leave. We certainly hope so!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrie T
Lenexa, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful escape from reality, in the hills of Tuscany!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from our vacation, never wanted to leave. If you are looking for an old world escape, this is it. The area is quaint. The cottage is rustic. I will just repeat the rave reviews of previous guests! John and Bill are amazing hosts, they love what they are doing and it shines through. They were always available with directions and tips. The local restaurant has amazing food, at a fraction of the big city costs. My husband would walk to the local bakery for incredible focaccia and croissants. Two tips: Get there before its dark the first time and as someone else noted, the cottage is down the lane between signs 13 and 15- this is very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts!
Liked least: I had to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2013
This lovely couple enjoyed a morning walk to the bakery on the hill
every morning. They really enjoyed the area, and met the guests
staying in our B&B next door...they joined us for wine and cheese
around the fireplace in the evening. We enjoyed meeting them very much, and hope they return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing