We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful break”

Review of Woodfarm Barn

Luxurious Suffolk Barns, some with Hot Tubs. Check website for details
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxurious Suffolk Barns, some with Hot Tubs. Check website for details
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
301 reviews
Luxurious Suffolk Barns, some with Hot Tubs. Check website for details
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stonham Aspal, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 301 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul S
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful break”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We booked Stour Barn for a short break in May. We took our two dogs with us for the first time and although the reviews were vey good, you are never sure what awaits.
We need not have worried, Carl was very welcoming and explained all the amenities and sorrounding area, and made us feel at home. The breakfast basket was excellent, the enclosed garden was perfect for our dogs and the new garden room was a bonus. Carl even ensured great weather. All we wanted was a relaxing break and walks for our dogs this was perfect. The quality of the Barns cannot be faulted and we will return next year to explore the local area more, this time with a hot tub!
Paul and Lorraine Summerfield

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of accommodation and the peaceful location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2016
Thank you guys! Such a lovely review and I'm so pleased you realised that weather was down to me!!! Look forward to seeing you next year :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant stay at Gipping Barn, Woodfarm Barns”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016


Absolutely wonderful holiday at Woodfarm Barns in early April. We stayed at Gipping Barn for a 4 night stay and loved it. Our dogs loved it too, loads of space, a secure fenced garden with great smells in the gardens to explore, and really well setup for dogs, hard floors in the cottage etc. 

The greeting basket of local produce was very welcome with lovely bacon, bread, eggs, butter, milk, fruit and veg, and jams. Everything you would need is provided such as coffee, tea, sugar, washing up liquid and cleaning cloths which is really rare when we stay away in self catering cottages, and saves a lot of unnecessary purchases. Kitchen is well laid out with a good oven, hob and fridge.

The hot tub is amazing, the host Carl explains everything on arrival and it's a brilliant way to wind down after a long day walking the beaches, fields and woods of Suffolk. We loved it. Plastic glasses are provided for a little alcoholic treat in the bubbles, it's hot, steamy and very very nice. 

Everything is laid out very well in the cottage with a nice bathroom, sizeable kitchen, decent TV and DVD player. The games room provides a massive choice of DVDs, books and games to use during your stay which is great, and shows how much thought has gone into these cottages. 

The cottage complex is quiet, off the beaten track down a lane near Crowfield, so you couldn't get anymore remote and peaceful. We spent our week travelling to see Aldeburgh, Southwold, Adnams Brewry Tour, Woodbridge, Sutton Hoo, Suffolk Owl Sanctuary and Thorpeness. 

Carl is a great host, greeting you with all the info you would need for the week ahead then leaving you alone until check out day to make sure you've enjoyed yourselves and gleaning any feedback. 

In summary, it was brilliant, we can't wait to return. 

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Wow, thank you! I can't ask for better feedback than that! Hope to see you guys again soon then. Thank you so much :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlaracer
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautifully relaxing”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just returned from a lovely break in Stour Barn. Right from the start, Carl was very friendly and welcoming and obviously very proud of the set up (and rightly so!) My dog, Darcy and I had a wonderfully relaxing time. The barn was stunning and situated in a beautifully landscaped shared garden and with it's own enclosed garden (complete with lovely outdoor "room') which Darcy loved having a sniff around. I just wish it had been warmer so I could have used it more.

Despite the rather random weather (one minute bright sunshine, the next snow!) the barn was wonderfully warm and cosy with the underfloor heating. I only used the wood burner on one night, just to have a go! and it has every possible amenity you might require including a delicious breakfast hamper.

Despite there being so much to do in the area (which is very easy to find in the info binder helpfully provided and on the wheredowe website) the place was so comfortable I struggled to actually leave every day!

All in all the perfect place to wind down and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Liked least: Bed was a bit too soft for me
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2016
Ah thank you so much! Really pleased you and Darcy enjoyed yourselves :-) Hope to be seeing you again sometime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A relaxing gem in the heart of Suffolk”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed in Alde barn for 4 nights at the end of March and can't recommend the place enough. The pride with which Carl looks after the place and his guests is obvious from the moment we arrived. He is such a friendly and helpful chap. Not intrusive, he strikes just the right balance. The barm was spotless and had all the amenities you could want. The bedroom is on a mezzanine level above the lounge in the eaves which makes for a really cosy retreat. We found the underfloor heating to be more than ample so we didn't actually need the wood burner at all, it was plenty warm enough - although we did strike it lucky with a few fairly mild days. The location is peaceful and quiet with lovely walks from the door around the mid Suffolk countryside, very unspoilt by mass development and tourism. It was a treat to be away from London and the hordes of Londoners cramming onto Tubes and buses! The hamper of provisions provided as a welcome is more that enough to start you off and there are ample cooking supplies and crockery etc for self catering, although there is plentiful local information in the barn and on the website to find things to do and places to eat nearby. The wifi is a bonus, although we shouldn't really have used it as we were supposed to be 'getting away from it all'. I celebrated my birthday while we were there and getting some much needed good news about my health while we were there certainly added to the sense of peace and relaxation. We will definitely be back (hopefully when the weather is just a little warmer so that we can enjoy the private outside space around the barn) and have already mentioned it to friends with dogs who struggle to find good self catering accommodation. We didn't take advantage of the free bikes that can be borrowed - maybe next time. The only thing to look out for with this barn is the bathroom is on the ground floor and the window faces directly onto the central 'farmyard', so the curtain needs to stay closed to protect your dignity, but that's a very minor issue when the rest of the place is so good!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: The bathroom window
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
What a lovely, comprehensive review! Thank you so much. It was great to meet you guys and I'm glad that you had such a good time! Look forward to seeing you again :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley176...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic place to stay can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was our 2nd time here and we were not disappointed. Fantastic place. The barn was clean, fresh and as welcoming as the 1st time. We have 2 dogue de bordeauxs and they are at home here too. Its a great place to make your base as the is plenty to do within a short drive.
Carl is a great host is on call if you need him, and makes you feel at home when you arrive.
we are already planning our next vist.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Thank you so much! Lovely to see you guys again so I look forward to the next time :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing