We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing "off-the-beaten path" Location!”
other travellers have booked this property
A good view of both houses, from the beach.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A good view of both houses, from the beach.
The 2-bedroom house is in the foreground. The 1 bedroom is on the left. Hammocks in between. The one-bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
A good view of both houses, from the beach.
The 2-bedroom house is in the foreground. The 1 bedroom is on the left. Hammocks in between.
The one-bedroom
Horse ride on the beach. This is the view from the house.
A good wave in front of Casa de Portugales.
Beach front house, the 2-bedroom.
The bedroom at the 1-bedroom house.
The kitchen at the 2-bedroom house.
The living room at the 1-bedroom house.
The living room at the two bedroom house.
Jiquilillo is a fishing village.
This is a dorado, but you have to go offshore.
Fun waves in front of the houses at first light.
Releasing turtles in Jiquilillo for the turtles project.
A nice sunset in front of the houses.
A beautiful shot of the beach in Jiquilillo.
Beach front house
Just a pretty a shot!
Horse ride on the beach
Shopping fresh fruit in the market in Chinandega.
A nice shot of the boats in  in Jiquilillo, five minutes walk from the houses, down the beach.
Horse ride on the beach
Come ride with us! We rent horses.
Horse running down the beach.
Horse ride on the beach
Horse ride on the beach
Come and enjoy a fresh fish.
Nice fish on the line.
A nice ride in the mangroves on a boat, on the estuary.
Bodhi Portugal getting a good one at Aserradores Point
Bodhi Portugal getting a good one at Aserradores Point
Bodhi Portugal getting a good one at Aserradores Point
Bodhi Portugal getting a good one at Aserradores Point
Bodhi Portugal getting a good one at Aserradores Point
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Jiquilillo, Chinandega Department

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lvalcourt
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing "off-the-beaten path" Location!”
Reviewed 23 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

These houses are just steps away from a remote-location beach! We only rented one of the houses (the two bedroom) and it was just what our family of 5 needed. There was someone staying in the other house at the same time, but the houses are separate enough that we never really saw or heard them. The house has ample sleeping arrangements, which was what we needed. The living and dining area are together and not huge, but adequate - we spent our time on the patio outside. There were outdoor chairs and hammocks. The caretaker was very attentive. Bodhi, the owners' son came to meet us the morning after we arrived to answer any questions and help us out with activities, etc. We rented surfboards from him and he found us an instructor for our three boys. We also booked horse backing riding on the beach with his horses - awesome experience and very well-priced. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay and should have stayed longer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gd0t
vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, tired houses”
Reviewed 6 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We spent 5 days here and to be honest the houses are super run down and not really rental-ready. We had to ask Bodhi and Sarita for a long list of items (curtains so I could change in the bedroom, mosquito nets, water dispensers, etc). Day 2 they turned our room into a construction zone and we never really figured out why- something to do with the door-but we all wondered why this couldn't have happened before our arrival. Everyone was pleasant to deal with and the location can't be beat as there is surf right out the door. And the houses were nice in their day, but now are just run down and poorly managed from afar. You're basically paying for the location and not much else here. But for that alone it gets 3 stars. Jiquilillo is a lovely little village with very friendly people and delicious fish. Kids had a blast on the horses and releasing turtles. Adults played in the waves every day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
20now40
Wilmington, NC
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“LOVED this Place!!”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for a comfortable place to stay while in the very small fishing village of Jiquillio then Casa De Portugales is the place! We loved it here and wished we would have stayed longer. It was great to rent the surfboards for the week so we could just use them when we wanted. The kitchen has everything you will need, its clean, and well appointed. The owners arranged a ride from the airport which also took us to a large grocery store in a nearby town so we could get provisions for the week. I suggest planning your meals ahead of time and make a shopping list. Fresh fruits and vegetables could be purchased off trucks that roll through town every other day or so. Some small things like sweet drinks and junk food can be purchased at nearby stores run out of family homes. We started in the 2 bedroom house (we have 2 teenagers) but switched to the one bedroom. The one bedroom has a great vibe: color scheme, floor to ceiling windows, privacy, a patio with seating....it was really great. The kids slept in the bedroom and my husband and I had the double bed in the living room which was fine. The beds were pretty comfortable. Jiquillio is very small with no public services (trash, water) so be prepared for that! Water is delivered by truck and the caretaker who is always on site takes care of everything and is happy to help. The property is clean but the area itself has a LOT of trash everywhere. There is good food at Rancho Esperanza and descent food at Cafe Pacifico. We arranged a beach horse riding trip and a fishing trip through Bodhi which was really great. The surf was good for beginners with a nice sandy bottom. Spend a day observing the tides to see whats up. My daughter and I had boogie boards which was perfect. Its extremely hot in Jiquillio so plan to have siesta time every afternoon to get through it. Hammocks on the property are lovely and the fans in the house are an absolute necessity. I cant say enough about the beach! We had it practically to ourselves and of course the Pacific sunsets are amazing. To the north is the town and the fishing boats which are very interesting to watch being launched. To the south it is completely undeveloped and goes on for miles. This area of the beach is surprisingly clean! And to the north beyond the town is also quite deserted and clean as well. This house and Jiquillio is definitely a place we would like to go back to and I would recommend it for anyone who wants to have extreme relaxation and be way off the Gringo Trail .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Remote area, the beach, the huge windows and patio
Liked least: The heat and the flies
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Uncrowded Surf, Beautiful Sunsets, Warm Water, Great Accommodations!”
Reviewed 3 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the 1 bedroom and it was perfect for the two of us. It would hold 4. The architectural design was beautiful! Perfect set up! The portugals (Bodhi the son) set up a driver for us, to and from the airport. Albero, Thank you! We were there to relax and surf. We got both! My husband had the surf practically to himself ( except for a couple local shredders, once in awhile) we found beautiful Argots and shells on the beach. Take some "Off" for the mosquitos. Shop in Chinindego for all of your needs before you arrive to the Casa Potugal. Jiquilillo has some eggs, beer, rum, some chicken, and some fruit and veggies. Jose was very helpful to us in finding these things. He was great! He got us fresh fish and it was cleaned for a great price!We were there for almost a month and had the fresh fish at least every other day. Delicious! Joses' wife cleaned our place once a week for about $7us. Relaxing! The hammocks were the strongest we've ever layed our tired bodies in, and we even fell asleep a few times. The people were all sweet and innocent and hard workers. It was very humblingPeter and Sue were very helpful with all of our questions that we had. We would consider renting both houses sometime and bring our grown kids, they would love it here, as we did! Very enjoyable vacation!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review. And I looking for to meeting you soon. Bodhi.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVTravele...
Mission Viejo, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Four Amazing Summers Here”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My sons (15 and 13) and I have spent the last four summers renting this house (usually for a month). The house is exactly as Sue describes, and the caretaker Jose and his family make the visit extra special. We spend most of our time on the beautiful patio enjoying amazing views and the company of the local kids. We hope our summer tradition continues and highly recommend Casa Portugal to couples, families, or anyone looking to travel off the beaten track in a warm and welcoming Nicaraguan town.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2016
Thanks for coming down every year. We enjoy your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing