We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
StayForLong
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
18
12
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
18
12
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fantastic location full kitchen comfortable beds across the road ray motel sleep tv unit nz accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2020

We (three Whakatane senior trampers) stayed at the Ariki for the nights before and after a few nights in the Tararua bush country. We appreciated the friendly reception and always prompt service by Ray, and loved the well appointed unit including fresh coffee, the washing and drying facilities on site, as well as the ample parking space. Ray let us park our car on site while we were away tramping. The motel is very close to the centre of town with a brewery / pub just across the road. The room was spotlessly clean.

Room tip: Let Ray know your preferences and he will do his best to make it happen.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jost-Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 November 2020 via mobile

Love this motel - warm welcome and easy access parking which isn’t something we have found on our jaunt around NZ in the Chev. Beautifully clean, older style unit but immaculate - unlike our tired, shabby rooms at the Brentwood in Kilbirnie last night which were similar vintage but no comparison. A guest Laundry, pegs and clothesline in the sunshine. We were tempted by the inviting pool but this is still Wellington and not quite Summertime yet. The grounds and gardens are very nice and the tuis are flitting about. It has been interesting to stay at many smaller places this trip and experience such great hospitality and apart from our Brentwood experience we have discovered some true kiwi gems well worth coming back to.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TriciaCx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 October 2020

Ariki Lodge is close to the train and bus routes and less than a 2 minute walk to restaurants and supermarkets. My room was clean and tidy,water pressure was good, and the surroundings were really pretty. Thanks for the hospitality, team!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank HelloKiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 June 2020

Nice friendly people running this motel. We had a unit with a queen bed and a single for our daughter. Lovely comfy room with good kitchen facilities and tv for rugby :). Very close proximity to food and supermarkets for dinner and breakfast. Had a good quiet nights sleep before heading back on the road. Would have been happy if it was longer but not this time. Would definately come again. Thanks guys.

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TripleGee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 November 2019 via mobile

Very very spacious apartment which was lovely. We stayed in the 1 bedroom apartment. Basic accomodation but super clean and had everything we needed. Very comfortable beds. Nice full kitchen. Fast and easy checkin and checkout. Trampoline for the kids and lovely garden. Super helpful owner. Fantastic location, quiet, and 2-5 minute walk to train station into Wellington, restaurants, grocery store. Great base to explore Kāpiti coast and take trips into Wellington. We will definitely come back!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ninex92
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews