We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dave T
Cambridge, New Zealand

New Owners Same Great Stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Mar 2024via mobile
Returning here after a few years found still a great place clean and tidy with friendly new owners.
Now much quieter with new motorway bypass.
Not a new motel by any means but comfortable with all the neccesities required for self contained etc.
Most enjoyable.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Motel Room Frontage
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.9 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
    2.9 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
    Restaurant
    Room service
      1.3 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
      $155
      Fully refundable
      No prepayment needed
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
      • Priceline
      5.7 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
      Free parking
      $150
      Fully refundable
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Expedia.com
        $150
      6.9 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      $170
      Fully refundable
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
      • Expedia.com
        $170
      7.3 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      • Agoda.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        $181
      • Priceline
      7.5 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        $167
      • Expedia.com
        $184
      7.5 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Waikanae
      Reviews (104)
      Filter reviews
      104 results
      Traveller rating
      50
      41
      7
      3
      3
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      50
      41
      7
      3
      3
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      1 - 6 of 104 reviews
      Reviewed 21 January 2024

      Very well run Motel in an area preferred by families for holidays. Frances and her staff have created a relaxed atmosphere for guests. Rooms are comfortable and well stocked with the basics. The Motel was full during my visit, quiet and with a good sleep quality. The owners deserve success with this venture.

      Date of stay: December 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled solo
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      2  Thank Sightseer30452080578
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 13 July 2023 via mobile

      On arrival we found check in was easy and staff were friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations. The room was extremely clean. Only recommendation would be black out curtains as room was light as soon as daybreak. Had an upstairs studio room, dated but perfectly fine

      Date of stay: July 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank 77elainep
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 2 December 2022

      This was a very convenient motel, close to Charles Fleming Retirement Village as well handy to shops, but was a lot smaller than we had expected. It was clean and comfortable, but with a queen and a single bed in the room, it would have been difficult to swing a cat in. Another short-coming was the absence of a table.
      The hosts were friendly and efficient, but we thought the continental breakfasts @ $16.00/head were a bit steep.
      Nobody had warned us about the proximity of the railway, though admittedly, we were not really aware of the trains after 11.00pm, but it would have been nice be forewarned.

      Date of stay: November 2022
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank MurrayLennox
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 4 January 2021

      This was a great place to stay, accommodating and friendly hosts.
      We were able to check in early, to an upstairs unit which was very roomy, clean and had a comfortable bed. Close to the shopping centre.

      Date of stay: December 2020
        • Sleep Quality
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank rah345
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 13 January 2020 via mobile

      Stayed here for work recently, and was very satisfied. The owners were really nice, and I thought the place had a good feel to it. I've stayed in a lot of motels for work, and this is one of the best I've stayed at. Unlimited wifi is pretty handy too!

      Date of stay: January 2020
      Trip type: Travelled on business
      Thank Hoopergold
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2020

      Thank you for the great feed back. We love a happy guest and are glad you enjoyed your stay.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews