We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
River127

Clean and tidy

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Jul 2023via mobile
On arrival we found check in was easy and staff were friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations. The room was extremely clean. Only recommendation would be black out curtains as room was light as soon as daybreak. Had an upstairs studio room, dated but perfectly fine
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$307
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $334
  • Agoda.com
1.9 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
$113
    1.3 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
    Rather cramped bedroom space.
    $187
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
      $189
    • Priceline
      $203
    • Hotels.com
      $189
    0.0 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $759
    • Expedia.com
      $722
    • Vio.com
      $638
    • Hotels.com
      $768
    4.0 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Living room
    $138
    • Priceline
      $150
    • Agoda.com
    4.6 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
    Bar/Lounge
    $143
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
      $155
    • Priceline
      $155
    • Hotels.com
      $155
    5.7 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
    Free parking
    Cozy Sleep Area with Cough and Bed with Electric Blanket for Cold Nights
    $176
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
      $158
    • Agoda.com
      $146
    • StayForLong
    6.9 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $170
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
      $170
    • Hotels.com
      $170
    • Tripadvisor
      $170
    7.3 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $186
    • Priceline
      $175
    • Agoda.com
      $164
    • Trip.com
    7.5 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $179
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
      $171
    • Vio.com
      $162
    • Priceline
      $179
    7.5 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Waikanae
    Reviews (104)
    Filter reviews
    104 results
    Traveller rating
    50
    41
    7
    3
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    50
    41
    7
    3
    3
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    3 - 8 of 104 reviews
    Reviewed 2 December 2022

    This was a very convenient motel, close to Charles Fleming Retirement Village as well handy to shops, but was a lot smaller than we had expected. It was clean and comfortable, but with a queen and a single bed in the room, it would have been difficult to swing a cat in. Another short-coming was the absence of a table.
    The hosts were friendly and efficient, but we thought the continental breakfasts @ $16.00/head were a bit steep.
    Nobody had warned us about the proximity of the railway, though admittedly, we were not really aware of the trains after 11.00pm, but it would have been nice be forewarned.

    Date of stay: November 2022
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank MurrayLennox
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 4 January 2021

    This was a great place to stay, accommodating and friendly hosts.
    We were able to check in early, to an upstairs unit which was very roomy, clean and had a comfortable bed. Close to the shopping centre.

    Date of stay: December 2020
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank rah345
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 January 2020 via mobile

    Stayed here for work recently, and was very satisfied. The owners were really nice, and I thought the place had a good feel to it. I've stayed in a lot of motels for work, and this is one of the best I've stayed at. Unlimited wifi is pretty handy too!

    Date of stay: January 2020
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank Hoopergold
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2020

    Thank you for the great feed back. We love a happy guest and are glad you enjoyed your stay.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 November 2019 via mobile

    Good location with a short walk to supermarkets and food outlets. Hosts are acommodating and freindly. Good parking onsite and more parking on the main road a short distance away. Main road parking suitable for heavy vehicles or if you have a large trailer.

    Date of stay: November 2019
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank KiwiDiverWarren
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2019

    Thank you for your feed back Warren. So glad our location suited you so well. We hope to see you again soon!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 August 2019 via mobile

    Stayed recently in an upstairs unit.Very spacious for a studio unit.Lovely comfy bed. Nice quiet spot and walking distance to cafes,supermarket etc. Quite reasonably priced also.Would stay again if in the area.

    Date of stay: July 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Bernadette C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2019

    Thank you for your lovely feedback Bernadette. We loved having you here and are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are especially pleased to know you found the bed so comfortable. We have invested heavily in top quality beds, as afterall a good night's sleep is exactly what our guests are here for! Hope to see you again soon.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews