We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$109
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/10/21
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
49
39
7
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
49
39
7
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main road upstairs unit friendly hosts shopping centre comfortable bed a great place to stay supermarket motel onsite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2020 via mobile

Stayed here for work recently, and was very satisfied. The owners were really nice, and I thought the place had a good feel to it. I've stayed in a lot of motels for work, and this is one of the best I've stayed at. Unlimited wifi is pretty handy too!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Hoopergold
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2020

Thank you for the great feed back. We love a happy guest and are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2019 via mobile

Good location with a short walk to supermarkets and food outlets. Hosts are acommodating and freindly. Good parking onsite and more parking on the main road a short distance away. Main road parking suitable for heavy vehicles or if you have a large trailer.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank KiwiDiverWarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2019

Thank you for your feed back Warren. So glad our location suited you so well. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2019 via mobile

Stayed recently in an upstairs unit.Very spacious for a studio unit.Lovely comfy bed. Nice quiet spot and walking distance to cafes,supermarket etc. Quite reasonably priced also.Would stay again if in the area.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Bernadette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2019

Thank you for your lovely feedback Bernadette. We loved having you here and are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are especially pleased to know you found the bed so comfortable. We have invested heavily in top quality beds, as afterall a good night's sleep is exactly what our guests are here for! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2019

During the week before, we had had some horrible days, so, we needed to get away.
We were not too sure what we were going to do but, decided to stay in Waikanae. We lucked it and found Kapiti Gateway Motel.

Upon arrival, our room was getting "Dressed" for us and the lady in the office was Lovely and extremely helpful. Her husband came into the office a few minutes later and gave us the go-ahead to enter ad take control of out room.

The children (12yog, 10yog & 6yob) had never been in a motel before and were amazed. 6yob continued to play on the Trampoline and monkey swings keeping himself occupied nicely. The 2 girls, were just happy to have consistent and reliable internet connection.

Breakfast was nice also, and instead of charging breakfast for 5 of us, the Lovely Lady suggested that we only get 4 breakfasts as they are a good size and our 6yob could have a shared breeky. Great idea and a big thank you
for not just trying to make a profit.

The girls have suggested that we stay again, but for a longer duration, I think that will be a great plan.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank fender4les
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2019

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We very much enjoyed having your family here and are delighted you enjoyed your time. We too look forward to seeing you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2019 via mobile

Booked a room for five nights through an outside provider, needed to change but neither the provider or owners were interested in giving us a refund.
The motel sits next to SH1 and a main rail line so sleep on the first night was scarce.
The room was comfortable and had good tea and coffee facilities but have to say we didn’t enjoy our stay

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank andyandjane2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2019

It can be frustrating when using Online Travel Agents and a change in booking details is required. As explained when you checked in, this is usually achievable by the guest contacting the OTA, but we not permitted to make changes on your behalf. Our commission payments to the OTA are also set in stone. Had you booked direct we would have been only too happy to assist with your change in number of persons staying.
Kapiti Gateway Motel is no longer located on SH1 - with the opening of Kapiti Expressway 2 years ago. Chatting with you on your departure you mentioned you were woken on your first night but had slept well during your stay.
We do recommend you book accommodation direct, to give yourselves flexibility to change. The direct method also gives you access to rates and deals not available via OTAs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews