We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hooper Collier
Palmerston North, New Zealand

Good place to spend the night

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Jan 2020via mobile
Stayed here for work recently, and was very satisfied. The owners were really nice, and I thought the place had a good feel to it. I've stayed in a lot of motels for work, and this is one of the best I've stayed at. Unlimited wifi is pretty handy too!
Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this review
Responded 13 Jan 2020
Thank you for the great feed back. We love a happy guest and are glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Motel Room Frontage
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.9 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
    2.9 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
    Restaurant
    Room service
      1.3 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
      Rather cramped bedroom space.
      $187
      Fully refundable
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
      • Priceline
      0.0 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      • Hotels.com
      • Official Site
        $750
      • Expedia.com
        $827
      4.0 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      $155
      Fully refundable
      No prepayment needed
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
      • Priceline
      5.7 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
      Free parking
      Cozy Sleep Area with Cough and Bed with Electric Blanket for Cold Nights
      $176
      Fully refundable
      No prepayment needed
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Expedia.com
        $176
      6.9 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      $170
      Fully refundable
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Priceline
      7.3 km from Kapiti Gateway Motel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Waikanae
      Reviews (104)
      Filter reviews
      104 results
      Traveller rating
      50
      41
      7
      3
      3
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      50
      41
      7
      3
      3
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      6 - 11 of 104 reviews
      Reviewed 26 November 2019 via mobile

      Good location with a short walk to supermarkets and food outlets. Hosts are acommodating and freindly. Good parking onsite and more parking on the main road a short distance away. Main road parking suitable for heavy vehicles or if you have a large trailer.

      Date of stay: November 2019
      Trip type: Travelled on business
      Thank KiwiDiverWarren
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2019

      Thank you for your feed back Warren. So glad our location suited you so well. We hope to see you again soon!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 13 August 2019 via mobile

      Stayed recently in an upstairs unit.Very spacious for a studio unit.Lovely comfy bed. Nice quiet spot and walking distance to cafes,supermarket etc. Quite reasonably priced also.Would stay again if in the area.

      Date of stay: July 2019
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank Bernadette C
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2019

      Thank you for your lovely feedback Bernadette. We loved having you here and are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are especially pleased to know you found the bed so comfortable. We have invested heavily in top quality beds, as afterall a good night's sleep is exactly what our guests are here for! Hope to see you again soon.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 22 May 2019

      During the week before, we had had some horrible days, so, we needed to get away.
      We were not too sure what we were going to do but, decided to stay in Waikanae. We lucked it and found Kapiti Gateway Motel.

      Upon arrival, our room was getting "Dressed" for us and the lady in the office was Lovely and extremely helpful. Her husband came into the office a few minutes later and gave us the go-ahead to enter ad take control of out room.

      The children (12yog, 10yog & 6yob) had never been in a motel before and were amazed. 6yob continued to play on the Trampoline and monkey swings keeping himself occupied nicely. The 2 girls, were just happy to have consistent and reliable internet connection.

      Breakfast was nice also, and instead of charging breakfast for 5 of us, the Lovely Lady suggested that we only get 4 breakfasts as they are a good size and our 6yob could have a shared breeky. Great idea and a big thank you
      for not just trying to make a profit.

      The girls have suggested that we stay again, but for a longer duration, I think that will be a great plan.

      Date of stay: May 2019
      Thank fender4les
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2019

      Thank you for your lovely feedback. We very much enjoyed having your family here and are delighted you enjoyed your time. We too look forward to seeing you all again.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 11 March 2019 via mobile

      Booked a room for five nights through an outside provider, needed to change but neither the provider or owners were interested in giving us a refund.
      The motel sits next to SH1 and a main rail line so sleep on the first night was scarce.
      The room was comfortable and had good tea and coffee facilities but have to say we didn’t enjoy our stay

      Date of stay: March 2019
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank andyandjane2017
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2019

      It can be frustrating when using Online Travel Agents and a change in booking details is required. As explained when you checked in, this is usually achievable by the guest contacting the OTA, but we not permitted to make changes on your behalf. Our commission payments to the OTA are also set in stone. Had you booked direct we would have been only too happy to assist with your change in number of persons staying.
      Kapiti Gateway Motel is no longer located on SH1 - with the opening of Kapiti Expressway 2 years ago. Chatting with you on your departure you mentioned you were woken on your first night but had slept well during your stay.
      We do recommend you book accommodation direct, to give yourselves flexibility to change. The direct method also gives you access to rates and deals not available via OTAs.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 9 November 2018

      Stayed for 3 nights and found the owners a delight to deal with. The room was large and very comfortable with tea and coffee making. The fridge was working well not like a few places we've stayed. The shower room was fit for use but could use updating but that is not a complaint.

      Date of stay: November 2018
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Patrick C
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2018

      Thank you Patrick, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Older style properties like this one whilst most spacious and comfortable do require constant upgrading. We are very much on to that - in fact have one more new shower unit going in as I write this! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews