We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
45
38
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
38
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews railway station stayed one night swimming pool free wifi would stay here again across the road great place to stay short stay car museum tea and coffee facilities clean rooms fantastic stay her husband train line visiting family last minute booking upstairs room
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2018

I booked a room through an external provider at Kapiti Gateway Motel which I couldn't change. I received a phone call from the motel owner tonight who seemed quite irate wanting to know where our group was. I tried to explain to him that I couldn't contact the outside provider to change the dates of our booking. He charged my credit card $212 anyway and was completely indifferent to our situation. His attitude was pretty shocking to say the least but feel there is not much more I can personally do.

Room tip: I would personally avoid this motel.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Service
Thank nickbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

If a guest does not arrive and fails to advise the property (direct or via on-line agent) then a cancellation charge will apply. If a guest contacts the property as soon as possible to discuss any situation they find themselves in that is preventing their arrival, the property can often partially or completely waive a cancellation fee, or liaise with on-line agent on behalf of the guest. In this case the property was given no notice nor was any explanation received as to why the guest was unable to arrive so was unable to assist. The accommodation was booked one month previous and held in good faith for the guest. The property is still liable to the on-line agent for commission fees. The guest was dealt with professionally and fairly by the property owner in accordance with the property's standard cancellation policy. Unfortunately a review threat was received by the property owner, which was reported to Tripadvisor. Tripadvisor take review fraud very seriously and will be investigating this case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

We had the 2 bedroom unit even though only three of us- the hotel was a last minute booking and we’re so glad we stumbled across it. Reasonable prices and whilst the motel is old it is spotlessly clean, has everything you could want in terms of cooking, etc. Has wifi, sky, etc. so our teenager was happy too! Owners were super helpful and lovely. Recommend.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Family4Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you for your great review Family4Perth! We are delighted you were comfortable - its always a good feeling to get it right, especially with a last minute booking. We loved having you here and hope to see you again on your next trip to NZ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Stayed here with my daughter for a dance competition at the car museum. Considering it is on a main road it was very quiet. Train station right across the road,and easy stroll to shops, including ATM and supermarket. We had an upstairs room (which was a little tricky in the middle of winter, and only outside stairs) but good lighting. The pool looked well kept, but was way too cold for a dip that time of year. The room had 2 queen beds. Very clean, modern, good tea and coffee supply, but no coming facilities (only a microwave and kettle). Would stay here again. Managers were friendly and welcoming.

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank 759siany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

Arrived by foot, were taken well care of. Room was spacious and clean, with tv and well functioning free WiFi. Near grocery store and railway station.

Multiple hiking options in nearby Tararua ranges, and a beautiful river walk to the coast.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank siribr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Thank you for your review Siri. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and some of the wonderful walks we have close by. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Great place to stay with generous, big, clean rooms. My young daughter loved the opportunity to have a swim in the pool (as did Dad). The free wifi and Sky TV 50+ channels was appreciated as well.

Thanks Viv and Russell

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeepierWharf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Thank you for your review. It is such a pleasure for us to see guests enjoy our pool and facilities. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Kapiti Gateway Motel Waikanae again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews