We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Katy G
Wellington, New Zealand

Wonderful host, awesome stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Aug 2016
Helen was a generous and caring host. She bought out baking, offered cups of tea, and was very happy to sit in front of the fire and have a natter with us. However she was also very discrete and was fine for us to disappear off to our room for an early night after a long day. The bed was warm and comfy, and the complimentary tea and snacks were great. The breakfast was pretty special too - lots of options including home-made cereal, yoghurt, different juices, and cooked breakfast if you wanted it. Thank you for a lovely stay Helen
Date of stay: July 2016
Room Tip: If you can book the upstairs room - the view is amazing
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Motel Room Frontage
  • Vio.com
4.1 km from Helen's Waikanae Beach B&B / Homestay
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
3.7 km from Helen's Waikanae Beach B&B / Homestay
    1.5 km from Helen's Waikanae Beach B&B / Homestay
    Restaurant
    Room service
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    4.3 km from Helen's Waikanae Beach B&B / Homestay
    Rather cramped bedroom space.
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $200
    • Priceline
    4.4 km from Helen's Waikanae Beach B&B / Homestay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      3.7 km from Helen's Waikanae Beach B&B / Homestay
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        $719
      • Hotels.com
      3.7 km from Helen's Waikanae Beach B&B / Homestay
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        $155
      • Priceline
      4.7 km from Helen's Waikanae Beach B&B / Homestay
      Free parking
      • Expedia.com
      • Official Site
        $170
      • Hotels.com
      4.1 km from Helen's Waikanae Beach B&B / Homestay
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      • Priceline
      • ZenHotels.com
        $203
      • eDreams
      4.3 km from Helen's Waikanae Beach B&B / Homestay
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Waikanae
      Reviews (13)
      Filter reviews
      13 results
      Traveller rating
      13
      0
      0
      0
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      13
      0
      0
      0
      0
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      1 - 6 of 13 reviews
      Reviewed 14 February 2015

      We arrived to a welcome of tea and home made drop scones etc and a well stocked complimentary fridge. Helen is an excellent host and it was interesting to hear her family background. The house is seconds away from the beach with amazing views of the nearby island and South Island. Perfect for a safe swim and a jog along the beach. The nearby Long Beach restaurant had very good fresh cooked food. Very much a home from home.

      Date of stay: February 2015
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Rooms
        • Service
      1  Thank WanderingBrit
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 17 December 2014

      We spent 3 nights at Helen's. We had the upstairs room with a very high level of comfort. We came and went at all hours and I had to spend a day in bed because of illness. She was very understanding and accommodating. Her breakfasts are out of this world and she bends over backwards in order to ensure that her guests are happy. I cannot reccommend this B and B highly enough.

      Date of stay: December 2014
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      1  Thank Dongbird
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 29 September 2014

      What a wonderful place to stay. My partner had arrived earlier in the afternoon after a long drive from Auckland and was welcomed with a pot of tea and freshly cooked home-made pikelets, jam and cream. A delight. Our stay was in the "Kapiti" room upstairs which had great views from its own lounge, deck and also from the windows in the bedroom which had an ensuite. The lounge was set up with tea and coffee making facilities as well as a small fridge. There was lots of information on the local area which was very useful. Helen was a wonderful host and offered us freshly cooked carrot cake on our second afternoon which was very scrummy. Our room was very nicely laid out and very clean as was the bathroom. The bed was made with beautiful linens (and was very comfortable with lovely pillows) and there were fluffy white towels in the bathroom. Breakfast was served downstairs in the morning and what a spread. There were 5-6 different types of muesli (including some that Helen made herself) and cereals, freshly made fruit (we had amazing rhubarb and strawberries the first morning. Then croissants, toast, juice a choice of teas and freshly brewed coffee. It was amazing. Helen even offered us a cooked breakfast which we sadly had to say no to. Helen takes the time to find out what time breakfast suits you which was a nice touch. The location is perfect, right by the beach with easy beach access on both sides, off street parking which is a bonus. A bonus was the free wi-fi. I really enjoyed the little extra touches like make up removal wipes, cotton balls, cotton buds etc on the dresser – soap, shampoo and even shower caps in the bathroom. This was more like an upmarket hotel but with the personal touch that Helen provided.
      Helen was a great host and nothing was too much trouble. She really enjoys looking after her guests in her home, and it makes for a very welcome experience. We look forward to staying later in the year when we are back down that way.

      Room tip: If you like a view, go for the Kapiti room upstairs which has a lounge and deck area. Amazing views of the island and beach.
      Date of stay: September 2014
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      1  Thank Dodo22Auckland_NZ
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 24 February 2014

      Outstanding beachfront location, next to a perfect swimming beach and great sea views from our room and the guest lounge/terrace. Nothing is too much trouble and Helen's little touches are fantastic - nothing is too much trouble for this charming host. Breakfast was a real feast. Good restaurants within walking distance. Unlimited and fast wifi was a real bonus and surprise! Very highly recommended.

      Date of stay: February 2014
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank aandlh
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 8 February 2014

      Our stay here for four nights in the "Kapiti" Room was nothing short of absolutely delightful. We arrived very late in the evening after a long drive and Helen not only stayed up to welcome us but made a refreshing pot of tea and ensured we were advised of the key local attractions. After a relaxing sleep on crisp snowy white linen in a spotlessly clean room we awoke to see the beach laid out before us. It was nothing compared to the feast that awaited us downstairs, I've not seen a prettier breakfast table nor enjoyed such delicious and fresh food in a B&B before. Helen's attention to detail was second to none: the towels which we chose to re-use were air-dried and left on the perfectly-made bed with a lovely note, fresh flowers appeared in the room, the tea and coffee making facilities were refreshed and replenished every day, and the cookie tin was always full. Heartily recommended. My fiancé and I will be back!

      Room tip: I'd recommend the “Kapiti” Room, great views and a skylight to watch the stars.
      Date of stay: February 2014
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank Rochelle I
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews