We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Tarpum Bay rental!”
other travellers have booked this property
House facing Lord Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House facing Lord Street
Culmer Cottage facing the sea A view of Tarpum Bay from the fish dock
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
House facing Lord Street
Culmer Cottage facing the sea
A view of Tarpum Bay from the fish dock
view from bedroom at Culmer Cottage
living room
living room, dining table, stairs, love seat
kitchen faces the sea
queen bedroom airconditioned
smaller  double bedroom
My caretaker, Kervin Culmer who can take you fishing!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Tarpum Bay, Eleuthera, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabees
West Olive, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Tarpum Bay rental!”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 4th vacation rental on Eleuthera and one of the best. Culmer Cottage is very clean, comfortable, updated, and has all the conveniences we needed. We loved the artwork in each room and integrated into the house itself. We did not turn on the television, but had no problems with the A/C (main bedroom only), appliances, and wifi. We spent a lot of time sitting on the back patio watching the sea, and the goings-on in town.

We brought our own books, but if you finish yours, there are several more on the shelf to borrow. There are also great reference books for identifying fish, birds, and finding beaches. Check out the reference binder on the coffee table as it is filled with all kinds of helpful information and history.

While this cottage is not directly on the water, it is a short block from the Tarpum Bay beach and we frequently walked down for a quick dip to cool off. It is also within walking distance of a couple of small markets, the library, a few local bars as well as Barbie's for take out food.

We loved the location because it was very close to places we like to visit such as Governor's Harbor (30 minutes: good food, beaches, a few shops), Palmetto Point (20 minutes: beaches, snorkeling, local restaurants), Savanna Sound (15 minutes: snorkeling at the public ramp on the west end!!, Fish Bone Tours), Rock Sound (15 minutes: wonderful grocery store, swimming at Ocean Hole, eat at Sammy's and at The Friggate), Cape Eleuthera (55 minutes: Cape School, Gulley Hole) and Lighthouse Beach (65 minutes, best beach I've ever visited).

If you prefer, Lynn, the owner, will help you set up a car rental. The caretakers, Kervin and Brenda give you total privacy, but will check in and help you with anything that comes up.

Oh... I almost forgot to mention, this house is close to the public dock in Tarpum Bay. Daily, in the mid afternoon, you can buy fresh seasonal fish and seafood there. Another option is to let Kervin know what you would like and he can help you, including cooking it for you, if that is your wish.

We had such a great week that I'm having trouble integrating back into regular life. Tarpum Bay is a very special place to visit and this cottage is a wonderful place to call home during your time there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2017
Elizabeth, thank you so much for this complete reviews
. You are experienced visitors to the island, so readers should realize you know what you are talking about! Please come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiReef
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
“Perfect way to experience the true Bahamas”
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

If you looking for an opportunity to have a slice of what the Bahamas are like without the full explosion of commercialism, this is the place. A great example of how Bahamians live, with the feel of a quaint true fishing village. Tarpum Bay was a joy. The people who live here are wonderful, pleasant and always helpful. The entire experience left us thinking, this must have been what it was like to live in a time and place before money or inanimate items were the most important things to a person. We will be going back because everyone should have an opportunity to spend some time living on true island time. Our 4 and 6 year olds had a great time spending the days playing in Tarpum Bay itself, or on the other numerous outstanding beaches. The house has a great history and has all the basics required for a comfortable stay for two adults and two young children. Only one room is air conditioned, but this was more than adequate with the cool breezy evenings. Although it would get warm in the afternoons, we didn't spend our time in the home during the day, as we were too busy touring and investigating the island and its people and beaches. Mr. Kervin and his wife, Mrs. Brenda are true characters, straight out of a Hemingway short story. WIth their knowledge and hospitality, you will have everything you need for a wonderful stay. If you are looking for a resort stay, this is not it. If you are looking for a comfortable, cozy slice of Bahamian life, this is the place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Thank you so much. I believe you captured life in Culmer Cottage in a Bahamian settlement perfectly. It's hard to describe the benefits of interacting with local residents and getting a slice of a quiet, beautiful island life. You are right, this is not a five star resort, but I think the experience provided far outweighs the luxury of any resort. It is especially great that your children could enjoy it too. I will be happy to welcome you back!!

'
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drl201744...
North Port, Florida
1 review
“Charming cottage in the heart of local village with great view of the bay.”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Great location and easy to access interesting spots on the island. Village people were friendly, helpful and area was safe but allowed a view of real Bahamian life. Cottage overlooked Tarpum Bay and was well-equiped to meet all of our needs. We enjoyed having the caretaker Miss Brenda taking care of the place and providing wonderful meals. We really enjoyed our visit and are planning another stay in the near future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2017
Thank you so much. I am happy you chose to experience a bit of the real Bahamas. Eleuthera and its people are very special. I am glad you are returning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akarpyn
Wallingford, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean simple home + beautiful view = amazing experience”
Reviewed 16 March 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My children and I lived in this home for almost 2 months. We never knew Lynn the owner before we arrived but she did everything in her power to make us feel welcome, help us get acclimated and provided us with a wealth of information in advance of our trip. As you can imagine traveling to another country with two children was quite an ordeal! The Tarpum Bay community however made us feel at home. This area is home to some of the most welcoming, warm friendly people you could ask for. It certainly looks different than a standard American suburban neighborhood, but if you can stand to put your judgment aside, you will soon realize that the area is extremely safe the residents love to talk (say hello!) and the calm lapping water and warm weather is absolutely priceless. This home suited us very well and the caretakers we're always available when we had a question or needed a hand with something. The house is certainly not opulent, but has all the standard amenities including an air-conditioned bedroom, cable tv and a full sized kitchen, which makes for a lovely stay. I highly recommend this home. It is clean, safe, close to the beach and offers a true experience in the Bahamas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2017
Thank you Allison. I am glad you and your family enjoyed Culmer Cottage and Tarpum Bay. It is a special island with special people.
Because I tried to preserve the historical construction and character, I did not make my house into a fancy modern house which would have necessitated changing the footprint. So my house is a seaside cottage with some charm. Glad you enjoyed it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect beach house and location!”
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in November 2016

My girlfriend and I stayed here for Thanksgiving week for a relaxing yet adventurous tropical vacation. The house was perfect. It was very clean when we arrived, had everything needed for when we cooked, good wifi and cable (even watched Thanksgiving football at night!) plus it is in the best location. Tarpum Bay itself is beautiful but we loved being less than 45 mins away from tons of beaches north or south. We ended up seeing 10 beaches over the course of our week long trip.

The house has a beautiful balcony overlooking the bay and new/comfortable furniture. One of the most helpful parts was the binder the owner has put together. She listed restaurants, beaches, things to do etc. By the end of the trip I felt like a local. Also her beach book that gives very valuable directions for finding the BEST remote beaches was a huge help. Most of the pages have hand written notes/tips on how to reach the beach. We even received a "How did you find this beach?" at one that we visited.

There is a great convenience store across the street (Berts) and good restaurants near by (.5 mi north Dolphin Blow Hole, Barbies takeaway across the street and Bayside which had some delicious conch salad!)

I would definitely recommend staying here for an authentic Bahamian getaway.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2017
So glad you enjoyed Culmer Cottage and Eleuthera. Thank you for your kind review. I always say, "Eleuthera is not for everyone," but I am so glad it was for you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing