We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Trace n Mike
Kerikeri, New Zealand

The Ultimate Escape alright!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Jul 2023
I visited the spa and had the 3 1/2 hour package - the Ultimate Escape. The lovely Sinta was my hostess and did the most amazing massage especially the head massage. Body scrub was gorgeous, body wrap, amazing. And the vichy waterfall jet a first for me. Following that full body massage and then the facial. The products smell and feel amazing and my skin just glowed after that. I would highly recommend whatever your budget.
I will be back from New Zealand again next year!
Thank you Sinta!
Date of stay: July 2023
Room Tip: Would even recommend to make your booking early if you are wanting the 3 1/2 hour package.
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.1 km from Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.1 km from Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa
Villa 3
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.7 km from Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.2 km from Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
2.1 km from Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa
$298
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $298
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.0 km from Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa
Free parking
Beachfront
2.5 km from Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
0.0 km from Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Ngatangiia
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveller rating
498
22
8
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
498
22
8
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool platinum villa cook islands hot tub beachfront villa four poster both bedrooms each morning muri beach rental car fully equipped kitchen south pacific snorkeling gear new zealand waterfall tara tino
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 532 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2023

Sensational full body relaxation massage, by Cinta & Mola including the Vetchi waterfall massage. The best massage in Rarotonga, dont let the price deter u from one of the best experiences of your life. U must book with these ladies you will feel brand new again A+++

Room tip: Book online before you arrive to guarantee a spot.
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jaytT3633GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 June 2023

Great place. Fantastic staff. Certainly the best wifi we experienced on Rarotonga.
Small issue spa lid is heavy & awkward to move. Warmer water in the plunge pool would be nice. But we were told this was being fixed. Ok expensive but good.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caleb Reilly, Guest Services / Front Office at Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2023

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Our wifi is also now even more upgraded to allow for free unlimited access. ;)

And as per your feedback, the spa lid has now been replaced, thank you for helping us improve our service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2023

I was meant to write this review last year when we stayed at Rumours but forgot .. sorry guys. Anyway, we absolutely loved staying at this beautiful resort. The staff were so lovely and accommodating, the room was outstandingly beautiful and the location next level. Also a massive thank you to the Wilkinson Family for their wonderful hospitality and support of the Steven Adams Sports Pathways Fundraiser. Much appreciation and aroha. Meitaki Ma'ata

Room tip: Make sure you book into the Waterfall Spa for the Vichy Massage! Best to book prior to arrival as it gets booked out :)
Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank charmed911
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rumours Office, Guest Services / Front Office at Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2023

Kia Orana Tino. We all really appreciate your kind comments and your review was certainly better late than never and thank you for taking the time to do it when it could easily have been overlooked. Our staff continue to do their best to ensure guests enjoy their stay and balance
that with hopefully not being intrusive. We hope to see you back on the island again in the not too distant future. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2023

The latest reply ever! Expensive BUT it is definitely WORTH EVERY DOLLAR, you know for the memory and not forgetting FB and the gram lol! So romantic, private and very special. We arrived with a gift basket waiting in our Villa. We made use of the private pool, spa, beach (outside our deck), bbq, kitchen. On our first evening we walked to the Muri night markets. There is a shop across the road from the resort, it has everything you need from food to alcohol lol We did the party bus on Friday and we got picked up right in front of our resort and it was THE BEST if you are an extrovert (met new friends) OR an introvert (like my husband), a few shots does the trick lol HIGHLY RECOMMEND. I cant wait to come back with my travel buddies :) Meitaki Maata!

Date of stay: June 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alapasita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rumours Office, Guest Services / Front Office at Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2023

Kia Orana Alaspasitaf. Really appreciate your glowing review of Rumours. To hear how much you enjoyed your stay makes
us happy, as it's very important to us that our guests go home rested, re- charged and feeling that they had the best holiday. Sounds as though you enjoyed some of the activities on the island and your hubby was able to enjoy the party bus too. Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay and at some time in the future, we hope to be able to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2023 via mobile

My husband and I eloped and stayed at Rumours. It was the perfect place to have our wedding. The staff are so lovely and very helpful! Cannot express enough how amazing it was from the time we arrived to when we had to depart. Highly recommend rumours the honeymoon package is well worth it! 100%

Thanks Rumours for creating a blissful private place loved it so much!

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AmsL04
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rumours Office, Guest Services / Front Office at Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2023

Kia Orana AmsL04,
Thank you so much for your review. When we have a small intimate wedding at Rumours, we take it very seriously to support the couple in the best ways we can, and it's great to hear that our staff did just that, and helped create the very special occasion it was for you. The fact that it was an elopement, added another layer of responsibility for us to ensure everything was as good as it could be for you both. Do hope that the years ahead go well for you and that already you are settling into life as a married couple. Kia Manuia from the team at Rumours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews