We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tony I

Great facility and great staff!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Oct 2022
We stayed for 7 nights in Villa 1. It was very spacious, well-appointed (with new appliances including microwave, dishwasher, washing machine/dryer and a/c in both bedrooms and fans in all rooms) and very clean. The villa also included an extensive movie selection for accessing when not touring the lovely island. Beach access was very easy and only a few steps away. The villa also included canoes and snorkeling gear. In addition, there was also a lovely private pool complete with its own waterfall for your enjoyment. The location is close to some shops such as a convenience store and a number of eateries.
The staff were terrific and very helpful. This included Toni, John and the room service staff, who made our stay even more enjoyable. We hired a car during our stay (strongly recommended) and the villa had its own private parking area next to each villa. Would highly recommend the Rumours Villa facility to others & have done so already. Thank you from Tony, K & family, to the fabulous Rumours staff for making our stay such a lovely experience!
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rumours Office, Guest Services / Front Office at Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa, responded to this review
Responded 26 Oct 2022
Kia Orana Tony, Really appreciate your comments on Rumours, great to hear. Also our team will be very happy to hear that you have commended them to highly. Everyone works together to try and ensure happy guests and they are people who genuinely love doing what they can to help guests where they can and take a lot of pride in their work. I think the diversity of cultures with the team also add a certain "flavour" to it all as well. We were very happy when the set of shops across the road all opened, as it's an easy stroll over to get the basics if needed. Hope you have returned home well rested and refreshed after your 7 nights in Rarotonga. Thank you again for staying with us. Kia Manuia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.1 km from Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.1 km from Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa
Villa 3
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
3.7 km from Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • StayForLong
  • Lol.travel
  • Expedia.com
0.2 km from Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
2.1 km from Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa
#1 Kota'a Nui (Frigate Bird) Beachfront
  • ZenHotels.com
3.7 km from Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa
$297
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $297
  • Lol.travel
0.4 km from Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.0 km from Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa
Free parking
Beachfront
2.5 km from Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Ngatangiia
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveller rating
498
22
8
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
498
22
8
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool platinum villa cook islands hot tub beachfront villa four poster both bedrooms each morning muri beach rental car fully equipped kitchen south pacific snorkeling gear new zealand waterfall tara tino
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 532 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2022

Why the Cook Islands?

Actually, it was a little less polite: why would you go all the bloody way out there?
The answer in part is because it is bloody-well way out there, a warm and sunny part of the South Pacific. Where palms sway on request, and the top speed limit is 50 kilometres per hour.

“Slow down you’re moving too fast!”

The other musical thing which first brought the Cooks Islands to my attention 30 years ago and has kept them there was Crowded House’s use of their eponymous drummers on Together Alone.

Years on, in 2022, after a number of failed attempts courtesy of Covid, the delay making it all the timelier with someone’s Platinum Birthday not far away, we got to the award-winning, the old tourism copywriter in me had to put that in, Platinum Villa, at Rumours Resort on Muri lagoon.

Hereafter, I promise not to gush. It will take some effort.

From the car park, with all the gates and doors open, we looked straight through the villa to the various hues of turquoise and blue all the way to the horizon, on a near portion of which appeared, even before we had unpacked our bags, a whale.
Gush meter in danger of going into the red already.

We never saw another one, but we did swim with turtles, with a bunch of young Islanders with wicked senses of humour who had just set up in business under the name Go Local.

Jokes about nuts, particularly about not impaling the wrong ones while bending over a sharp stick to husk coconuts, were mixed with informative stuff about the life cycle of the turtles, which swam around us with an ease to make one un-natural swimmer among us envious.

For all their isolation, the Cook Islands have a rich history embracing both the South Pacific and matters European. They asked Queen Victoria to rescue them from the French who already had Tahiti and were eying off other bits and bobs bobbing around in the South Pacific.

A missionary from Tahiti had already rescued them, if that is the right word, from barbaric civil wars, which included cannibalism. Christianity is a huge part of the modern Cook Island life, churches of various persuasions all over the place, fire and brimstone emerging from under one hot tin roof for hours instead of the promised Sunday morning singing of hymns, the congregation sitting enduringly on sticky plastic chairs and using the hymn sheets as fans.

There was also the revelation that Cook Islanders claim to have discovered New Zealand, sailing their Vakas, huge ocean-going catamarans, with all the skill that it took James Cook to find them centuries later.

Another interesting tid bit, it was the Russians who named the islands after Cook, not the British.

All this and more were ascertained at the Umu (food cooked on hot rocks buried in the ground) at Highland Paradise, a cultural centre halfway up one of the volcanic giants in the middle of Rarotonga.

Danny, not his real Cook Island Māori name which sounded more like a song more than a name, holds his culture dearly and is passing it on to younger folk via drums, music and dancing.

And could the young folk dance! The women move their hips like cracking whips while their torsos remain still while the blokes danced themselves breathless.
And the drummers’ hands moved so quickly as to become a blur. As we digested the products of the Umu and all this information, there was another part of the Cook Island way becoming readily apparent. Everything depends on the boats going out and/or the boats coming in.

There’s a fresh fish place just near the airport. Fresh fish, woohoo, or perhaps that should be wahoo, perfect for the barbie.

So, we pulled up in the little Noddy car which came as part of the Platinum Package only find a sign that said GONE FISHING, BACK NEXT WEEK.

Equally impossible to find, to the disappointment of those who had envisaged sitting on banana lounges looking out across the turquoise and blue while sipping Margaritas, was Tequila.

Apparently when the supply ship arrives, every bar and restaurant owner is there waiting to snavel it.

We managed to provide the Margarita Sisters with the missing ingredient by purchasing a coffee cup of Tequila from one of the expensive resort bars, well sometimes you just to have to resort to anything.

It was a nicely appropriate way to say thank you to the Margarita Sisters for the brilliant birthday platter.

Despite a lot of jokes, by the locals, about island time, it was noticeable that everything ran on time. Even the Jetstar flight, now there is something.

As the New Zealand couple back for their sixth trip put it, it is four hours from Auckland and everything works.

But there were some unmissable elements of the unregimented at the airport. Waiting in the transit lounge, a casual glance up revealed three chooks roosting in the roof.

At the markets, chooks and dogs, much-loved dogs as it turned out, roamed around freely, as farmers came down from the mountains with their fresh produce and their generous advice on all things CI, except where to get Tequila and fresh fish.

Back to the dogs, on the road, a loosely applied term for a series of potholes, up to Rarotonga’s waterfall, another loosely applied term for a trickle, we found the SPCA dog home, to which we made more than one donation.

Unwanted dogs are readily taken in and doctored.

We also, on that trip, passed the proposed five-star resort that a politician, acting without consulting his cabinet colleagues, a bit like a recent Australia PM when you think about it, committed the Cook Islands to building this thing.

To cut a long story short, the Mafia was involved, the CI Government nearly went bankrupt and only now, cautiously, is work resuming.

Back at Platinum Vila, everything had been finished long ago, and nicely and precisely, including the theatre room, the hot tub, the pool, the four-poster beds.
The builders can claim no credit for the view, or the water in the lagoon, which was warmer than the pool, but no doubt the folk at Rumours do when they enter their resort in and win various global tourism awards.

It was hardly surprising that the leaving was hard.

On return to the limp spring, the 9am ring of the doorbell after which two beaming faces came in with trays of breakfast provisions, has been mightily missed.
And the complimentary massages on which everyone complimented favourably; might even have gushed.

All of which by now should have answered that question on which we came in: Why the Cook Islands?

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Warwick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rumours Office, Guest Services / Front Office at Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2022

Kia Orana Warwick, Well firstly may I say that you are a literary genius ! The way you can put a story together and tell it in a way that holds the audience's attention is a real achievement. Thank you ! We are so very happy that you enjoyed your time not only staying at Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa, but also the island of Rarotonga in general. There is as you will have found, as much or as little to do as you want - some prefer just to chill in their villa and enjoy their surroundings, while others like to get out and about and participate in the many activities which are now increasing all the time as the pre covid levels are now leveling out a lot more. Thank you again for such an indepth review (and video). You are a great ambassador for both Rumours and the Cook Islands in general. We do hope that you are well rested after your holiday and hopefully we will get to enjoy showing you more Rarotongan hospitality in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2022

Kia Orana
Its the 17th August Dale and I are about to finish another two week vacation at Rumours our 3rd stay and a 4th Booked for December 2022.
We stayed in our favorite Villa 2 right on the beach and infact given the Sea Conditions over the past few days one could safely say a Overwater Villa fantastic experience would not have missed it for the world.
Windy Squally Rain some days so what, having a spa and pool area at the rear gave us the best of both worlds.
High Winds in front but Sun-Tan opportunities at the back and as i did on most days took full advantage of a Hot Private Spar.
The Villa itself, spacious dining areas, a well equipped kitchen, first class bathroom facilities with really great showers, yes there are two ensuites servicing each bedroom.
Staff, no not Staff, family might be more appropriate just sensational, they just simply add value to our holiday every day. Toni / Boss Lady (Special) Sandra and Mirror, Room Service, and then there is Big John a man for all occasions, who's laugh can be heard across the complex every day, "you need me just call out" he constantly reminds us.
I think your own mode of transport is a good move be it a Motor Bike or Rental Car as it does allow you to visit so many other places at your leisure. There is a very good Supermarket just across the road, a Coffee Stop and Fast food shop as well.

I, We have given Rumours 5 + Stars because that is in our opinion a true rating for this property and testimony to that is surely backed up by a cant wait 4th Booking, this year, with for sure further bookings in 2023.
Book it, I promise you it will be experience that will bring you back to the special people that live and work at Rumours on the Island of Rarotonga.
Meitaki Ma'ata

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank paul e
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carolyn Wilkinson, Guest Services / Front Office at Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2022

Kia Orana 950paule and Dale. Wow - our staff will all be so very happy to have this acknowledgement of the service they provided to you during your stay. Sometimes their efforts get recognition and sometimes they don't, so to have you give them such praise will certainly motivate them to continue doing the very best they can for our guests. Yes it's been a week or two with huge king tides and the results both with the thunderous noise on the reef and watching the waves roll across, can be very awe inspiriing to watch. Thankfully our villas are built up higher than beach level so water going straight underneath when we get these tides, and provide you with your "overwater villa" experience. So happy that despite the inclement weather on the beach side, you were still able to enjoy the outdoor living area on the other side and hopefully you were successful with working on your tan. Thank you again for your most appreciated review. We all will look forward to welcoming you back again in December. Kia Manuia till then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2022

We stayed in Villa 7 during our break at Rumours. Unfortunately there was a lot of wind coming straight into our beach for the majority of our stay which meant the front of the villa with the loungers and table and chairs was not really usable. In addition the noise from the surf was really loud at night and we did not sleep well. Also the front did not get any sun on it at that time of year (late June). The inside of the villa was comfortable, the bed was lovely and bathroom was spacious, the kitchen was well set out, except there was no oven. Breakfast came each morning on a tray for you to cook yourself. The lagoon at this position was rocky and not suitable for swimming at low tide. Due to the conditions we didn't swim out front at all during our stay. The pool at the back was deep and was not heated, We sat out at the back deck most of the stay and it got nice sun out there. This villa and villa 6 are situated about 600m from the main Rumours reception, there are no restaurants in the immediate area. Some were within walking distance for us but that was around 1 km away. Many restaurants are closing on various days due to staff shortages. I recommend booking some transport for while you are at the resort.

Room tip: Back villas would be quieter.
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ali_from_Tauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carolyn Wilkinson, Guest Services / Front Office at Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2022

Kia Orana Ali from Tauranga. Thank you for your efforts in writing this descriptive review. Sorry you stayed during what was a windy patch on the island, and like anywhere, it doesn't make being outside that pleasant, but good that you had the other deck which was out of the wind a little more. I always think sleep is an important part of any holiday to rest and be ready to face the world back at home once more, and our beds always seem to get the thumbs up for comfort so pleased you found that too. Hope you are settled back at home and thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2022 via mobile

One must try the property if you look for good ambience. A total different stay experience with good and tasty food. Good hospitality with supportive staff. They also extend support in your special day celebrations. Overall good experience

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mini K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carolyn Wilkinson, Guest Services / Front Office at Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2022

Kia Orana Mini K. We appreciate you taking the time to do a review for Rumours. So happy that you had a great holiday and got all the support from our team that you needed while with us including your "special day" celebrations. Your thoughts are important to us so thank you again for this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2022

Rumours is situated right on Muri Beach with each villa having it's own courtyard and private (deep) swimming pool. We had the unfortunate experience of catching Covid-19 during our stay (NOT from anyone at Rumours) and the care and support Carol and her staff gave us was amazing. Home cooked meals, phone calls, breakfasts dropped off outside and wonderful care. We were blown away by their concern and assistance. We would definitely return.

Room tip: All the villas are great, but the ones that open directly on to the beach give the best views.
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carolyn Wilkinson, Guest Services / Front Office at Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2022

Kia Orana Mary, It was our pleasure to do what we could for you during what was an unexpected addition to your holiday with us. You certainly weren't expecting Covid but thankfully it didn't strike until you had had a few days of enjoying the island. We really felt sorry that it kept you confined like it did and for P.... too, he didn't need it straight after you. Hope that you are both now fully recovered and thank you for showing the appreciation you have both while at Rumours and with this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews