We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Michael

Amazing at home relaxing feel! Highly recommend!!

Review of Aroko Bungalows
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Aug 2022
Had a wonderful stay at Aroko Bungalows! Amazing location with everything one would need for a trip away. Fully stocked kitchen, comfy bed, and all the snorkel/water sports gear you need. Highly recommend checking out Charlie’s, Sails and the Muri night market. Sonny provided great info on some cool snorkelling spots as well! Thanks so much again for a lovely relaxing holiday!
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Lagoon view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Aroko Bungalows
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Aroko Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
1.9 km from Aroko Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
Villa 3
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Aroko Bungalows
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.9 km from Aroko Bungalows
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Lol.travel
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
1.7 km from Aroko Bungalows
#1 Kota'a Nui (Frigate Bird) Beachfront
  • ZenHotels.com
1.8 km from Aroko Bungalows
$298
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $298
  • Lol.travel
1.5 km from Aroko Bungalows
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.9 km from Aroko Bungalows
Free parking
Beachfront
3.9 km from Aroko Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Ngatangiia
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
90
50
9
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
90
50
9
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews low tide self contained muri night market a wonderful stay sonny lagoon raro motu gear
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2021

Totally recommend staying here, Sonny was such a great host, nothing is a problem, we checked in early and checked out late, as we spent a month here during COVID, so no other guests around. A real highlight for me was watching the turtles coming to feed directly out the front of the bungalows on high tide each day. No where else on the island you can see this. They eat the sea grass from the bottom of the lagoon. The location is perfect, quiet but close to everything you need. The bungalows are well loved, gardens immaculate and Sonny is always adding improvements. It really felt like home and we are very, very sad to leave but we will be back ! Thank you Sonny for a perfect stay in every way !

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank marieandrews108
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 April 2020 via mobile

I spent 5 nights at Aroko Bungalows while on Rarotonga. I was picked up at the airport in Avarua by Sonny and after a quick pit stop at an atm machine,we drove through town to the bungalows.Check-in was quick and was shown my bungalow which overlooked the water.It's a beautiful location and is walking distance to Muri Beach where you can explore the night market,watersports,bar,& food.When i next visit Rarotonga,i would stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Msafiri_Mwenyeji
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2020

During the Corona pandemic we were stranded in Rarotonga. We stayed at Aroko bungalows which was the best, safest and most beatiful place to be stranded. Sonny and his family looked after us in every way. They even let us stay for free. Please book a place at this slice of paradise!

Date of stay: April 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wiek s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2020

I had to cancel due to covid-19 and had trouble with airbnb. I relayed this to Sonny (so called super host) and was abused via e-mail. Tried to ring but both phones ignored. Have now been banned and can never stay there again. Sonny has an arrogance that only comes through when he is crossed and he is not a good ambassador for the Cook Islands. Very bad tempered man, looking after badly maintained bungalows

Date of stay: June 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cafeberlin2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 November 2019

I was expecting an old rundown bungalow but was quite surprised to walk into a newly renovated beautiful well furnished bungalow. Room had everything I needed and more. Nice quiet location and the view from the room was something else.
check in was super easy, I arrived outside of the office hours and was left instructions on how to get into the room.
This place is a gem and for the price you pay, I would highly recommend. Will return for sure next time Im in Rarotonga

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews