We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Kelly F

Do yourself a favour and book!!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Dec 2023
An absolute awesome stay! Helen and Dave knew exactly how to host! They are friendly and happy to help out with any local recommendations and best places to visit! The cottages are immaculate with plenty of room! We had an enjoyable two nights and would highly recommend a stay here!
Thanks again! X
Date of stay: December 2023
Room Tip: Creek down the road is fantastic for a swim!
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave Weir, Owner at The Jolly Poacher Retreat, responded to this review
Responded 10 Jan 2024
Hi Kelly it was our pleasure to host you on our property, thank you for your comments, travel safe see you in the future, Dave & Helly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.2 km from The Jolly Poacher Retreat
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • eDreams
1.8 km from The Jolly Poacher Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Aerial of The Marlborough and its surrounds
Tripadvisor
$1,026
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $1,026
6.3 km from The Jolly Poacher Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Large comfy bed
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $129
  • Hotels.com
6.8 km from The Jolly Poacher Retreat
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $166
  • Hotels.com
7.0 km from The Jolly Poacher Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $109
  • Hotels.com
7.2 km from The Jolly Poacher Retreat
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $154
  • Hotels.com
7.4 km from The Jolly Poacher Retreat
Free parking
Pool
1 bedroom large
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $150
  • Hotels.com
7.3 km from The Jolly Poacher Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$124
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $136
  • Expedia.com
    $127
  • Vio.com
7.4 km from The Jolly Poacher Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Spring Creek
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
53
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
53
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews super hosts amazing hosts homemade preserves stunning gardens each cottage one night friendly owners hunting lodge daily breakfast would stay again comfortable beds dave fishing accommodation blenheim cave wineries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2023

If you are looking for a place to chill out and relax in beautiful surroundings then this is it. The cabin we stayed in was a cleverly themed hunters cabin with vintage decor and modern amenities. The enormous bed gave us the best nights sleep since we had arrived in NZ. A delicious breakfast of scrambled eggs, home made preserves, bread and juice was delivered every morning. Our hosts, Dave and Helen, were very welcoming and gave us suggestions of places to visit in the area, some of which we would never have known about or found. We thought they were all excellent suggestions and worth the drive. Our only disappointment was that we had only booked 3 days and not more.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Miesje J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave Weir, Owner at The Jolly Poacher Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2023

Hi Robert, it was great being able to host you both, thank you for your comments, please say hi to Miesje, hope you have a great Xmas and New Year, safe travels, Dave & Helly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2023

If you’re coming to the South Island, stay here! (And if you’re only planning on being in the North Island, change your plans to come here!) Dave and Helen are warm, accommodating hosts. Their breakfasts were delightful. The cottage had everything we needed, a comfortable bed, and updated bathroom. It is nestled onto their beautiful property of gardens, backing up to their sheep pasture. It is away from the bustle of town, but still conveniently located. The perfect home base for exploring Marlborough.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave Weir, Owner at The Jolly Poacher Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

Hi Rachel, Thank you for the fantastic review, hope you and Dave are having a fun time together, travel safe.
Have a Merry Xmas, Dave & Helly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2023

Loved this place. 15 mins from airport, 15 mins to wineries, clean, spacious, quiet, private garden grounds. Comfy bed, great hosts and they throw in a breakfast. What's not to like. Book here with confidence and relax in the shade under a beautiful tree just outside your room or investigate your surroundings, there is plenty to see.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sightseeing1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave Weir, Owner at The Jolly Poacher Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Thanks for your comments, Dave & Helly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2023

Absolutely recommend.
Such a nice location, with easy access to all the incredible wineries in the area.
Helen and Dave were lovely, warm hosts who went above and beyond - I really enjoyed my stay here last week!

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bebhinn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave Weir, Owner at The Jolly Poacher Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

Hi Bebhinn, thank you for your review it was our pleasure to host you, safe travels, and just enjoy each day.
Regards Dave & Helly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2023

The Jolly Poacher Retreat is your home away from home, when travelling the Marlborough Region. We stayed for two nights, with our 4yo daughter, who loved exploring the beautiful gardens. We felt relaxed as soon as we arrived, Helen and Dave are very helpful and you'll certainly receive a warm welcome on arrival. The beds are comfy, lovely facilities, with all you need BBQ, microwave, plates, cups, tea, fridge, milk, coffee and please order the scrambled eggs for breakfast, delicious!! You'll relax by the warm heater inside, with a glass of Marlborough vino in hand, perfect after a days exploring!

Room tip: Grab some BBQ goodies, and just relax with a glass of vino at the beautiful property.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank farlst
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave Weir, Owner at The Jolly Poacher Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

Hi Farley, thank you for the review, hope you arrived home safely and enjoy your Xmas.
Regards Dave & Helly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews