We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (752)
Filter reviews
752 results
Traveller rating
220
280
166
69
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
280
166
69
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews travel department pool area busy road train station bay of naples courtesy bus half board vico equense sea view hotel reception down hill waiter service enjoyable holiday plenty of sunbeds veal electric shutters crossing the road
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 752 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2018

This is a lovely Hotel, staff lovely, very helpful, food good, lovely pool and plenty of sun beds,was very quiet not lots of people in think it was due to the time of year. The train station is only 10 minutes walk from the Hotel and very cheap it was only 2 euros to travel to Sorrento, using the train is a great way to travel and it enables you to see the main sights such as Pompeii, Herculaneum etc.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
1  Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Just returned from a fantastic week at the Grand Hotel Moon Valley. The hotel was excellent! Rooms were spacious and clean, lovely hot shower, rooms cleaned and tidied daily. Balcony with excellent views of Mount Vesuvius, Bay of Naples and surrounding area, due to its high location on a hill. Free minibus service from the hotel took you into Sorrento twice daily. Excellent train service just a few minutes' walk away. Hotel staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, could not do enough for us. Nothing too much trouble. Breakfast fabulous - everything you could want. (Stayed on a Bed and Breakfast basis). Great range of very reasonably-priced restaurants within walking distance and fabulous delicatessan across the road. Would not hesitate to recommend or return another year.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank OnAir748658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

The Positive: Hotel itself is clean with staff all friendly and eager to help if you were asking for advice. The pool and the space around it is beautiful on a sunny day and the views are fab! Breakfast and dinner food is ample and lovely to eat. Alcohol is very pricey, five euro's for a small beer and Severn for a glass of wine. Much cheaper to train into Sorrento (train station down hill and around the corner, four euros return - 10 minute journey) where you find supermarkets selling for much much less. There is a shop near the hotel, although cheaper than the hotel its just as pricey. Good WiFi reception enabled us to watch English movies on my laptop - TV all Italian apart from BBC International News. If you going, book a sea view, which is actually at the rear of the hotel as the front looks out onto mountains.

Negative: I have to agree with the rest of the comments regarding noise. The road directly outside the hotel is the main road to and from Sorrento - it's almost always busy and plenty of horn blowing. The half term week we stayed the hotel staged three private parties, music from the parties echo'd up to our room which was on level three and kept us awake. If it's pouring as it did most of our stay there is nothing to so in the evening in the hotel, especially if you have young children. I would say this is a couples/older generation hotel rather than a family.

No kettle in room policy but each room has with a mini fridge.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank ReviewbyMrD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

We have just left the Grand hotel moon vally . And I must admit we couldn't wait to leave. On first arriving at hotel on 24th Oct. Seemed fairly nice .grounds looked smart .the young girl on reception was pleasant .We got keys straight away no wait our room was 101. First floor. Room was your standard room .basic . No kettle. No English tv apart from news. But wasnt expecting to spend much time in the room to be fair. Went for a walk after dumping bags off . Road seemed very busy to cross with a 6 year old but a crossing further up . A little pitza shop opposite hotel very cheap an a deli we used for a sandwich. An a little shop . Not forgetting a tiny park down the road 100 yards opposite a church. If you follow roadcaround from hotel there a train station to sorrento (7mins) or naples (20)walked all the way to bottom to a harbour down some steps quite quaint .nothing much at bottom late in year can imagine more in summer . Got back to hotel for dinner at 7pm . Food here lovely waiters lovely indeed most waitresses lovely also apart from 1. After dinner we went to the bar to find larger €5 half pint ouch . Wasn't spending that much . Nobody else seemed to be about an no entertainment at all. Shame. so ended up in bed by 9.30pm . That was ok as was tired anyway. But was woke up at 11pm by booming clubbing music below. Ended up with headache . Was an 18th party they told us . Although this happend 4 nights in 11 days. Disapointing to say the least .Not good with a 6 year old. Following day we managed a morning by the pool seemed pleasant. Pool was extremely cold . But was Oct so expected. Unfortunately didn't have good weather for next few days so only had that day by pool . Train was easy access from hotel But last train 9 30pm. I do think hotel is misleading when it says it's in Sorrento district. (Do your homrwork on exact location 2 mistake we made )We was lead to believe it was close by when in actual fact is a fair distance. Hotel does put on a free shuttle bus to Sorrento but doesnt run every day and you have to book early. This hotel has got some good potential if it listens to us travelers and put on some good entertainment and lower prices in the bar. Everybody seemed to buy alcohol in the supermarket to drink in the rooms . If you like a quiet early night we recomend a 3rd floor room so functions that they hold quite frequently doesn't drive you crazy like did us .recomend a sea view and bring a kettle. Also mosquito spray there are loads even in oct.also the hotel needs to cater more for children. No child size portions or child menu. Update the park a little . ( we only found this on day 4) place a sign park this way . Apart from that hotel was ok we did have an extremely good time. WiFi was brilliant .

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank jenagentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

Spent a splendid week here in mid October.
From checking in to checking out, we had fantastic service from all staff.
Friendly, informative Reception staff, willing to help. Restaurant service was very good indeed., and the food was great.
My Wife has intolerances to both Gluten, and Lactose. This was noted on first day, and the Staff looked after this issue, far better than anywhere we have stayed !! Breakfast was provided with lots of options for the intolerances, and a Menu provided for selecting Evening Meals (we were half board). Each night she was provided a suitable meal, and the Staff could not have been more attentive to my Wife's needs.
Special mention to Liza, our Waitress.
Room was great too, splendid views, and well kept.
Pool was a delight, swimming along looking on to the mountain view, and nice and peaceful.
Surrounding area is beautiful, and the Hotel is well positioned for the sightseeing, using the nearby train station - Seiano.
Trains can be busy, but easy to use, and cheap.

This is a fantastic hotel, with so, so, many positives.

Yes, the nearby road is busy, and noisey ....... And on the walk to catch the train, one needs to take great care.

However, these issues, are common in this part of Italy, the geography dictates it !!

Thoroughly recommend this Gem !

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews