We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Worth a visit

Lovely little zoo that you can do in an afternoon. Lots of animals that you don’t see in other zoos... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Venture10899598570
via mobile
Day out

Lovely day out at zoo. Not very busy as kids had gone back to school. All animals looked fit and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
166russelle
,
Bracknell, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,530 reviews
  
Reviews (1,530)
Filter reviews
1,530 results
Traveller rating
808
355
159
97
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
808
355
159
97
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big cats feeding times lions and tigers beautiful animals animals seem large enclosures picnic area zoo keepers car park staff were very friendly be visiting again fantastic zoo tiger experience jaguar zoos film talks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,530 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

21/08/2021. Little difficult to reach with single lane country roads so ensure you have a satnav. The whole zoo is situated on hills so be sure your able to manage but its ok once at the top.

Had a really good day at the zoo with a good collection of animals including Lions, Tigers, Zebras, Cheetahs and Jaguars which is impressive for a small zoo. We were concerned for the Zebra welfare as they were running around kicking each-other and making whining sounds.

All staff were really friendly and informative, the two Ladies selling the Ice cream at the Yarde shop were very friendly. It was also nice to see some volunteer staff giving talks that had come for experience and its great to see the zoo make an effort for people willing to get involved with the company and animals.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank RyanT1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DartmoorZoo, Office Admin at Dartmoor Zoological Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback especially for the restaurant staff who have been run off their feet this summer.

The keepers are keeping an eye on the zebras - the group dynamics change all the time and this is something they are aware of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I love this zoo. First time visiting and it won’t be the last. My family have followed there story for many years.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DartmoorZoo, Office Admin at Dartmoor Zoological Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you! We have all worked so hard during the last crazy 18 months and appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Our daughter became a junior zookeeper on her 8th birthday and what a fabulous and memorable experience this was for all of us!
The grounds and enclosures are kept to a very high standard and naturally overgrown providing shelter and suitable shelter and environments for the animals. It was very obvious that the wellbeing of the animals is at the forefront of everything. All of the animals we met were relaxed and being allowed behind the scenes we were able to witness and appreciate how much effort the staff make to provide an environment that resembles as close to the natural habits and provides not only for the physical but also mental needs of the animals. Ray the volunteer who looked after us all day was wonderful and unbelievably knowledgeable and keen to share all of his wisdom with us. We can’t thank him enough for an outstanding and very memorable day! Our daughter had the best birthday and we all learnt so much on that day. We were able to handle numerous reptiles, meet the unusual raccoon dogs, feed the otters, goats and meerkats. The two tigers are magnificent in a superb enclosure. The absolute highlight of the day was to capture the male lion roaring unbelievable loud on video. From booking this experience to the welcome when we arrived the entire experience was outstanding. The kitchen/cafe serve excellent home cooked food at totally reasonable prices. All facilities were very clean and operating fully in line with current COVID precautions. Absolutely faultless in every way. We have become very fond of this little gem on Dartmoor. The house and grounds are beautiful too! Thank you to all the staff for making this day possible!

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank 281gabyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DartmoorZoo, Office Admin at Dartmoor Zoological Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Fantastic! This really is an amazing experience and it's great to hear your daughter got so much out of it. I will make sure Ray sees this feedback - thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2021

If your looking for something to do in Plymouth and you like animals you wont be disappointed. The Zoo and animals are looked after well. It is easy to find your way around and the site has lots of green plants tress and bushes to keep the area looking nice.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank marccobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DartmoorZoo, Office Admin at Dartmoor Zoological Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2021

We are so close to Plymouth - just 5 mins off the A38 at Plympton. Glad you enjoyed the gardens here too which are mostly maintained by the staff and volunteers from the charity Grow4Good. Don't they do a fantastic job?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2021 via mobile

Very friendly staff at the zoo. Enclosures for the animals are a reasonable size. New enclosures being built all the time to either improve existing ones or house new animals. I was lucky enough to do the Big Cat experience which was absolutely amazing! I loved every minute. Up close and personal with 5 big cats was wonderful!
Definitely recommend a visit especially on a hot day and its very shaded with a wealth of trees. lots of areas for young children to play so good for families with small children.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank TrailBlazer821462
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DartmoorZoo, Office Admin at Dartmoor Zoological Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2021

Big Cat Keeper for the Day is a full on fun experience. Really glad you enjoyed yourselves.

Thanks for your feedback which is useful for other visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews