We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent Service, Friendly and Very Helpful People

I've had occasion to use Avoch harbour twice this year, the harbour master Gwyn has to be one of... read more

Reviewed 5 September 2018
A a
Excellent small boat fast.

Booked this small blue boat last Wednesday.We were out for an hour from Avoch harbour right round... read more

Reviewed 3 September 2018
William G
,
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Read all 181 reviews
  
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
148
21
6
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
21
6
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fort george saw dolphins boat trip chanonry point dolphin spotting experienced skipper dry sense of humour fantastic trip their natural habitat spot dolphins magical experience low tide small boat closer look local knowledge high speed black isle
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

I would definitely recommend this trip, it was great to see dolphins and seals in their natural habitat rather than at the zoo. We were up in the highlands for a weeks holiday and thought it would be a a bit of an Adventure for our 7 year old daughter and 3 year son however were a little apprehensive as neither of them had been on a proper boat trip before. They had a great time seeing both a seal and a dolphin. It is also a very interesting trip for adults as the captain took us past fort George and shared information about the different firths etc, the scenery is also fantastic, it was a little overcast the day we were there but that’s to be expected in Scotland. Once we got back from the trip it was around dinner time, the owner recommended the allangrange arms in nearby munlochy which was also great, food excellent and a nice atmosphere. We will be back for another trip hopefully in the next couple of years.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank farburn30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

In the words of my ten year old daughter. We had a great time, saw dolphins and a seal, and enjoyed the trip immensly. Thank you!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Ulrika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Had a fantastic time going out to see the dolphins , and we saw dolphins , lots of dolphins ! The captain was very good and very interesting with his knowledge of the area . A previous coment about the boat being old , and carrying no lifejackets , all I can say we must have been on another boat , modern 220Hp water jet propeled was our one .The highlight was definitely the dolphin sightings in the company of Spud the collie who kept an eye out for the Dolphins.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

What a magical experience and one that my two daughters and I will remember for many years to come! We felt so lucky to see so many dolphins and it was fascinating learning about the area from Gwyn. All in all a very special boat trip. Thank you!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank anewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

The trip in itself was awful.
Old boat
No lifejackets provided
Cannot move, allowed to stand stationary only
No history provided of buildings and route etc
Unable to spot dolphins right under his nose
And a very rude and obnoxious man.

Date of experience: September 2017
4  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews