We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb little find, perfect hideaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Private and sheltered courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private and sheltered courtyard
Time for bed The perfect spot for a morning coffee
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Private and sheltered courtyard
Time for bed
The perfect spot for a morning coffee
Living room
Duck pond
Bedroom dressed for a proposal (and she said yes!)
Relax in the sunny garden
Garden patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Sidlesham, Chichester, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jo B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb little find, perfect hideaway”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a wonderful weekend at The Stable thankyou Julia. The accommodation was amazing with everything you could want or need for a lovely relaxing break. One small thing I would like to say is that the bed was a bit uncomfortable as it was very noisy lots of creaking every time you moved, also the room would take a bigger bed the double felt very small. Apart from that the accommodation was fantastic. Our springer spaniel loved it and settled straight in and the enclosed garden was an absolute joy for him. We would recommend the crab & lobster inn not only for dinner but for breakfast too, but book to avoid disappointment. I would like to think we would come back to stay again and will certainly keep the stable at the top of the list if we need to come back down on business again. Thanks again Julia for a lovely time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and I hope to catch up with you again in the future. Thank you too for bringing the bed issue to my attention which I would have attended to during your stay had I known. It was simply resolved by tightening all the connections which had become loose with constantly pulling the bed out to clean. This has now been added to the list of regular maintenance tasks.
Best wishes - Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_N68
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had 2 lovely nights here with our 3 dogs. Arrived to a warm welcome and found wine, milk, water and juice in the fridge and chocs, biscuits and snacks. Dishwasher tablets also provided. The garden was lovely and we sat out even in early October. Really secure garden which is important to us with our 3.

Shower gel and handwash in the bathroom along with lovely towels. The double bed was comfortable and lots of room in the bedroom.

The lounge/dining/kitchen area had everything you needed and looked out over the garden. We walked down to the local pub the Crab and Lobster one afternoon for a couple of drinks and sat outside in the garden as dogs are not allowed inside.

Lovely few days and some great walk suggestions from Julia the owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secure garden
Liked least: Double bed (we are used to a superking)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
47Sunseek...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect spot for Selsey and the surrounding area.”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights, but would happily have stayed longer. We were welcomed with wine, a basket of nibbles and fresh roses in a vase. The rooms were very clean, beautifully decorated and the bed comfortable. Our dog was very happy here too, the garden is a good size and has seating to soak up those rays of sunshine.
We struggled to find a place of this high standard that would allow dogs, we struck gold with the Stable at Rookery Farm.
We're already planning our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the furnishing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah985
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I stayed here with my bridesmaid the night before our wedding and then for 2 nights after with my husband. The cottage was perfect, ample space for the 4 of us to sleep (2 in a double bed, one on the sofa bed and one on a pull out bed in the bedroom). The kitchen was well equipped for a short stay. Julia was very friendly and had lots of recommendations and was very knowledgeable about the local area. It was lovely to have some food in the fridge when we arrived too. There were some lovely walks around the cottage which we enjoyed and it was nice to enjoy the garden in the sunshine! Would definitely recommend if you're looking to escape to somewhere peaceful for a few days.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chele F
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Booked this cottage as it was advertised as dog friendly, for a few days away with our two shih tzu . When we arrived we was greeted by Julia ,who was warm and friendly and showed us round the cottage. The cottage was so much better than we imagined, lovely size bedroom and living room and the kitchen was small and compact but had everything you needed to cook a meal. Julia had left us a welcome pack, milk (Julia even remembered I needed skimmed)orange juice,chilled bottle of wine,and even some snacks.
The garden was perfect and a very good size, enclosed and secure which catches the sun all day long. It was perfect for our dogs Stamford and Bridget who had plenty of room to chase each other . Added bonus of a short drive to a lovely sandy beach. We will definitely be returning there in the near future .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$153
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing