We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty meals, great menu variety, lots of beers on tap”
Review of Moeraki Tavern

Moeraki Tavern
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Moeraki
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located just 45 minutes drive north of Dunedin and 20 minutes south of Oamaru, Moeraki Tavern offers the perfect place to unwind and take in the beauty that the scenic town of Moeraki has to offer. Relax with uninterrupted ocean views while enjoying some of the classic dishes from our restaurant. Our juicy Ribeye steak, Moeraki seafood chowder and blue cod are all crowd favourites. View our menu to see our full range. Interested in a beverage after a long day of exploring Moeraki? We stock an assortment of local and imported beers, as well as wide range of wines and non-alcoholic drinks. Our tavern is family friendly, offers free Wi-Fi and also sells takeaway alcohol. For great food and harbour views, Moeraki Tavern is the place to be. We look forward to meeting you.
Reviewed 25 April 2024 via mobile

Awesome tavern that makes the most of the stunning views out onto the harbour. Staff were really friendly and there’s a wide range of beers on tap. We had dinner here and the meals were really tasty and a good size with a yummy selection of desserts. After eating at lots of restaurants during our travels, we enjoyed finding different things on the menu like the lamb shank with hot chips and the sago pudding. Service was prompt and even though it was a Monday night, the place was quite busy with a great atmosphere.

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank sesjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2024

A wonderful place to eat near the Katiki Point Lighthouse and the Moeraki Boulders. It was pretty quiet when we stopped in for a late lunch around 3pm. The staff were so friendly and helped us navigate the menu to find something for my husband who is a picky eater. The open faced steak sandwich and battered Blue Cod with chips were both delicious!

Free Wi-Fi, lots of indoor and outdoor seating, and a large parking lot. Bathrooms were clean and spacious and even had nice changing tables for families. Not only a great spot for tourists on a road trip, but also the favorite restaurant of our AirBnB hosts in Oamaru.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2024 via mobile

Had a fish and chips lunch here which was very good beer also very good. Very helpful and friendly staff who helped us out on what to see and do. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank MARTINf646
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2024

The Moeraki Tavern has amazing views along the Otago coastline back to Oamaru, great spot to break your journey. We had fish and couldn't fault it. Staff were friendly, prices were normal.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank evets1232016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2023

Standard pub fare on offer with local seafood, especially the Blue Cod being the main attraction - the restaurant, being the only place in Moeraki for meals is quite busy - however, service was quick and efficient.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 332desmondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Moeraki Tavern also viewed

 
Hampden, Otago Region
Hampden, Otago Region
 

Been to Moeraki Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.